We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Internetproblems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zutphen
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Internetproblems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Again I had to change room twice in order to have a connection to internet! Started with 246, door closed no internet, then 226 , same problem and finally 122 and there it worked !!
So it is the sexond time that I have the same problem in this hotel, they really should solve this !
For the rest the hotel is ok.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesHuisma, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you, for your review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay in Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen.

Lately, we made several improvements to our Wifi network at certain floors.
I regret to read that you did not had full acces to this facility and therefore had to change your room, but I am glad that it worked at least. I can assure you that we will do everything to avoid such situations in the future, and will certainly look in to this situation, to see what happened and wherefor the connection felt down.

Finally, it would be our delight, to welcome you again in our hotel

Kind regards,
Johannes Huisma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    108
    103
    53
    17
See reviews for
24
198
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I don't understand why this hotel has a 4-star rating.

Pro's:
- Nice staff;
- Good breakfast with different kinds of bread, only fruit was over the date;
- Rituals soap in your bathroom.
- Perfect location in the city centre

Cons:
- blurry spots on the carpet;
- poor paintcondition of the walls;
- Most of the lamps in the room don't work;
- Poor Wifi-reception in the room;
- Most of the foto's shown on the internet are taken in the better looking brasserie (next door).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Whilst it's located almost in the very center of Zutphen, Hampshire in Zutphen is still not very easy to find, also the entrance can be quite confusing, especially when it's dark as there is no clear signage.

We stayed here in May one night, but we had a High Tea there earlier in August of last year.

Service is usually good, but you still have the odd insufficiently trained member of staff.
There happened to be many issues with the room, for example the lock system, certain small appliances missing, the pillows where old and very uncomfortable, and the room needed also some painting badly! But beyond these things it was ok, and breakfast was just fine.

If it wasn't for the central location of this hotel I would not really recommend it.
Although just dining or maybe a High Tea here might be worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Experienced T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesHuisma, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you, for your review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay in Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen.
We will certainly take your comments seriously and asure you, that we will do our best,
to improve these specific points mentioned, about the signage and the room.
Nevertheless, since it's been a while, we hope to welcome you again for a stay!

Kind regards,
Johannes Huisma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel offered us what we needed, except a tea/coffee making facility. The room was small, but we had comfortable beds, bath, shower, tv with BBC 1 and 2, and in room 122 excellent free wifi connection (which I gather was not available in every room). The service was good (broken safe fixed the same day) and the meals in the Brasserie were delicious. Lovely situation in old part of Zutphen. Parking outside the hotel free at the weekend but on weekdays you have to park quite a long way away for 1 euro a day. We would have liked the hotel to provide guests with a temporary resident's parking ticket. The rate was reasonable and we felt we got value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RMFHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as we were attending a function in a local restaurant. The hotel is nice, rooms are basic but comfortable and the breakfast is very good.
The hotel is right in town so once you arrive , park your car, you can walk everywhere. Nice restaurants in the area bit also the hotel has it's own good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesHuisma, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Zutphen and looking forward
to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Johannes Huisma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groesbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

we stayed in the hotel for one night to visit the Area. The city of Zutphen is a pretty nice place. Personnel is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very small, but sufficient for a one night stay if your expectations are in line with the price.
The price of the breakfast is at the high side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesHuisma, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you, for your review on Tripadvisor.
We like your positive contribution towards your visit of our Hampshire Hotel in Zutphen,
and we will take your recommendations in consideration.
We will be happy, to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Johannes Huisma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Many people recommended the Hampshire hotels, and it could be that there are good reasons to stay at this one in Zutphen. The location is pretty good, just across from the St. Walburg church that was closed during our two night visit. The restaurant downstairs is well known for excellent food, but it was closed during our visit. The pictures we saw on Booking.com were very warm and inviting, but we didn´t notice that ONLY ONE PHOTO of a room appeared. That photo shows the vintage Ikea melamina furniture that appeared haphazardly in our misfitted room in the annex, 403. The room itself is large, the bathroom recently renovated and spacious. But the yellow ochre walls are stained, marked, with hooks for non-existent pictures on the walls. The closet space was a standing coffin with sliding gray door for dracula to come in and out. The small old sofa with stripes that hadn´t been vacuumed in three or four months did nothing for the decor, especially in the corner where there was absolutely no light for reading or ambience. The hotel wants their green designation by putting a maximum of 60 watts of light in the entire spacious room. Oh, and did I mention the two tiny 80cm cots?
The breakfast staff were quite pleasant, but the man at the front desk appeared cold and unhelpful. He gladly showed my wife the way to the steep stairs, but didn´t make any offer at all of helping her to take the suitcase upstairs. And at checkout he politely ignored my comments about the room. I guess it´s not important.
My best hope is that we received just the room they want to give to all travelers who book a last minute room at a decent price of 75 euros per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a smartphone walk through your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopheres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zutphen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zutphen
1.3 mi away
Inntel Hotels Resort Zutphen
4.2 mi away
Kasteel Engelenburg
Kasteel Engelenburg
#1 of 2 in Brummen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Landgoed Ehzerwold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Postillion Hotel Deventer
9.3 mi away
Princess Hotel de Wipselberg
4.8 mi away
De Hoofdige Boer
De Hoofdige Boer
#2 of 2 in Almen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen

Property: Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
Address: 's Gravenhof 6, 7201 DN Zutphen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Zutphen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zutphen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing