We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit, if you are up for a bit of adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve
Reviewed March 6, 2007

It was over a year ago that we visited Rara Avis, but after reading the "not for tourists" review, I thought I should present a different viewpoint.

We spent two weeks in CR over Christmas of 2005, and Rara Avis was probably the highlight, especially for our children (8 & 10).

Rara Avis makes no bones about the fact that the tractor ride is uncomfortable, and that the facilities are rustic and lack electricity. If you are not used to camping, or at least budget travel, and are more comfortable in a place with all "mod cons", this is definitely not the place for you.

The tractor ride in took 3 hours, and it was a very long 3 hours! On the way in, the staff saw the children and recommended that we ride all the way in. On the way out, however, we walked the first hour with a guide, and it was much better that way. The less time on the tractor, the better! After it was over, it seemed like just a fun part of the adventure, but at the time it was pretty uncomfortable!

We were able to go on several guided hikes -- one the afternoon we arrived, one the next morning, and on a night hike with all the guides and guests. We also went on a couple of hikes on our own, or with other guests. Of course it is always best to go with a guide, because you see more. The guides do seem a little overworked, and my one suggestion would be to add one or two more guides, but the trails are well marked and it is no problem to hike independently.

The rainforest was wonderful, of course; we saw a lot of birds and plants. But the highlight in the nature department came when one of the guides knocked on our door at 6:30 a.m. to tell us that there was a tapir outside the dining hall. We had certainly not expected to see one of those!

Swimming at Rara Avis happens in a beautiful waterfall. Our guide told us ahead of time that the water was cold, but we didn't really listen because we're used to pretty cold water at our cottage in Canada. It was absolutely freezing! But a great way to cool off after a hike.

Of course the food involved a lot of rice and beans; that is a staple in CR. The food was simple and delicious. It was served family style at long tables in the dining hall, and we met people from several different countries when everyone gathered for meals. In the late afternoons, people tended to wander down to the dining hall to look up the plants and creatures they had seen that day in the nature guides provided, and to talk or play cards over a few drinks. After some intitial shyness, all the kids there ended up exploring and playing games together.

The Waterfall Lodge was rustic, and the beds were certainly not plush, to say the least, but it was very peaceful and there was absolutely no insect problem at all. (Everything was screened in.)

If you are considering Rara Avis, you should first think hard about what kind of traveller you are. It is not true that you have to be a researcher to enjoy Rara Avis. But you do have to be a certain type of traveller. If you are comfortable with the idea of no electricity and rustic lodgings, are interested in nature and used to getting out hiking, you will probably love it. If you are more the plush hotel type, I'd check out a different rainforest lodge. There are plenty to choose from in CR.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Needhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Florida
19
Reviewed February 28, 2006

Trip up was the easy part. No electricity, no hot water most of the time, solar power didn't work. The food was mostly rice and beans which was served recycled with leftovers. The walks were done without guides - they spent days getting the tractor out of the mud (a daily occurrence). A group of 12 had to walk the last two miles to avis in the dark without a guide during a rainstorm because camp is understaffed. We walked out two days early with a guide for 4 of the 12 miles. The tractor didn't show up until we reached the town. This is really a remote location suited for researchers who know the dangers and plant life. Rainforest walks had to be made with eyes always on forest floor because of difficult terrain. Rooms are not protected from outdoor insects. Staff was nice, really beautiful rainforest but bring everything you need to be fully on your own.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in-terris, owner at Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2006

Unfortunately, the writer of "not a place for tourists" arrived at Rara Avis in a moment of crisis, when our access road had been destroyed and most of our staff were engaged in simply trying to get the transportation in and out working again. If the writer had requested a refund from us in writing, he or she would have received it because of the unusual circumstances, along with our apologies.

However there are also some very untruthful statements in this review: our food is consistently considered delicious and varied by nearly all guests. It is absolutely false that "the food was mostly rice and beans which was served recycled with leftovers". Our highly skilled naturalist guides (except for this brief period in February-March 2006) accompany guests on daily nature walks. All rooms have insect screening.

Most of our guests are families and couples who leave satisfied and thrilled with a genuine rainforest experience, not "researchers".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank areablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selenesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Krokodaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Javisnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonneke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
11.8 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
644 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
166 reviews
18.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve

Address: Horquetas 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Horquetas
Price Range: $176 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rara Avis introduced the concept of ecotourism as a conservation tool to the region in 1983, in which nature-based tourism is now the second largest industry. We preserve 12km2 and 20km of trails, we guarantee you the most authentique and unique experience on Costa Rica rainforest. The lodge is designed to maintain the feeling of being deep and isolated in the forest, while offering basic but comfortable rooms and excellent traditional food. We maintain the sense of the real Costa Rica of many years ago, while offering daily guided walks in which our resident guides explain how the rainforest works. In good weather it is possible to swim at the base of our pristine waterfalls. Other guests simply prefer relax in hammocks on the private balconies of their rooms. This a place for serious naturalists and those who like to have a learning experience on the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge And Reserve
Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve Hotel Braulio Carrillo National Park
Rara Avis Rainforest Lodge & Reserve Costa Rica/Sarapiqui - Horquetas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing