We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gardens but a overall a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 La Virgen B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Spent just one night here as part of our August 2012 family holiday in Costa Rica. Staff are pleasant and helpful (the barman was a bit grouchy) but the whole place is in need of a freshen up. Huts were plain but comfortable and set (like most Costa Rican hotels/lodges) in pretty gardens and the buffet food was of a reasonable standard. Pool towels seemed in very short supply. Take plenty of insect repellent or you will get bitten. Fun to watch the beautiful birds come down and eat the fruit that's put out for them by the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaggyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

I should mention we dont care for the resort/lifestyle type of travel and were in Costa Rica purely for eco-tourism. Beatriz, Leo and their manager (Adrian?) were the the nicest & kindliest people on our entire trip and helped with advice, help with bookings, translation etc. They really knew their stuff and were great hosts.
On our first day I remember going to Leo and requesting a banana shake. He look at me funny and said why come all the way to Costa rica and have banana - you should try my cantaloupe fruit shake. It was delicious. He remembered me and made me a new fruit variety everyday. This inn was full of these little personal touches and where we finally started to have fun. Before this, we had stayed in the Guanacaste area in these isolated resorts that gave us no flavor of the local community or wildlife. We were just dollar bills to those people.

Room Tip: You're here to see the birds and sights but if you also want to sleep-in on occassion, bring ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This property was on day four of our 12 day trip.
The Inn was a good location for the tour to the pineapple farm and the white water rafting.
The inn had wi-fi in the lobby .
The rooms are basic and had the feeling of a ski lodge as the room had two beds.The rooms are clean
The food was buffet and food ok. They have nice grounds and a small butterfly garden.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at LaQuinta-Sarapiqui last week as part of a tour group. Upon arrival we checked the bedding and the condition of our room as we always do. Our fitted sheet had five stains across the middle, each about two to three inches wide. It took several minutes for the woman at the front desk to understand that we wanted them changed. However, they were then changed pretty quickly. Unfortunately, the next set was very pilled - almost like sandpaper. Overall, the entire complex was poorly maintained and the food was mediocre. After the cleanliness and good food at our somewhat rustic lodging in Tortuguero, it was a huge disappointment. Of the five different lodgings we stayed at while on a tour of Costa Rica, it compared very unfavorably. The complex does have great potential and could be good if it were brought up to the standards it may have had years ago. The rooms are a good size and the private patio with hammock and two rocking chairs was very nice. Some items, though, like the bedding, need to be replaced and the entire complex needs a thorough cleaning and renewal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2seniors53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights during a VJV Central America's Garden of Eden tour. Our room was large with 2 huge Super King beds and a large shower. It was clean and tidy if a little dark mainly because of a thatched roof over the little terrace in front of the room which meant not much daylight reached the room itself.

Whilst some of the staff didn't speak as much English as other hotels we stayed in during our trip this wasn't a problem. And, as we found throughout Costa Rica, the staff were lovely.

The food was pretty good, especially the BBQ, and it was always fresh.

There was certainly lots of bird life around the hotel and we did see some beautiful butterflies in the enclosure but in general the grounds felt like they needed some TLC (indeed there was work happening when we were there so things may improve soon).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was the last major stop on our birding trip. After settling into our rooms, there was a knock on the door..."toucans in the lobby area!". We rushed out to find Collared Aracari in the trees and feeding from fruits set out on a wooden slab. This was just the beginning! A seating area provided comfortable viewing of a large variety of birds at almost any time of day. One photographer said "this is almost like cheating" since the birds came to us.

The rooms were clean and basic...this is an eco-lodge...and the entire operation is dedicated to appreciating protecting the environment. The staff were friendly and accomodating. We were able to arrange two different tours for our first afternoon. We had already booked the La Selva Biological Station for the next morning. It was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy11Owensboro_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Location for rafting and canopy was perfect.
Staff hardly speaks english. Food is very simple, don't expect anything special.
Rooms are big, but dirty and outdated. Beds are terribly hard.
Grounds look nice. Didn't see the croqs. Butterfly garden was empty.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichielMazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenagamez, Propietario at La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Greetings!
We thank you all very much for the feed back, this is the only way we can improve. Because of our compromise with sustainability, 100% of our staff comes from our neighborhood, a rural area in Costa Rica where English is not a common skill. Hiring and training local workers is part of our policies of social responsibilities toward our community. We are working permanently on our English skills in order to communicate better with each one of our guests.
La Quinta de Sarapiquí Country Inn is located in the tropical humid zone of Costa Rica, where we share the space with wildlife. We strive everyday to provide a nice ambiance for our guests and for wildlife as well, all within our concept of a personalized small and rustic country inn.
Butterflies and caymans can be seen at mid day specially on sunny days because the sunlight would provide best conditions for the butterflies to fly and for the caymans to digest.
Warmest regards,
Beatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
3.5 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
665 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
171 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
199 reviews
17 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge

Address: | 95 kilometers from San Jose, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Virgen
Price Range: $113 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Sarapiquí Lodge is a simple but charming hotel, located 95 kilometers from San José. This perfect destination combines a tremendous biological diversity with comfortable accommodations, easy access and personalized Costa Rican hospitality. It is an ideal base for both casual and avid birders. Our lodge has 5 rooms in bungalows, most of them accesible by wheelchair, complemented by a roofted porch with a hammock and rocking chairs. Our rooms are surrounded by tropical gardens rich in heliconias, gingers, palms and flowering trees, which are home to hundreds of different species of flora and fauna. On site features include a butterfly house, a frog land, lush tropical gardens, two swimming pools, reforestation area, vegetable garde, animal production units and pathways along the riverside. We also offer homemade jams cooked with a 100% renewable energy using products from our gardens. One of the very few Costa Rican hotels certified with 5 leaves in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta De Sarapiqui Country Hotel Sarapiqui
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge Costa Rica
Country Inn Sarapiqui
Sarapiqui La Quinta
Sarapiqui Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing