We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise”

Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in La Virgen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This BBC Wildlife Magazine and National Geographic published destination offers a 2 hour guided tour by the owners. Visit our website for tour start times. Adults $40 per person. Children rates available. Free Wi-Fi.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

For anyone who doesn't have a big DSLR lens, this is the place for you to get some great bird photos. Of course, those with the big cameras will also find this the place to get closeups. And, if you want to go into the forest to explore, you can walk down to the Sarapiqui River and wander the pathways to discover more birds as well as amphibians, reptiles and mammals. And, if you just want to sit and watch the birds come and go, Dave (and Dave) have a covered deck with chairs for you to enjoy the sights.

Among the many species observed, we saw the white-necked jacobin, Montezuma oropendola, bay wren, purple-crowned fairy, bronze-tailed plumeleteer, collared aracari, red-throated ant-tanager, white-lined tanager, buff-throated saltator, and buff-rumped warbler. Down in the valley, the highlights were an orange-billed sparrow on a path, a pair of slaty-tailed trogons, a rufous motmot, and a wedge-billed woodcreeper.

Both Daves have lots of info on the birds and on the area. And they'll tell you the story of how this particular land was rescued so that we can all enjoy it.

Next time we're in Costa Rica, we'll be back

Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review! My father and I enjoyed spending time with you and observing the amazing wildlife that we are so privilege to share with you and so many travelers from around the world. We are looking forward to seeing you back here soon. Best of travels...from your friends Dave & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 319 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We pre-booked a visit to the Nature Pavilion through our travel agent in the UK & were pleased to find out that we'd landed the 6.00am slot. When we arrived we were met by David (the owner) and had the next hour to ourselves ... just David Jnr acting as our guide ... no other visitors - although his father (David Snr) joined us too, so a guide each. In that hour we saw 20 'new' species of birds, and lots of others we'd seen earlier in our trip. It's impossible to select a highlight, but the hummingbirds on the deck that looks out at the back of the pavilion, towards the river, were certainly special. The Davis' knowledge of the birdlife (& patience with us) was outstanding & they are to be thanked for the time they devoted to two beginners. Many Thanks. We can't wait to return.

Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

The early morning session was a blast. I am excited to hear that in less than 1.5 hours you were able to see 20 new species. We truly enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing the both of you back here soon. Thanks so much for the great review! Best of Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent several hours at the Nature Pavillion observing birds and other wildlife at close range. David and David Snr made us feel very welcome and it was such a pleasure to view the wildlife from their elevated balconies whilst sipping coffee! I had forgotten my camera and so they very generously welcomed us back the next day. I will be recommending this very special place to everyone planning a holiday in Costa Rica. Thankyou from Felicity and Martin from Bendigo, Australia

Thank woodwardfelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

What a great couple of mornings we enjoyed with you here at the Nature Pavilion. It sure was worth coming back with your camera to capture all the great wildlife from the balconies. Thank you so much for spreading the word to future travelers about the special experience that we offer here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Dave Landos Snr and Jnr have a wonderful place to observe and photograph birds. A group of 4 of us recently spent 2 hours at the Nature Pavilion which we thoroughly enjoyed, simply an amazing opportunity to enjoy the birds. The snake farm next door is also an attraction not to be missed as the owner Pompilio can arrange snake photography with a days notice. These two attractions are a real highlight of any tour to Costa Rica.
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thailand

Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

We are so glad the 4 of you enjoyed the Nature Pavilion Experience. It is always a pleasure for us to meet great couples like ourselves. Thanks for supporting our mission to protect the Costa Rican habitat. Hope to see you back here some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have to take a moment to thank the owners, Dave Landos Sr and Dave Landos Ramirez Jr, for their hospitality. Nature's Pavilion Costa Rica (www.eco-observatory.com/welcome) was unquestionably the highlight of my two weeks in Costa Rica. I saw and photographed more species in the few hours I spent there than the rest of our two week trip combined. The grounds are extensive going down to Sarapiqui River, but the best part for me is the covered platform where Dave Sr and Jr have set up multiple feeding areas to attract wild birds. Many local species including tanagers, honeycreepers, toucans and others regularly feed there throughout the day. The artfully arranged stations allow the birds easy access to fruit and at the same time enable a photographer an excellent opportunity to photograph some very elusive species - many not ordinarily seen and certainly not at close range. Anyone going to Costa Rica with the slightest interest in birds or nature should make time to visit this spot. I only wish their idea would spread to other regions of the country.

1  Thank SimonR269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thanks so much for this excellent review! To hear that the few hours you spend here were the highlight of your Costa Rica trip really says it all. One of the best parts of my job is meeting interesting people like yourself and enjoying your great company. When you start planning your next trip to Costa Rica let me know if I can help in anyway. I am looking forward to seeing you back here soon. Until then take care my friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 

Been to Dave & Dave's Costa Rica Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing