We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for bird photography!”

Dave & Dave's Costa RIca Nature Pavilion Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in La Virgen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This BBC Wildlife Magazine and National Geographic published destination offers a 2 hour guided tour by the owners. The tour begins with a brief history of the nature park followed by visits to Dave & Dave's Mirador and the Hummingbird Balcony. Reservation required at least 1 hour before the tour. Price per adult $40. Childrens rates available. Free delicious coffee and Wi-Fi.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic for bird photography!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Amazing how many species you can see with little effort.
Great place.
Looking forward to go back

Helpful?
Thank Tizoc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Dave & Dave's Costa RIca Nature Pavilion Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and having you as our guest at the Eco-Observatory. I also wanted to thank you for your suggestion to contact BioCursos of the Organization for Tropical Studies. We are now currently working with the director of BioCursos and have our first group coming out this Friday to plant trees and enjoy a nature walk. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    20
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest ,UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not just for enthusiasts”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We called in as a family when passing, not as particularly keen birders or photographers but interest in natural history and wildlife. We had a fantastic morning being shown around the trails by Dave and watching birds from the decks. My ten year old was captivated by the easy to identify birds and learnt so many species whilst here that she continued to point out to us throughout our vacation. Although obviously designed for experts there was plenty of interest for amateurs like us, thoroughly recommended!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LentonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A gem, pure and driven by the love for nature”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

What a sympathic place. The atmosphere, the authenicity, the serenity and sincerity. All put together in one perfect spot.
Dave and Dave jr. Have the hearts in the right place. They deserve thr title 'heros of the world'
Saw more special birds in 10 minutes then in weeks of travelling in CR.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable atmosphere, cool breezes and incredible bird watching & photo opportunities”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I visited the Sarapique Eco-Observatory in February 2012 and my only regret is that I did not find out about it until close to the end of my stay in Sarapiqui. I could have easily spent a week in this location. This is a paradise for bird watchers and photographers with specially designed perches and a wide variety of interesting birds which can be viewed from 3 covered open-air decks. You can also participate in guided night walks and other fun activities in the Observatory's private reserve.

The owners were warm and friendly, happy to provide bird id's, information, coffee, etc. I look forward to spending much more time there on future trips to Costa Rica.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for birds and photos”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We got to this place because we met a couple of photographers who invited us to visit it. What a great place for sit, relax and birdwatch! The owners are really kind, so you'll have a great time while watching the colorful bird come and take fruit.

Also, the path to the river is very nice and you really have a great chance to watch nice species over there. This place is a must whether you're a photog or just birdwatcher!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave & Dave's Costa RIca Nature Pavilion Park also viewed

Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Dave & Dave's Costa RIca Nature Pavilion Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing