We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tirimbina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tirimbina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

It might be considered "simple" to some, but it's nowhere near simple when you take a look at what the Tirimbina Lodge has to offer. The rooms have the basics including air conditioning, WIFI, and fresh towels every day. The food is excellent but the choices can be limiting. There is no tv in the rooms, but who needs it with all the opportunities the Tirimbina Lodge offers its guests. From their unique chocolate tour to an evening night hike in the rainforest. Tirimbina Lodge may not be "flashy", but has much to offer than just a place to sleep and eat. I'd recommend it anyone looking to visit the Sarapiqui region of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gravenpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    59
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
29
65
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was the best place we stayed on our Costa Rican holiday. It's not a luxury hotel (there is no pool or spa or anything like that), but if you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing setting with rain forest a short stroll away from your hotel room, this is the place.

Our room had plenty of space, a good shower and air conditioning. It was clean and well presented. There was a little porch looking out onto the lovely gardens, where you could relax, read, or watch the many birds that visited.

Food was cafeteria style. There was a fairly limited choice but it was very tasty. Also extremely good value: $10 for lunch and $12 for dinner.

The main purpose of staying here is obviously to visit the rain forest. There are a variety of guided walks. We did 3, all excellent. The guides are helpful, enthusiastic and well informed. From the hotel, it's just a few yards to the hanging bridges that span the fairly wide river to give access to the rain forest (you need to be able to handle bridges that sway a bit, but they are quite safe!).

The hotel staff are also friendly and helpful.

Add to all this the fact that your visit is helping to fund the other activities of the centre, such as research and educational visits for local schoolchildren and you have the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happyholiday41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here quite by accident! We were NOT disappointed! WILDLIFE EVERYWHERE .... walks and more walks! Spacious accommodation with HOT showers!
Lots of guided walks (including a night walk) were available! Our guide Daniel was sooooo informative and patient whilst we took photos!
The food was great! There were no crowds! The education that this centre provides is astounding!
Well Done!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Many places in Costa Rica offer birding or rainforest tours. This is the only place I found where you can also learn about bats or about the origin of chocolate. We took both programs and they were very interesting.
Found this place as I was looking for a place to make a short stop on the drive from Tortuguero (La povana) to Arenal. Turns out there is so much to do there, it is worth stopping for the night.
We arrived in the afternoon. I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the grounds are. So many types of flowers.
We took a self-guided tour of their private reserve. The trail includes long HANGING BRIDGES, beautiful forest with lots of wild life. Tour of the reserve is free for hotel guests.
They offer several programs in the evening (7:30pm). We took the bat program. It was very interesting. Learned all about different species of bats and their importance. It is a lecture that is held in an auditorium not far from the reception. TIP: wear closed shoes. The path is covered with leaf cutting ant and other crawlers you don't want inside your sandals.
In the morning we took the chocolate tour. You learn all about the origin of chocolate and how it is made, and you get to taste it!
Food: breakfast is included and was good. You must reserve dinner and lunch in advance if you want to eat there. But there are plenty of nice sodas and supermarkets close by (if you have a car). We ate at a really nice soda, a bit to the north. Sorry that I can't remember its name. It cost us about 1/3 of what is would have cost in Tirimbina and looking at the dinner served in Tirimbina, it didn't look like we missed anything.
The rooms are basic, but large and clean. Had a bit of a moldy smell when we entered, but the air condition took care of that. Have a nice patio in the back. We were a family of 5 so we stayed in two rooms one next to each other; each one had a double bed and a single bed.
Overall really liked the place and would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoPlaceLkeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and visited multiple locations on the Costa Rican Bird Trail. Our room was simple, but large, clean, and comfortable. It had big patio windows looking into the garden, a nice patio with chairs and a table. The bird-watching from our patio was terrific. How often can one see toucans from their porch? The restaurant was a cafeteria. The food was simple, but well-prepared and yummy. We drank the water without a problem. We enjoyed hiking the trails and saw lots of wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 39york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

While Studying abroad my school group stayed here for almost 2 weeks. We enjoyed all Tirimbina had to offer. Saw great wildlife and enjoyed hikes daily, tours were very informative and the chocolate was the best I've ever had. Staff were all so kind and helpful with anything we needed, if my travels ever take me to Costa Rica again I will be sure to stop at Tirimbina.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkateGirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We only travel for wildlife - EVER! I was so disappointed when I could not get into LA SELVA for a three night stay! All I can say now, is I AM GLAD! Tirimbina was our second choice and it turned out to be a blessing!
The staff were fantastic and the wildlife at Tirimbina was just astounding! NO CROWDS, GREAT FOOD and NO "TYPICAL TOURIST RESORT HERE"
The walking was fantastic and my binoculars never left my face! Birds, primates, butterflies, frogs , reptiles and flowers just EVERYWHERE! I didn't want to sleep!
We took guided day and night walks (which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND) and also enjoyed the well signposted walks during the day as well!
All I can say is "DO IT, GO THE ROAD LESS TRAVELLED: Don't expect 5 star ... BUT do expect a well maintained resort that is clean, quiet and very, very safe!
If you want LUXURY, find a Hilton!!!!
If you are a wildlife/nature lover ... stay here! (and take a trip to La Selva for the day) ... You will be grateful!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank finnsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
6.2 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
11.5 mi away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirimbina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimbina Lodge

Property: Tirimbina Lodge
Address: Tirimbina Biological Reserve, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirimbina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sarapiqui region, the Tirimbina Rainforest Lodge along the Sarapiqui River, is contiguous to a Biological Reserve of 852.5 Acres.We offer 12 comfortable rooms with A/C, safe deposit box, hot water, WI-FI, and phone. Enjoy our welcoming atmosphere and discover the exciting tropical forest, walking along several trails and suspension bridges of tropical forest and river discoveries from our study trails and bridges.Services (Restaurant, laundry , 24h security, a be-lingual staff welcomes)Facilities (souvenir shop, parking lot, A/C conference room, library, internet access) Attractions: (More than 9km trails, chocolate tour, bird watching, bat program, self walking tour, guided tour, night walking tour, eco education programs, volunteer and research opportunities and more) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tirimbina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimbina Hotel La Virgen
Tirimbina Lodge Sarapiqui, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing