We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Andrea Cristina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I had heard good things about this place for birding, but it is really quite small. The biggest drawback was the noise: a neighborhood full of constantly barking dogs on one side, loud music coming from a bar and/or restaurant on the other, and an on-site flock of guinea hens and some caged parrots that were NOISY. There is no computer for use by guests and no phone, and it was too far to walk to town. I didn't end up staying the night. (The rooms, however, looked very nice and were quite clean.)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    31
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
69
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Posada Andrea Cristina is a place that in my book is an example of local sustainable tourism. Owned and operated by a Tico family you get a nice place to sleep, an excellent breakfast, a garden full of birds and sometimes even a sloth, one of the best bird guides in the area (Alex and Kevin), and if you are interested in wildlife rehabilitation they operates also one nearby, named Tierra Hermosa. No A/C but none needed. Sarapiqui area is often overlooked as a tourist destination ... yet there are excellent opportunities for wildlife viewing, a boat ride on Sarapiqui river, and more. Close to San Jose also. It was our second time here and we loved it even more then the first time. New for us was the tree house, we did not sleep there but it looks lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great hospitality in a small jungle setting. Nice big and clean bungalows. Staying in the treehouse is nice but since it is a very ecological treehouse, there are a lot of bugs, it looks like your staying in a real treehouse. When we stayed there, there was some leakage in the treehouse, but the owner was planning to get it fixed so...(and he was very honest about it). The owner takes care of animals and he can take you to the animal rescue centre were you can see animals who are rescue and taken care of.

There were a lot of animals in the trees and in the surroundings. There is a little froggpond where we saw the green red eye frogg and the big poisonest tode. There were hummingbirds, a sloth high up in the tree, a lot of birdwatching, squirrels,...(a dog OF COURSE)

Breakfast was good: fresh bananas from the tree (which he planted himself...), other fresh fruits, eggs, bread and jam.

Conclusion: great quality for a small price and a great host

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

All we can say is WOW! We arrived to stay at the Andrea Cristina in the evening after a 6 hour day boating down the Rio San Juan. We were exhausted and relieved to had made it and Alex welcomed us with open arms. The property is beautiful and the rooms were some of the cleanest, well kept and modern rooms we stayed in.

Alex is one of the kindest souls we have ever met and his little piece of paradise is something everyone should experience. Alex and his family are naturalists and operate a animal rescue up in the hills. He is very passionate about the environment, all things involving animals and the best birder in Costa Rica. While we were there, Alex had rescued a baby sloth that we interacted with and experience.

A testament to how good of a person Alex and the staff at the Andrea Christina are, my wife and I were in need of a ride to the Nicaraguan boarder. Alex offered to drive us to the border for the same price as local shuttles and he toured us on one of the most beautiful drives we have ever been on. In addition we got to experience the release of a bird into the wild that Alex had rescued a few months previous. Alex made sure we got into Nicaragua safely and left us as he had greeted us, with a handshake and a hug. By far one of the best experiences of my travelling life. Oh did I mention breakfast was hands

We will be going back and will be looking to stay for much longer our second time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganNiehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed with Alex at the start of our 3-week honeymoon, and it turned out to be our favorite place to stay for the whole trip. The breakfasts were tasty, with as much organic fruit as possible. Alex and Kevin could organize any activity or trip in the Sarapiqui area in a flash. We enjoyed seeing a sloth in the tree, hearing oropendulas, and even getting a baby iguana visitor in our Tree House. We took advantage of the wifi in the breakfast area. Having a toilet & shower in a treehouse was an unexpected but welcome arrangement. Our stay in the treehouse was a unique introduction to Costa Rica and makes for a great story to tell!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaShapley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

A nice relaxed stay. Roofs leaked in the rain but owner alex was very accommodating. Good breakfast. Nice father & son team.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

run by alex,who cares for local wildlife waifs and strays,this is a great place for kids or any animal lover.upon arrival my son was introduced to/allowed to hold a baby sloth,which was the highlight of his trip.good large clean cabins (although the start to reroofing my cabin before my checkout was a surprise!),set in grounds with plenty of wildlife-frogs,birds,squirrel etc..great buffet breakfast with good homemade fresh bread (surprisingly difficult to find in C.R.),fruit and eggs.close to tirimbina bio reserve-a must do!-especially the chocolate tour,great for wildlife,(we saw frogs, lizards, snakes, sloth, ocelot!?).alex was helpful with maps for our forward journey.good local soda.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob-t-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
10.5 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
157 reviews
4.3 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
623 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
190 reviews
18.8 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
419 reviews
6.9 mi away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Andrea Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Andrea Cristina

Property: Posada Andrea Cristina
Address: Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Posada Andrea Cristina Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing