We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise for photographers”
Review of Frogs Heaven

Frogs Heaven
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Paradise for photographers”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Eduardo was our guide and he started telling about the different plants and herbs. We were eager to see frogs and not sure if we would see them during daylight. But we were not disappointed. We saw the famous red eye leaf frog, the glass frog, the jeans frog the grean and black dart frog and a big toad, Also amazing amount of coloured birds (due to the feeding :-( ) and as desert we saw a sloth with a newly born baby. All accompanied by the nice guides and some coffee/drinks and cookies.Even the kids used their cameras (which were untouched during the previsou weeks in Costa Rica). Anyhow check the great pictures.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander_Yoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    30
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Named accordingly Frog's heaven”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

You basically arrive, walk out of the car, and 3 minutes later you're surrounded by amazing species of colorful frogs and birds. I've been to a LOT of places looking for frogs to take photos in Costa Rica, I must say this is my favorite place for photography so far.
The guy who gave the tour, Eduardo, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GustavoEspriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must !!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

José is a very very nice guy!! On the property of his family he made several environments where all kind of frogs feel at home. The three most famous frogs of Costa Rica are easily found and José does everything to let you make the 'National geographic picture of the year'.
There are many kinds of frogs on the property, including several glass frogs. Take time to explore it all !!!
After our tour we had dinner with his family. A nice end of a wonderful afternoon.
Highly recommended.
Ineke, Jos and mother Ans (85)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JosvdDool57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This was fun!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I so enjoyed the enthusiasm and knowledge of the guide/owner of the attraction. He explained so much about the plants in the region, all the ones that are used for cooking - herbs, palm hearts, mandarins and more. He maintained natural ecosystems for the frogs so that we would be likely to find them. And happily he was not too PC about feeding the birds. The national parks don't allow it but a man can put a bird feeder with native plants in his back garden. We watched lots coming for food. It was great!
The only thing I didn't like was that it was too expensive. When we arrived it was just going to be the two of us and I didnt grudge the $50. Just as we were about to start 4 extra people arrived unexpectedly. So the guide got $150 and we had to share his time. A little greedy I felt but I would do it again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank loglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallican
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“frogs heaven”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a very untouristy attraction set on a families property. We were shown around the flora on the property and their local uses. As the sun went down, we wandered around the steam and saw several frogs including green poison dart frogs and blue jean frogs, insects etc They do their best to give us a good experience while protecting the animals they depend on. We finished with a tasty meal served by grandma in their Tico house. Very friendly and well worth the stop

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Heaven also viewed

 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 

Been to Frogs Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing