We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rainforest Frogs Plus a Great Day of Birding!”
Review of Frogs Heaven

Frogs Heaven
Alameda, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Rainforest Frogs Plus a Great Day of Birding!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

In April of 2013 we spent a fantastic day with Jorge as our birding and frog guide in the Horquetas area of Costa Rica. Under Jorge's expert guidance, we identified over 50 different bird species, as well as iguanas, howler moneys, and both 2 and 3-toed sloths. Then we got a personal tour of Frogs Heaven, which Jorge is building into an awesome frog habitat.
Starting the morning from Toucan Rescue Ranch in Heredia and a beautiful drive through Parque Nacional Braulio Carillo, we met Jorge at a roadside restaurant near Horquetas, where we sat hypnotized, watching a riot of feeding hummingbirds. Next we drove to Heliconia Island where we spent the morning finding and identifying many birds, including two varieties of toucan, the Ringed Kingfisher, Spectacled Owl and my favorite, the Chestnut-headed Oropendola.
After an authentic Costa Rican lunch, it's a short drive to Frogs Heaven. Jorge is justifiably proud of his creation, which is home to a variety of native frogs. We saw lots, including several Green and Black Poison Dart Frogs, tree frogs, and many others. The habitat is both frog and people-friendly. Jorge's knowledge and enthusiasm make the visit a truly memorable experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    30
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic place!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

In the summer of 2012 we visited Frogs Heaven with the four of us. We were expecting some kind of glass house, but it turned out that José actually had a real garden were he recreated the natural environment of a lot of frogs!

At first, he told us a lot about his family, his gardening in all kinds of fruits and other plants and raising money for his beautiful daughter. After that he showed us his great frog garden were there were different types of habitats, because of each frog needing another kind. José showed us at least five different frogs and they were really beautiful! Besides that, he also speaks a lot of languages, which was very cool! José is a very kind man, who will tell and show you a lot more than you could ever imagine.

Thanks again, Daniël (Dutch)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginevra, Svizzera
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Frogs”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were the first one to do a night tour (beginning of April). It was just great!! Frogs were everywhere, singing and posing for our picts :) Recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ntl_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spend the money for the tour guide, it will save you some time. They're really good at spotting this little fellas. Go back for the night tour, it's included in the fee, and worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thunderfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Jose and his family took us on a night tour through his wonderful 'backyard'. We definitely got more than we could ask for, seeing 9 or 10 different species fully active in their natural habitat, including the red eyed treefrog and the red webbed treefrog. A wonderful experience with Jose as a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. One of the highlights of our three week stay in Costa Rica, it comes highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Heaven also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 

Been to Frogs Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing