We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff but ...got stollen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First : excellent staff, so smily and friendly, especially Patricia and Esther at the art craft...
But...First night, Room facing the ocean on the 3tr floor, everything left outside: beach dress, beach shoes, water shirt got stollen. They said we were the only family who got stollen but we talked to neighbors and everybody got stollen. I lost 150$ in clothing. They tried to replace but there was not a good choice at the store. One night we lost my 2 daughters and her friends, so 4 kids at 10 pm, asked the security guy if he saw 4 girls going to the room, he said no, than, we search to all over the place. The girls were in the room and pass in front of the security guy who saw nothing!!! What a security ??? He was playing with his iPod or blackberry.
Kid club is extremely boring for 5-10 compare to club med punta Cana, where they spend11 hours a day because it's to much fun.
The buffet is really basic but Neptune and venitien were very good. Entertaining at night is good.
The beach is very small and not enough chairs when it's sunny. It was not an issue since we got rain, wind for 7 days! Well I will not go back... I would put the staff of boscobel to Negril and it would be perfect. I didn't' like the staff at negril 4 years ago, especially at the kids camp

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank misstravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,255)
There are newer reviews for Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,551 - 2,557 of 4,255 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Thanks Beaches for a wonderful Family vacation. We just returned from a 1 week stay on March 3rd and I have only good things to say about this vacation. A special thanks to Ash and her wonderful entertainment and fun with my 5 year old daughter and also to her warmth, energy and talent she exudes for all the guests. You were wonderful to my family! Also a special thanks to the great service from Kemisha and Janice (buffet restaurant) and Shaun (bar)!!! I loved our little gab sessions and I watched you all deliver incredible customer service to everyone you came into contact with. To me that really reflects well on the Beaches for hiring such an incredible staff; they made our trip exceptional and i would recommend it to anyone I know. My five year old daughter who is usually very clingy begged everyday to go to the kids club because she felt so happy and entertained by the incredible staff there as well and the awesome activities provided for the kids. The resort itself is gorgeous and small which I love,; I cant stand having to walk miles at a resort! The Sesame street characters were great to see everyday and their shows were a lot of fun! Our room was just okay, lots of hot water though and cleaned well regularly etc but just a little noisy but really until the shows were over at around 10-10:30 so it really did not effect us at all. The food was great.. we loved the Neptune's restaurant for both the food and service and the quality of the buffet and BBQ restaurant was also stellar. Yummy Jerk chicken everyday!! We did not go to Eleanor's and the Italian we had was only mediocre at best. The desk staff was only average in the main area because they did not follow up on a couple of requests to change our room the first day. We ended up staying in the room anyway but it would have been nice for them to follow up. Regardless it was a perfect vacation for my family in every way! We will definitely be returning again next year. Thanks
Beaches for a great trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 187TamaraT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a great trip! We have two girls, ages 6 and 7. They had a blast going down the water slides and helping themselves to strawberry daquiris, Sprite, and ice cream every day (not an everyday treat at home for sure). The kids club was fantastic! Our girls enjoyed a talent show, dance parties, baking with the Cookie Monster, and "Reggae" night. One night when we were headed to dinner as a family, one of the staff, Shavaun, grabbed our children and pulled them into their care so my husband and I could have a fancy dinner at Eleanor's restaurant. It was delicious and it was great to have some alone time with my husband. Thank you Shavaun!!! Also, Lammarr, Tash Marie, and Lavean were great with our kids. Our kids ate dinner with the staff and other children that night and we met up with them after dinner at the Sesame Street show that they had every night at 7:00. The true test is when you ask your kids if they had fun, and every time they said, "yes"! In fact, kids club was one of the best parts of their trip. We ate at Bayside most of the time because our kids enjoyed the buffet most of all. The food was really great! Lots of options. Gavin was wonderful at making omelets every morning and was so friendly and always singing, "Don't worry, be happy". Regarding our room, we got a two-level upgrade for being a "Sandals Signature" guest which was very nice. Our room was in a great location. A few times had trouble with getting hot water out of the shower, but only 1-2 times. The downfall of our trip was that we got Ringworm (I think, as a result of lying on the lounge chairs without a towel once or twice). Use a towel, always!!! The nurse on staff was nice and friendly and offered a doctor for a $150 fee. We went on one excursion to Dunns River Falls, which was beautiful and worth doing. Wouldn't suggest going with kids under age 7 due to the current. The water sports were fun. My family enjoyed a glass bottom boat ride (which can cause seasickness, so be careful if you are sensitive to that), water trikes, cayaks, and the hoby cat. Our girls got their hair braided which was great during the trip because there was no hair maintenance, but when we got home, it took 2-3 hours to take out!!! Our girls loved having the braids though. If you are considering this, go to the beach and ask for Jennifer, Julie, and Jackie on the other side of the wall. They did both of our girls (full heads) for $80 (opposed to $130 at the resort). Lots of stairs to the beach, but didn't bother us much. Ocean was calm. It was 87 degrees and sunny every day of our trip. Overall, a great family vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade! Room 1129 was great location in West Wing. Walk-out patio was great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon4965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is our 8th time to Jamaica & they never disappoint! The Jamaican's hospitality is superb & Beaches always strives to make your trip everything you expect it to be. Entertainment is first class & some of our favorite employees that made our vacation so special were, Ash, Odane, Aldane, Renix, Orion & Aaron. Thanks to you all! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Main building as it is further back from the main stage & pool area so it is quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Overall I would say this is a fantastic resort but it does have little areas for improvement.

We had very high expectations which were a bit shattered on arrival as the resort is a bit older now than the photos on the website but once we got over that, we had a thoroughly amazing time.
The resort is big enough that you can do exploring and relax in different areas but small enough that its not miles to rush back to your room. The beach is quite short which is great because our kids could run from one end to the other and we could still see them at all times. The waterpark is just lovely (only criticism is that the lower quality beds there are not as comfortable as the wooden ones by the main pool).
The food is great with more than enough variety (we were there for 2 weeks and only ate the same things twice out of choice because they were delicious). The food for kids is, I would say, adequate but more variety would be better at the buffet.
The evening entertainment is definitely by far the best I've seen. We were there for 2 weeks and it was amazing every night. Varied of caberet shows to fire eaters to contortionists!

The staff absolutely made our holiday. Michael at Guest services did his utmost to resolve any problems we may have had and made us feel like the most important people there.
The watersports team on the beach (Gregory, Garcia and more) were fantastic and very helpful.
Waiters and waitresses in the restaurants (Jennae and Ian from Eleanors), Gerald the pizza guy, Romaine all took pride in their work, had a smile on always and were just generally very friendly and helpful.
But the life gaurds round the pool made the biggest difference to our holiday. We have a 2 and 5 year old and felt that our kids were safe and entertained at all times. Damion, Roshaun, Ryan and Richard went out of their way to have fun with our kids, went the extra mile for them every single day.

Room Tip: One bed oceanfront suites are quite far away from waterpark so not great with little kids. Also the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0lidayL0ver1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We can not say enough good things about our recent, first visit to Beaches Ocho Rios. From the friendly greeting at the airport to the sad good byes on our departure...we knew we had found a special place with new friends that will last a life time. Our room on the beach was lovely and so relaxing listening to the waves with our morning coffee on the patio. The restaurants, bars, pools, activities, and special events are all staffed with people who have only your best time ever in mind! We celebrated a family member's 10 year wedding anniversary with a vow renewal ceremony on the beach. What a beautiful event! The Kids' Camp is so amazing! Our grandchildren just loved it and that gave Mom and Dad some free time to do what ever they wanted...worry free. What ever your want might be, they will do anything possible to take care of your needs. Needless to say, we booked next year's vacation-same place-same time-same room!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the beach front rooms being able to walk right out to the beach. You have a beautiful vie...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Been to sandals before in st.lucia was excellent!!! Decided to book beaches report in Jamaica and take the kids. Service was fantastic!!! The entertainment department was awesome ash and Sheldon were amazing!!!! Your kids will have a blast with them!!! They have a different show each night and tons of family fun throughout the day!!! Rooms clean and nice. Food excellent see Gavin for omelette and Fabian for pizza!! The kids camp is amazing gives u adult time!!!the kids will have a blast!! So many things to do on the resort!! Do 10 days cuz 7 is not enough!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniellc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
55.1 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
89.4 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
23.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,295 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
56.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range: $469 - $1,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing