We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Canna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tighard Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a must visit guest house. The hosts are just simply wonderful, great hospitality and such a lovely venue. Really out of this of this world- location and the house is so comfortable with style and atmosphere. Cannot say how great this house and the food is and what a wonderful atmosphere there is in the house and in the garden.A visit here just makes you realise how marvellous Scotland is. Highly recommend this a place to visit and stay.Hosts are great with children.

Room Tip: Hosts are simply marvellous. All rooms in this house are so well appointed . Superb views from all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fcag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Exceptional hospitality, wonderful and distinctive food, peaceful, comfortable and spacious rooms and facilities,beautiful music, outstanding views and wildlife and more!!! Over breakfast we watched as a young buzzard came to rest on the branch of a tree, just feet away from us, and then flew off shortly after; a truly memorable stay and a jewel of an island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on business - but it didn't feel like work! The guest house is superbly comfortable and the new proprietors will do their utmost to make you feel at home and look after you. The views from the house just have to be some of the most stunning in all I Scotland , if not the world! The house is cosy and rooms are spacious and relaxing and beautifully furnished. There are no TVs in the rooms but once you've seen the views, you realise you don't miss that distraction one little bit.
Beautiful meals all cooked from scratch using local produce. The yellowest eggs you can find on this planet! You won't go hungry!
A lovely log fire in the sitting room for you on chilly nights.
Canna is remote ( reached by ferry from Mallaig in about 3 hours) but lovely and an ideal place to relax for a few days. You won't regret making the extra effort to get there. Just don't go telling everyone about it or we'll never be able to get a booking!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great welcome; fantastic decor and food a a speciality. Prepare for a memorable experience and the views from the Sanday bedroom has to rates as one of the top views in the world. I have got to return to enjoy more of these delights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This place is an absolute jewel. After being met at the ferry and taken up to the house by the hosts, I was presented with tea, fudge, all the home-made biscuits I could eat (lavender shortcake! Rum fudge!), complimentary port and a huge room with a superb view over the sea to Rum. The house itself is a dignified old villa, comforting and solid, decorated with elegance and character; it is up the hill from the other houses and looks out over the island of Sanday. It could not be better placed.

The hosts are welcoming and friendly, and very knowledgeable about the island. I ate at Tighard as the restaurant was closed and I think I got the best part of the deal: the food was superb; local produce cooked sensitively and well.

I spent my days walking on the island during the daytime and mostly dozing in front of the fire in the evenings! The views from Canna across to Rum are mindblowing and something you can watch all day. It's much larger than it looks on the maps and there's plenty to explore, but it's also small enough that everything's nearby. Fifteen minutes walk from Tighard takes you through a dozen different landscapes up to the top of a nearby hill where there are stunning views across to Skye.

Alas, while I was there the weather closed in and I had to leave early or risk missing the last ferry before Christmas. If I hadn't had to visit relatives I would have stayed...

If you're looking for a place being able to unwind in the peace and quiet, in total comfort but relaxed and comfortable, and with a character that's unlike anywhere else in Scotland, then I cannot recommend Tighard highly enough.

Room Tip: They're all brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What an amazing place to stay. The hosts, Colin and David are so happy and friendly and go out of their way to make your stay one to remember. The rooms are beautiful and the lounge and dining room are a pleasure to spend time in. Breakfast and dinner was home cooked and better than any top star resturant. The food was AMAZING. So were the Scottish organic products in the bathroom, never mind the homemade lavendar shortbread in a big jar in my room. HEAVEN*
The hosts are full of information and history of the island and make your stay feel so special.
The guest house is so cosy that you will want to go back more and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were met with a warm welcome as we got off the ferry and had the choice of being driven or walking up to the guest house and our bags were taken for us. Our room was huge (the front one) and extremely comfortable. We even had home-made fudge and some port waiting for us! The new tenants have made Tighard luxurious but relaxed. After a great night (we took the advice of leaving the curtains open to get the view in the morning!) were offered a wide selection for breakfast, from cereal to a full Scottish or English. We also had dinner at Tighard every night too and without fail it was excellent and very good value for money. Nothing was ever too much trouble and every detail had been thought about; from the complementary products in the bathroom to torches for late night walks. We couldn't recommend it more - and will be returning again soon.

Room Tip: Sanday is the best room, but they are all large with there own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tighard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tighard Guest House

Property: Tighard Guest House
Address: Tighard Tighard, PH44 4RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Canna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Canna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful period Edwardian property situated on a hill overlooking Canna and Sanday with spectacular views from all rooms over the island and to Rum .A truly special and breathtaking place to stay for peace and tranquility as well as special sites of historical interest and a nature lovers paradise.Fantastic walking with excellent birdwatching as well as the hugely important archive of Gaelic folksong and folklore built up by John Lorne Campbell and Margaret Fay Shaw at Canna house owned and managed by the National Trust For Scotland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing