We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sidewalk Cafe & Garden

The Sidewalk Cafe & Garden
Ranked #15 of 17 Restaurants in West Burleigh
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Love going to the Sidewalk Cafe for the best Eggs Benedict ever and always get another selection and share. We love the outdoorsy feel and appreciate that they even bring out a water bowl for our thirsty pup without being asked. It has a great atmosphere and we always have a good laugh with Mandy. Just wish we could get there more often but we go when we can. Our favorite breakfast cafe!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frangipani1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic gardens and great place for a get together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hubby booked a surprise 50th Birthday party for me here ......ideal choice beautiful English style gardens and a cosy undercover area with sofas and lovely tables .....BYO and we had a fantastic night ...for hire of the café and finger foods for us all very reasonable and would certainly recommend if you have a gathering which needs to be catered for..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_CafeOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service, below average food, all in all extremely unenjoyable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were very excited to see what this cute little cafe had to offer, very quickly it turned out to be the worst cafe experience we've had. The food took nearly an hour, and it was something a child could whip up at home, avo on burnt toast. They forgot one of our orders, and this added an extra 20 minutes on to the already hour long wait. A filthy cloth and spray were left on the table, which we had to remove ourselves after we realised she wasn't coming back, and there was no one around to ask to take it away. All of the diners around us were also frustrated, creating a very tense atmosphere. The smoke alarm went off twice, which in the several times I go out to eat weekly, I have never experienced before, not even once let alone twice. Very unenjoyable, waste of time and money, especially with the abundance of cafés to choose from on the Coast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BLC_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee on the coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

When I first went to the sidewalk cafe the day after New Year's Day 2014 I was so surprised what was there. It is like walking into a little English garden. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, this particular day they were so busy and understaffed ( staff didn't turn up after the new year celebration) but they coped well with it. I had to wait a little while for my drinks and food but it was well worth the wait, the coffee and food were both delicious it's a great little place to go with family and friends We have been Back a few times and and every time We have tried something different on the menu and every time it has been faultless. This is a place I would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Long wait, and wrong order, twice!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went to this cafe to grab a nice coffee. The seating and location was lovely, However, the service left much to be desired. We waited for over 30 minutes for two cups of coffee. So we asked the barista if we could have take-away instead. 15mins after we asked this he brought out one of our coffees in a "have here" cup. We asked AGAIN if we could have it in a take away cup. He obliged and said he would be right back. 10 minutes later he brought back two take away coffees however as we walked away we realised that it was not what we had ordered at all. Disappointing. It appeared that many others that day were also disappointed with the service. However, the staff did appear very flustered and unable to keep up as it was only two of them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jUSBe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sidewalk Cafe & Garden also viewed

West Burleigh, Burleigh Heads
West Burleigh, Burleigh Heads
 
West Burleigh, Burleigh Heads
West Burleigh, Burleigh Heads
 
West Burleigh, Burleigh Heads
 

Been to The Sidewalk Cafe & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing