We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Horse Riding”

Glenworth Valley Outdoor Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.75*
and up
Quad Biking At Glenworth Valley Outdoor Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glenworth Valley is Australia's largest horse riding and outdoor adventure centre. We offer horse riding, quad biking, abseiling, kayaking and camping activities on our 3000 acre wilderness property. Explore 50kms of the finest unspoilt wilderness including natural rock pools and rainforest trails. We are located 1 hour north of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and 15 minutes south of Gosford.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Horse Riding”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first time horse riding. I felt very comfortable and most importantly safe. The staff carefully selected horses for each of us. The staff were friendly and always helpful. I'm looking forward to more horse riding in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    54
    18
    16
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quad biking is awesome”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Took my teen son for the 2hr Quad Bike tour during the school holidays. Neither of us had ridden a quad bike before. You need to pre-book and then on the day register at the general Glenworth Valley reception, they then point you in the direction of the Quad Bike shed which is a short walk around from the main horseriding section. On arrival at the Quad Bike shed, you are given a helmet, hairnet and a small locker to put in your valuables. Then you are given Quad Bike training for 20mins or so to master the controls including turning. After this you are split into groups based on ability. In single file you follow the instructor along a 5Km track at a fairly decent speed through beautiful Australian bush/countryside to the main quad bike track. Here you are let loose to have alot of fun racing around a very muddy track. My son reached the top speed of 40km/h. I was much more conservative. We spent alot of time here and it was definitely the highlight of the experience and the instructors take photos of you whilst you speed around (to be emailed to you at a later date). Then its a 5km ride back in single file again at a decent speed to the quad bike shed past cows and horses and lovely countryside. At $95 per person, its expensive but its definitely well worth the money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mishySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We camped at Glenworth for 4 nights with friends and our teenagers were in horse heaven.

There were very few campers so we basically had the Mill Paddock area to ourselves for the first couple of nights. Watching the sun rise through the mist in the valley while having coffee at our campsite each morning was very serene. We were to discover that the mist was like a horizontal light rain and managed to drench everything under our gazebo on the first night, a cold wet lesson learned there :)

The facilities are very basic (ie. no power available), but flushing toilets and hot showers are always a bonus when camping. There is free wifi up at the office, but don't expect phone reception (although one camper was standing in the middle of Mill Paddock inflicting his loud phone conversation on other campers, so there must be limited coverage). The office sells basic items like batteries and sunscreen, but the there is also a major shopping centre half an hour away with supermarkets and department stores.

Campsites are expensive at $20 per adult and $10 per child per night - could get costly for larger families, however the facilities and camping area were very clean and well maintained. There are a number of fire pits around the Mill Paddock and we camped next to one of them. In winter, you definitely need a fire as the temperatures start to drop rapidly by mid afternoon - worth remembering to purchase your fire starters and firewood before the office closes of an evening!

Our trip to Glenworth was all about the horses and we were not disappointed. On our first morning, several horses wandered through Mill Paddock on their way to another paddock and didn't mind that the kids walked over to pat them while they were grazing. The horses roam freely elsewhere on the property overnight, and watching them all being mustered up to the yards of a morning is quite a sight, particularly if the horses appear from out of the mist.

The horse riding is very well organised and safety is a priority. Riding boots are available for hire and I would suggest not wearing expensive footwear as the saddling area is somewhat mushy. Our kids did a one day riding camp with lessons and a few trail rides as well. Horses are matched to riding ability and the staff were fantastic. Generally we were happy with the horses selected for the trail rides, although when all you want to do is trot and your horse won't move, it's a bit frustrating - I guess horses have their good days and bad days as well.

Whilst we didn't have time for quad biking, kayaking or abseiling our kids were totally exhausted at the end of each day. We had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend Glenworth for families who enjoy spending time together without the interruptions of iPhones and Facebook.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissMoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing weekend away!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in the beautiful Glenworth Valley, and what an amazing time we had! We camped by a running creek in the shade of blue gums, and had easy access to toilets and hot water showers. Whilst we were there we also enjoyed a couple of the great activities on offer, quad biking and kayaking. My wife was quite nervous about the quad biking, but with ample training and extremely professional guides, she was quickly comfortable with the bikes and had a thrilling time! Kayaking was a relaxing paddle along the creek that runs through the valley, and out towards the mighty hawkesbury river. Kayaking distances were defined by how hard the group wanted to paddle so I would recommend this to groups of all abilities. And as the sun was going down on the night we stayed, we were treated to the 'running of the horses', a spectacular sight of all the centers horses being run out to pasture for the night! Overall we have decided to make this a regular occurance due to how much we enjoyed it. I can't beleive it is so close to Sydney. Maybe next time we can work up the courage to try abseiling...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quad bikes were great fun”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went on a quad bike tour and had a lot of fun. Luckily it was just us and the guide so we got to some decent speeds. The bike track was fun. We were really pleasantly surprised how easy going and friendly the guide was as we assumed we would be treated like children which is usually the case with tours. Well worth the money if you go during the week in a small group.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ets610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenworth Valley Outdoor Adventures also viewed

 
Gosford, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Glenworth Valley Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing