We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is something about spending a night in a medieval castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curiel de Duero
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“There is something about spending a night in a medieval castle”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is the oldest of the castles in the province and it bow hosts a hotel. The installations are pretty modern, the room we had was spacious, clean yet had something of an old residence... We were treated with a courtesy bottle of their wine -Viejo Coso, a nice detail.

The breakfast was good, not very versatile though. I recommend spending sime time on the roof floor, which has a small pool. The views are great on the Duero valley and especially the neighbouring hill of the castle of Peñafiel.

In the village, make sure you visit the church with excellent wooden ceilling decoration, and since you are around go to Legaris and Comenge wineries.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tomaszsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    75
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
103
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pros- It really is a castle set up on a hill in the ribera del Duero region. It is convenient to the wineries. The rooms are air-conditioned and relatively modern and spacious by european standards.

Cons- The steep winding driveway to get up that hill to the castle is not for the faint of heart, espicially if your not used to driving a manual transmission car. The rest of the castle is not air-conditioned- meaning that you are forced to stay in your room when it's 95 degrees outside. There is a tiny roof top swimming pool that is frigid since the temperature drops dramatically at night. There is nothing within walking distance and nowhere to eat until their restaurant opens at 9 pm. We speak very little Spanish, and the staff was very cold and unfriendly to us, and made us feel unwelcome. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but left after the first.

Summary- If you are fluent in Spanish and don't mind staying in your room, while you are at the hotel, then this may be the castle for you. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A friend of mine recently celebrated her wedding in the castle and we satyed the night. The ceremony took place in the patio of arms, followed by a dinner, and cocktails upstairs. Everything was perfect. The staff were extremely helpful and acomodating with all out requests (we were a bit late and they really took they stress away). The building is amazing, full of history, yet with all the mod cons of a modern hotel. A real must if you are visiting the Ribera del Duero.

Room Tip: Room 17 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

An increible castle. Newly renovated with all the amenities of a modern hotel and yet with 13 centuries of history! Excellent food, great lavations, increible staff and great rooms. Breath taking views & all of these right in the middle of wine country of Ribera del Duero. This place is a must. Thanks to the staff of "El Castillo".
Maria & Manuel Gomez/Miami

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lagomez75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curiel de Duero
8.4 mi away
Castilla Termal Monasterio de Valbuena
3.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Las Claras
16.1 mi away
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
#1 of 1 in Sardon de Duero
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
#2 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
316 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fuente Acena
Fuente Acena
#1 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel ATH Ribera de Duero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel

Property: Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
Address: Calle Trascastillo, s/n, 47316 Curiel de Duero, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Curiel de Duero
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curiel de Duero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing