We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home?”
Review of Casona de Quintana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casona de Quintana
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home?”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Jose invited us to think of the hotel as "our home" when we arrived. It might never be quite that, but it does reflect the gracious and hospitable welcome that we received. Others have mentioned how peaceful a place it is, and it certainly is a wonderful place to relax and slow down.

The quality of the food was excellent throughout our stay. Very fresh ingredients, beautifully cooked and presented by Nuria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imptwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    32
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
216
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place invokes contentment. Every corner has esquisite decor and antiques, nothing is over done and is a perfect balance of feeling at home and pampered. Got lost on the way but added to the adventure and sheer delight on arrival to find such perfection. The view from every room and garden is magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishkar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nuria and Jose have done a superb job of creating a wonderful hotel in the middle of nowhere, one worth making a special trip to stay in.

We stayed for 7 nights and never grew bored of the location or the food in the equally top notch restaurant, in fact to our surprise we ended up eating there every night! Our hosts went out of their way to accommodate our awkward dietary (vegetarian) preferences.

There are lots of beautiful walks nearby in the Valle de Soba, yet Santander and Bilbao are only a short drive away should you find yourself yearning for a day trip to the city.

Needless to say, a car is essential.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggercj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

. . . and the thought our hosts Nuria and Jose have put into creating this wonderful haven really shines through. Although we do not speak Spanish, there was no mistaking the genuine warmth in the welcome we received or, on taking our leave, the belief that Jose and Nuria really meant it when they said they hoped we would return to Casona de Quintana one day. For the delicious food and wine, the smiling faces of Ana and Schezerade, and the sheer beauty of the Cantabrian mountains, we truly think we will.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The owners have created an impressive hotel-experience where all details have been thought through. There's a story and an idea behind every meal, every furniture and every room. The house is beautifully renovated. The house is filled with beautiful antiquities. And the food is mouthwatering. As a result we were enjoying every minute at Casona de Quintana.

The hotel is way out in the middle of the mountains so a car is required. With a car you can access Santander, beaches, caveman caves, hikes. I can recommend the michelin-starred Solana restaurant close. It's pretty cheap and the food is incredible. Let the owners guide you to experiences in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaptajnknas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The owners have put a huge amount of effort into making this a wonderful little hotel. The rooms are decorated with style, and the food is first class. They are clearly and justifiably proud of their hotel in this peaceful location and have made every effort to make a stay as enjoyable as possible. There is no need to to find any local restaurants, just try one of the special house gin and tonics while sitting on one of the may terraces in the beautiful garden, order dinner, which won't disappoint, and take the owner's recommendation on wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: If you can, book the Suite de la Tore - Suite in the Tower - it has its own private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed three nights at Casona de Quintana in the heart of the Picos de Europa. The house is stunning and has been beautifully decorated by Catalonian antiquarians Jose and Nubia. Our room was simple but delightful with views of the mountains in every direction. There are also some
lovely lounges and terraces to choose from.
Food was a highlight: Nubia prepares meals of an excellent standard using the freshest fish and seafood, local dairy products, honey and herbs. She also runs a small shop with pretty gifts and homewares - a rare opportunity to browse in an area without any visible commerce. The mountains of Cantabria are dotted with remote farming communities that are suffering from lack of investment. It's wonderfully rural, but also extremely remote.

We loved the peacefulness of our stay and the chance to drive some of the best mountain roads we have ever encountered. When we left our passports behind at the e d if iur stay, Jose drove to meet us and we shared a coffee and an hour's reflection on Spanish politics. A thoughtful and considerate host.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quintana de Soba
21.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo
16.3 mi away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
22.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Parador de Limpias
Parador de Limpias
#1 of 1 in Limpias
474 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Pasiega
Hotel Villa Pasiega
#1 of 4 in Hoznayo
375 reviews
23.0 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de Quintana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de Quintana

Property: Casona de Quintana
Address: C/ Sitio del Castillo 1, 39806 Quintana de Soba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Quintana de Soba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quintana de Soba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casona de Quintana 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casona de Quintana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing