We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, first class service and enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family stayed at Avlon House for 6 nights for a family wedding (repeat visit for my husband and I) and as always the rooms, the food and the hospitality was absolutely excellent - nothing is too much trouble and we would never stay anywhere else - my mum and dad was so impressed they want us to book for next year ! The breakfast choice is fantastic,especially the full Irish breakfast and the portions more than generous, with a wide range of other choices and nothing was too much trouble if you wished to have something else. Tom, the proprietor, is so welcoming and genuine - thank you Tom for looking after my parents and their needs. I will always stay at Avlon House and thank you again for making it special and hopefully we will see you in the very near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharontaylor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 605 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Avlon for two nights we had two rooms, The rooms were immaculate an so was the rest of the bed and breakfast, The breakfast was great a real good selection of fruit and cereal to start and to follow a fantastic cooked Irish breakfast with ample toast tea and coffee, The service was first class, Thank you Tom. The children were happy because they had free wifi, The was plenty of toiletries tea coffee and sugar in the room,We have stayed in Carlow a few times in the hotels and other guest houses the Avlon is the best one we have found we will use the Avlon again when we are in Carlow to see family, Thank all the staff for there effort and time see you all later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B368AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here to attend a wedding which was at a nearby hotel. Great hospitality from the start. The room was immaculate and had everything you would need with toiletries. Breakfast was gorgeous and had a wide variety of food along with a big fry so there is something for everyone! Great price for 69 euro for two. Free wifi which was fast. Glad we didn't stay in the nearby hotel and would definitely stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaginica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just returned home from our stay at the Avlon House. This B&B is conveniently located on one of the main roads into town and is an easy walk into town center for the able bodied. There is plenty of parking if you have a car. While on a main road, there is no street noise once inside. The accommodations are spotlessly clean. Our room was always serviced promptly. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were new and luxurious. The shower offerred great water pressure and hot water. The room was generously stocked with any toiletries you might have forgot at home. Breakfast was very generous! In addition to an offering of fruit, pastries, cereals and yogurts, you can order from a menu with a wide variety of offerings. The portions were large and we could have easily made two meals out of them. Everything was freshly made. The owner, Tom, was the essence of hospitality. Each day he offerred suggestions for things to see and do and where to take in dinner. We found the rates very affordable. We would most certainly book at the Avlon House again and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Note that all rooms are upstairs and may present a challenge for someone who has difficulty with sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AisleSeatPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were in good hands from the first minute on.
Tom was an amazing host - he always took care of his guests.
It was very comfortable, very clean and cosy.
At the breakfast we felt like queens. It was sooo good!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonjaJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This a was brillant experiance with a warm and friendly welcome. The rooms are quite luxury and verry clean, the bathroom as well. A fantastic breakfirst on your demande. If we were asked we propose to book it.
Ein sehr gutes B&B, liebevoll und geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Wirklich luxuriös, sehr gut Wärme- und Lärm gedämmt. Deutscher Standart bei Heizung und Badezimmerausstattung. Bestes Preis- / Leistungsverhältnis und unbedingt empfehlenswert.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A lovely bed and breakfast with all facilities you need for a short or lengthy stay. Lovely breakfast and excellent value for money. Hotel standard with the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Beautifully decorated, spacious and exceptionally clean. The best bed and breakfast that we have stayed in. Thank you so much. When we are in Ireland we will be staying with you.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.4 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
1.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
0.7 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
608 reviews
21.8 mi away
Silken Thomas Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Charlotte Rooms
Charlotte Rooms
#8 of 11 in Carlow
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avlon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Avlon House Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: $64 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlon House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avlon House Bed & Breakfast Thanks past guests for sharing their experience of our product at Avlon House B&B Carlow as a result of their efforts we have being awarded a 2014 Consumer choice award from Tripadvisor. A big thank you for making Avlon House B&B Carlow the number 2 B&B out of Tripadvisors top 25 B&B's in Ireland 2014. Avlon House B&B also carries an AA "Highly Commended" 4 star award for consistently offering guests a quality of product within the top 10% of AA4 star establishments in UK & Ireland. Our Bed and Breakfast is a boutique Failte Ireland 4 star Irish Tourist Board approved Property. We are located within 7-10 minutes walk north of Carlow Town on the R448. Great rates & Good reviews just some of the reasons to book your accommodation at Avlon House in Carlow Town Ireland. Secure off street free parking with CCTV protection. Breakfast served daily between 7-10am full menus. All Rooms En suites with power showers, Bedrooms are fully equipped with Multi Channel TV, Telephone, Tea / Coffee facilities, Trouser press, Hairdryer, Toiletries & Mineral water are supplied with our compliments (Body Lotion, Shower gel, Shampoo, Conditioner, shower cap, Soap, Razor & Foam, Toothbrush & Paste, vanity kit, Nail Kit, Mending Kit, Shoe Shine), Wired & Wireless Broadband access in all rooms. 2 Lounges for guests use 1 with 700 DVD library, other with daily papers & 300 title book library. For the smokers we offer the use of our log cabin with board Games to help pass the time. During the fine summer evenings you can relax on the patio while listening to the water trickling through the water features or smelling the aromas from the Barbeque. Snack menu available daily from 4-8pm. New for 2012 Avlon House accommodation in Carlow town is now offering complimentary use of bicycles to explore the Carlow Country side to guests staying 2 or more nights (must be reserved at time of reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avlon House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing