We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First impressions were excellent as the Receptionists were amazing.
The rooms were spacious and clean but could do with a lick of paint and some sprucing up, a little bit tired.
The food was very good again a bit of attention to detail and it could be excellent.
It was a very good location and there was a lot to do around with good walks etc.
Overall a very enjoyable stay. Will be back..............

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Christine,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken in posting a review on your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and I know I can speak for the girls at the desk when I say that they would like to be associated with my thanks. We are currently undertaking a full refurbishment programme across the entire hotel with many of the areas already complete. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow very soon.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night and it was a very pleasant stay the rooms are really comfortable, clean and spacious and the staff are really friendly and helpful we got a fantastic deal €90 for 2 people 1 night B&B and 4 course meal which was really nice and then there was music in the bar so you did not have to leave the hotel to find somewhere that had entertainment on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Nicola,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent overnight stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was great reading your comments and thank you so much for the kind words. It is always good to know that our guests enjoy their stay and in particular the live entertainment provided meant that you could relax and get the most out of your visit.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights during the Easter holidays with our 2 children. Check in was great and all dealings with reception were brilliant. Rooms were good size and very clean. Fantastic value for 3 nights with dinner each night - food was average but value for what you pay. Our girl (4) really enjoyed the kids club. Leisure centre was also great. Will definitely return during school holiday times with the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expect_quality_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken in writing and posting a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure looking after you and the family for the 3 days and I was delighted that you all had such a good time. It is especially pleasing to see that you had the opportunity to avail of a lot of the facilities we have to offer, especially the complimentary Talbot TIger Kids Club. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We got a two night deal with two dinners included which was a great deal. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were very friendly. The room was lovely and more spacious than we expected. It was an added bonus that there was live music in the bar both nights (Saturday and Sunday). The act on Sunday night were particularly good . The food was good and the view from the restaurant is really scenic. We also had a great view of Carlow town from our room on the third floor. The only one drawback was a smell in the corridor but this is a very minor point and I wouldn't hesitate coming here again.

Room Tip: get a room with a view on the third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eoin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Eoin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable time and I am sure that all of the team would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words. It was great to see you had the chance to enjoy our live entertainment that we have four nights per week.

Thank you once again for the time you taken to write and for your positive feedback. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel has everything that we wanted in a hotel lovely rooms great food top class swimming pool and gym.friendly staff. And beautiful countryside. If you like a game of golf Carlow golf club is only ten minutes drive away. Carlow town is a beautiful town to visit.highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Pat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and your kind words relating to the food and staff in particular. We have a huge variety of activities and a wealth of tourist sites close by and the Talbot Carlow is an ideal base from which to enjoy them all.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and thank you once more for your time in writing.

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We got married on Friday 23rd may 2014 & we could not fault the talbot from start to finish just amazing all the guest were talking bout the professional service all night and how nice and plentiful the food was and such good value I would recommend the talbot to anyone for their wedding 100% satisfied x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Alison & Michael,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review on your recent wedding at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our absolute pleasure to share your special day with you and your guests. I was delighted to read your comments and I know I can speak for everyone here at the Talbot Carlow when I say a huge thank you for your kind words.

May I also take this opportunity to wish yourself & Michael a lifetime of health and happiness and we hope to see you back in the Talbot very soon.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had our sons first holy communion in the talbot, the room was amazing food was lovely and staff couldn't do enough to help we stayed the night and throughout our stay standards never dropped once the kids went swimming and had a great time the breakfast was beautiful could not fault this hotel and will be bookin my daughters confirmation there for next year well done !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeholden0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent experience here at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had such a great stay and it was our pleasure sharing in the special day. It was also great to see that you intend to book your daughters confirmation for next year where I am sure we will exceed your expectations.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back and I hope that you get the chance to return before the confirmation next year.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
603 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: $75 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's longest serving four star hotel located 5 minutes’ drive from the town centre only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favourites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Talbot Fitness Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. . A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music in Corries Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing