We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just back from a great 3 day triple treat deal with this hotel have to say firstly what a great deal it is 3 nights B&B and 3 evening meals kids go free with breakfast just pay for their dinner ,great value ! We really did enjoy our stay as a family of 4 .The staff were really nice and hotel was really clean and food was nice. The only two things I would say that wasn't great was the internet you get 24 hours free and then you need to buy vouchers and with a teenager it can work out very expensive !Its the first hotel I have been in that you have to pay for internet .And secondly we were in room 218 and at night the music in the bar got very loud ,I didn't complain to the hotel about this I just bought ear plugs for us all and it was grand couldn't hear a thing ,so if you are going with young kids ask for a room not over the bar but have to say this wouldn't stop me from staying in the hotel again ,The staff go out of their way to please and nothing is too much trouble .Looking forward to returning again in the near future :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not over the bar .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkearney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and thank you so much on behalf of the entire team for your kind words. I would like to extend my apologies for any inconvenience caused regarding the WiFi, however, we have recently upgraded the Bitbuzz facility which now allows vouchers to be used just once and will last for the duration of your stay. I am unsure as to the charge you refer to for use of the internet as our WiFi is and always has been complimentary.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you again for your kind words and for your continued custom.

Kind Regards


Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    318
    139
    60
    52
See reviews for
486
321
19
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Myself and my large family have just had a wonderful experience at the Talbot Hotel. I had planned a weekend break for myself and extended family as a birthday celebration. I was panicking trying to co ordinate such a large group but the staff made it so easy. Check in staff were very helpful both before our trip and when we were there. The restaurant served really good food and again the staff were extremely helpful Would definitely reccommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our absolute pleasure for us to look after you and extended family. We were delighted to be able to be a part of the celebrations. I know that I can speak for the entire team here at the Hotel when I say a huge thank you for your kind words.

We hope that its not too long until you visit us again and thank you once again for your time in writing and for your custom.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the email I sent staff before leaving:

Dear Staff

Once again Steve and I are regretfully packing to leave and once again you guys from management to all areas off staff have made it a perfect stay!

The food was delicious, including the breakfast we treated ourselves to in our room. Which was hot, served at the time requested and everything we asked for including some things that wasn't on the room menu. I have to say the qauility of food is top notch through out and 10/10 to the chefs.

The hotel was spotless as usual.  The only issue we had was the shower head that was repaired in the time it took us to have a cappuccino and scrumy home cooked cookies in the bar.

As for the staff, it is just like coming to visit family. From the lovely ladies on reception, Lorraine, Hazel and Lisa. Lorraine greeting us like old friends,  Hazel giving me if not tea plenty of sympathy as I was feeling quite ill with a cold on waking the first morning of our stay.

The fantastic, friendly and efficient bar staff.  Connor,  Madie, Michael and the other guys (sorry if I haven't mentioned you by name) who made our visits to the bar really enjoyable.  Taking the time no matter how busy to chat for a couple of minutes but never leaving anyone waiting.  

Our visit to the restaurant was just as enjoyable. Lastly but not least it is said that the attitude of the staff follows down from the management and this definitely applies here as Ken is one the hardest working and friendliest managers I've ever come across and if I was to choose someone I would like to work with its Ken.

Congratulations on your fab hotel and we look forward to coming again (as soon as we can).

All the best guys,

Teresa and Steve

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank teresabrown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Teresa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, even before you have checked out of the Hotel.

Your kind words are a reminder to us all here at the Hotel why we try so hard to make sure all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable time. I know that the entire team here would like to be associated with my sincere thanks for your feedback.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit and we hope that its not too far into the future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying in the hotel, this is my second night of a 3 night stay. The reason for my stay is due to work in the town. I regularly stay in hotel's due to work. Previously iv worked in 5 star hotels so I can be hard to please.

This hotel has been one of the nicest experiences I have had in a long time and it is all because of the lovely staff in the bar especially Robert and the other guy.

Last night they were so friendly, not the usual uninterested waiters you would normally find in hotels. They made me feel so welcome and came over to chat a few times and kept making sure everything was ok. The best part was when I was finished my meal I ordered a hot chocolate to take to my room. Robert returned with a try consisting of a teapot full of hot chocolate, a cup, biscuits and a jar with marshmallows. This really made my day. Something so simple and unexpected, but made the night special.

I returned to the bar for my dinner again but unfortunately he was off, the other guy was there and again he was brilliant. By the time I was finished the guy must of gone on a break so I ordered my hot chocolate again from the girl but unfortunately no tray and teapot. Nevertheless the hot chocolate was lovely. The food is also amazing for bar food.

Already looking forward to tomorrow nights meal.

The only downside is the accommodation's team. The room was tidied but not the best for attention to detail. The try and thw tea pot were left where I left them. The bed looked thrown together rather than made up.

Other than that I will definitely be back every time I am working here.

Xxx

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Angie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent experiences while staying here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was with huge pride that I read your comment and it was my absolute pleasure sharing your thoughts with the team in the bar, in particular Robert. It is the staff that make the difference to our guests experiences and I was delighted to see that Robert made your stay extra special. He and the rest of the team would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

I have spoken at length with my Accommodation Manager in relation to your observations on your room and I would like to firstly apologise and then to reassure you that this is certainly below our own expected standards and will remain as an isolated incident.

We hope that you have the opportunity to visit us in the near future and thank you again for your custom and for your time in writing.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in the Talbot hotel in Carlow and must say it was a most enjoyable visit. We stayed for 3 nights and had dinner and breakfast and a snack on each day, to which we found the food to be excellent. the staff were friendly and very helpful and found the spa to be very clean and relaxing.
All the four of us WILL be returning and also trying out their sister hotels. Thank you very much for a great break/weekend -------Marc Hynes

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Marc,

Thank you so much for taking the time in writing and posting a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was with great pleasure that I read your comments and thank you so much for the kind words. We are delighted that we all had such a wonderful stay and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the talbot for three nights in feb.. the hotel is lovely! staff are very friendly & helpful! the food is amazing!! i was crutches so asked for a wheelchair friendly room as i would need a walk in shower... the shower was the only downfall to my whole stay!!!
as soon as i switched the water on it sprayed absolutely everywhere by the time i would switch it off the entire bathroom was lik a swimming pool.. for someone unable to walk on two feet out of it was extremely difficult. i had to get my friend to lay out towels across the entire bathroom so i could exit it.. if i had been staying there alone this would have been even worse or if i had allowed my friend to shower first i wouldn be able to enter the bathroom because everywhere was so wet!! so for anyone in need of a walk in shower just make to have plenty of towels at the ready && someone to help you!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments about the food and in particular about the staff. I am very lucky to have the team I do here at the Hotel and is through their continued hard work that we continue have so many repeat guests. I will have my accommodation and maintenance department investigate the issue with the shower in your room. It is not something we have had feedback previously so it is possible that there may be some adjustment needed or replacement shower head required. Thank you for bringing it my attention and I want assure you of my commitment to resolve this.

Thank you once more for your honest and constructive feedback and we very much hope we have a further opportunity in looking after you.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Myself and my partner are just back from a wonderful stay in the talbot this was our fourth visit here. We had another great stay the room was great and the food was first class. The staff are very nice especially Connor in the bar. Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is good for no noise as the kids seem to stay on the first and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Tracy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure to look after you again and I will certainly pass on your comments to Conor. It is great receiving feedback and in particular from such a loyal guest. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow very soon and thank you for your continued custom.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
567 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
111 reviews
18.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Property: Talbot Hotel Carlow
Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing