We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shower issue..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the talbot for three nights in feb.. the hotel is lovely! staff are very friendly & helpful! the food is amazing!! i was crutches so asked for a wheelchair friendly room as i would need a walk in shower... the shower was the only downfall to my whole stay!!!
as soon as i switched the water on it sprayed absolutely everywhere by the time i would switch it off the entire bathroom was lik a swimming pool.. for someone unable to walk on two feet out of it was extremely difficult. i had to get my friend to lay out towels across the entire bathroom so i could exit it.. if i had been staying there alone this would have been even worse or if i had allowed my friend to shower first i wouldn be able to enter the bathroom because everywhere was so wet!! so for anyone in need of a walk in shower just make to have plenty of towels at the ready && someone to help you!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments about the food and in particular about the staff. I am very lucky to have the team I do here at the Hotel and is through their continued hard work that we continue have so many repeat guests. I will have my accommodation and maintenance department investigate the issue with the shower in your room. It is not something we have had feedback previously so it is possible that there may be some adjustment needed or replacement shower head required. Thank you for bringing it my attention and I want assure you of my commitment to resolve this.

Thank you once more for your honest and constructive feedback and we very much hope we have a further opportunity in looking after you.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Myself and my partner are just back from a wonderful stay in the talbot this was our fourth visit here. We had another great stay the room was great and the food was first class. The staff are very nice especially Connor in the bar. Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is good for no noise as the kids seem to stay on the first and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Tracy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure to look after you again and I will certainly pass on your comments to Conor. It is great receiving feedback and in particular from such a loyal guest. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow very soon and thank you for your continued custom.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My partner and I came from Dublin to this hotel for a nice Valentine's getaway. When we arrived, the receptionist was lovely and we had no problems. We went up to our room, 305 and found a red spot on the carpet near the beds, I was concerned about what the red spot was as it could be seen as blood so my partner went down to advise reception. They indicated that they were aware of the situation, said that they had had a hen party crew in a couple of weeks back and that it was simply red hair dye and apologized. My partner returned and I was still uncomfortable so we went to ask for a new room, with no problem from the receptionist. She gave us a new room and we went on our way. Not thinking that it would happen again we went into the room (411) but noticed the same thing, a red spot looking like blood near the beds. At this point we had spent a bit of time traveling, moving rooms already and were keen to get something to eat so we decided we would just stay in the room we were given. So we just briefly mentioned it to the receptionist while we were going to head into have our dinner. The receptionist seemed shocked and wrote down the room numbers and gave us a new room and some cards to get in so that we could check out a room and advised to let her know if it was OK before moving our luggage. We went upstairs to room 310 and THE SAME THING, red spot near the blood. The carpets near the bed are quite dark so we turned around and headed out, laughing that it was possible to be happening in 3 rooms and on two different floors even! While walking out, there was a huge red spot on the lighter carpet that isn't around the beds. At this point we were just shocked, how this could be allowed to happen without giving any notice to the people meaning to stay there. We took a photo for the receptionist and went down. Advised her quickly and showed her the photo and then advised her that we were satisfied with the 2nd room we were given and would stay there for the weekend before heading in to have our dinner. Bistro food was decent, not amazing but enjoyable nonetheless and reasonably priced (2 courses for 17 euro). We then headed to the room for the night as we were knackered. I have to say that the beds are old, the mattresses are sagging in the middle and we noticed this in all of the rooms that we were in. Also, our bathroom door was broken. It didn't properly close and we couldn't lock it or close it without a lot of effort.

We slept alright enough considering the noise from the bistro downstairs from some kind of disco music. We were so tired it didn't matter much to be honest.

The next morning we got up and got ready. We had a lot of difficulty with our shower as we had no problem turning the dial to get it to go hotter but it was an absolute effort to get it to be to a more moderate temperature after pushing it too far to the hot side.

The breakfast was decent. A lot of choice and all you can eat. Nothing to cry home about but not to be sniffed at either.

We went out into the town for a bit and then came back and went into the leisure center to go for a swim. Thankfully we brought swimming caps with us because you needed to wear them. (I'm from Canada originally so this isn't a common thing for us). The pool seemed clean enough but it was quite small. The hot tub, steam room and sauna were enjoyable but I felt like they were a bit crowded (not the hot tub as my partner and I simply shared this on our own). A good time though considering.

Afterward we went and got ready for dinner that we were having in their Tree Restaurant in the hotel. I have to say this is probably one of the best meals I have ever had in a restaurant that I can remember while being in a hotel. Absolutely delicious! The staff were really great considering we probably had 5 different people serve us. There was a bit of mix up with things - we got our starters with no problem but someone brought us our desserts before we had even had our mains and tried to give us another tables mains. We did wait a bit of time between courses but they were exceptional. All the food was fresh, hot and absolutely tasty.

Afterward we had a beer in the bar downstairs, good pint. The entertainment was a bit old for our tastes on a Saturday night but it was a nice atmosphere and a lot less busy than the Friday of Valentine's day.

Certainly enjoyed the check out of 12PM and another decent breakfast the next morning, even though it was really busy on Sunday morning.

The receptionist at the main desk apologized again to my partner as he checked out regarding the room situations.

Overall, we had a really great weekend away. The only thing I would suggest is making your reception staff aware of rooms that perhaps could be a bit stressing to guests. Walking into a room with a bit splotch of what appears to be blood is a not a comforting thing to see in a hotel by any means considering the past events in the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLnRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

May I extend my apologies to you and your partner for any upset or inconvenience caused. I want to re assure you that the issues you raised will be addressed in a timely manner. Having spoken to both my Accommodation Manager and my Maintenance team, they too would like to be associated with my apologies for our shortcomings.

I would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind words in relation to our food and the staff here at the Hotel. We all work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy a friendly and welcoming atmosphere in the Hotel. I was delighted to note that you both had a very enjoyable weekend overall.

Thank you once again for your time in writing and for your honest and constructive feedback. I hope that it is not too long before we have a further opportunity to look after you.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Travelled with husband and 2 daughters (aged 9) on the exceptional value Triple Treat Deal. We stayed for three nights. To single out one thing about the hotel would be unfair as everything in the hotel was fantastic - food, pool, rooms, gym, location, quality of sleep, cleanliness, - the hotel for me ticked every box.

The staff in the hotel are amazing - Gala (breakfast bar) and Robyn (Corries Bar) were just so nice. Catherine was lovely especially with my daughters, who were both in awe of Catherine's balancing techniques - (they want to return asap to see Catherine again!!!)

We experienced a power cut during our stay (as well as a wind, rain and snow storm!!) but this just added to our hotel experience - the staff and management were amazing.

Looking forward to our next visit xxx

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rourked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was with great pleasure that I read your comments and I know I can speak for those you have singled out for mention when I say a huge thank you for your kind words. It was a difficult time with the violent storms and thank you so much for your patience and understanding during the period we were without power.

Thank you once again and we hope its not too long until we see you again and I will make sure Catherine keeps practicing her balancing skills.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

thanks to Lorraine all the staff in the Talbot Hotel
for a wounder full weekend stay the service was fast and good ..the food was fantastic 1st class
the room was so romantic :) .... looking forward to a ret visit soon :)
kind reg may and pat from Naas

Room Tip: ask form Lorraine she will look after you for sure such a lovely lady and will go out of her way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear May & Pat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure looking after you both and I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable time. It is always great to get such positive feedback and it always gives me great pleasure passing it on to the team here at the Hotel.

We are very much looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you once again for your kind words and for your custom.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently during a terrible storm and there was a power cut. I was impressed with the staff who remained friendly, patient and understanding especially with a few difficult patrons. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast was lovely.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank PazBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and to note that you had an enjoyable stay. It was indeed a very violent storm and the power cut was an added challenge to the team here at the Talbot. It is always great to get such positive feedback and in particular under such circumstances and I know that all the staff here would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the very near future where hopefully you can enjoy a storm free stay.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

recently we stayed in the Talbot Hotel Carlow and we had such an enjoyable time .
The Staff we excellent , friendly.and professional.
The room was very clean , spacious and comfortable.
The food was excellent.
Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucykealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and to note that your stay was such an enjoyable one. I know I can speak of behalf of the entire team here at the Hotel when I say thank you for your kind words.

We hope its not too long before you have another chance to visit us and thank you once again for your custom.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
605 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
118 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: $70 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's longest serving four star hotel located 5 minutes’ drive from the town centre only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favourites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Talbot Fitness Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. . A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music in Corries Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing