We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My brother sisters and our kids all stayed here just after New years this year. Absolutely brilliant, the facilities are very good, the hotel is warm clean and comfortable and the staff are really friendly and patient. Good value for money too and we will definitely be back, thanks

Room Tip: See if you can get aroom with a view of the rolling hills, rather than the car park
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was great to see that you and your extended family all had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. I will pass your kind words onto the team here at the Hotel, whom I know would like to be associated with my thanks for such comments.

We hope that you and all the rest of the family have the chance to visit us again soon and thank you again for your time in writing and for your custom.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Talbot Hotel Carlow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Myself and my Husband recently had our wedding in the Talbot Hotel Carlow, the food was excellent, the management and staff couldn't do enough for us and really made our day so special, they also made our guests feel special too. The detail and the co-ordination of all staff was excellent, waiting staff had white gloves on showing the high standard of hygiene that the hotel demands from its staff. A five star rating for this hotel management and staff is not high enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Fiona & Ronan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent wedding reception you held with us in December.

It was our absolute pleasure to be able to share your special day with both of you. It makes all our hard work worthwhile when we get feedback such as yours and I know that it will put a huge smile on the faces of everyone that was involved. It always gives us great satisfaction knowing that not just you both, but all of your close family & friends had such an enjoyable and memorable day with us.

Thank you so much again and may I extend, on behalf of everyone in the Talbot Carlow, a huge congratulations to you both and wish you a happy & healthy life together.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here with my three children for two nights. We were very well looked after and the staff were more than accommodating to ensure everything ran smoothly.
The children had great fun in the pool which is 1.2m deep with no deep end so my 7 & 9 yr olds were always in their depth and the 3yr old was happy to play in the small kiddie pool area.
All-in-all a great success.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Becon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent family stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure having you and your family here and I was delighted to read that all had such a fantastic time. I know the staff would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

Hope that its not too long before you get the chance to come and stay with us again.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

i go to this hotel any time i am in carlow for food and i am never disapointed . the food is first class, even in the carvery which i am not a fan of normally ,but i arrived late one day at the end of the carvery and the food was still fresh and hot and the staff were over and above friendly and helpfull every time we were there ,even ordering food not on the menu. i would not think twice about recamending this hotel

Room Tip: i only went to this hotel for food and did not stay there
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Martin,

Many thanks for your time in writing your review and for your kind words. We are delighted to be able to accommodate all our guests in being as flexible as possible. It is great for all the team when their efforts are recognised and that guests, like yourself, post such positive feedback. It will my pleasure in passing this on to the team in the bar and the kitchen.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One night stay. Lovely large room on third floor. We had a very nice late lunch in the bar on arrival. Bar staff were very efficient. We didn't use the gym but we did use the swimming pool early next morning. Seems to be popular with local members. Maybe this could be a problem in the summer time as the pool isn't that large and the children's pool is tiny.
Breakfast served between 7 - 10 and quite varied, although didn't see any fresh fruit but that could have been because we arrived quite close to ten!
Our room was very warm and comfortable. There is free parking. Rooms aren't available until 4 pm. We arrived early and the Receptionist was very helpful and we got our room nearly immediately.
We found all the staff very welcoming and friendly and overall we had a very positive experience. As we were visiting family we didn't have an evening meal in the dining room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryEC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent overnight stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was with great pleasure that I read your comments and thank you most sincerely for your kind words. I was delighted to see that you had the opportunity to experience a number of the different facilities we have in the hotel during your short stay and hopefully on your next visit you will be in a position to stay a little longer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed in the hotel and as usual a great break. Lorraine gave us a good deal so my sister decided to join us with her family too. Large clean rooms, food always fab in restaurant. And all the staff exceptional , my only gripe is the wifi internet, its painful to connect to, it needs a more user friendly system. But we always recommend hotel and are sure to be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ltarpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was a pleasure looking after you all and great that some of your extended family could join you. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and I know they will be delighted with your comments. We are continuously looking at our WiFi and have very recently enhanced the facility to allow guests login once per visit instead of the previous per day system.

Thank you so much again for your time in writing and for your continued custom. We hope its not too long before we see you back in the Talbot Carlow.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Myself, husband and my two kids 9 & 5 stayed for one night over Christmas and I have to say it was excellent. When we arrived we had a very quick check then when we got to our room it was lovely and warm, we then went to the bar and had a lovely meal, the waiter was a young man very hospitable and very good at his job. The hotel provided a kids club between 7 & 8.45 in the evening and again in the morning from 11 till 12.30 followed by a supervised swim for kids allowing adults to have a swim and use amenities around the pool. The salon does hairdressing and has a beautician which was lovely. The breakfast was buffet, also excellent. The only thing I would say is that the bed wasn't very comfortable and the drink in the bar was very expensive. But overall a lovely stay. The bonus for the kids is having the dome next door.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareMcG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Clare,

Many thanks for your time in writing a review on your most recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and to note that had an opportunity to avail of most of the facilities we have on offer here at the Hotel, including the Dome located right next door. I hope that we see you back in the Talbot Carlow very soon and thank you once again for your time and for your custom.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
589 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
18.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: $95 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing