We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Castlecomer
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Meet up with friends from Dublin now and then we choose to meet in this so called 4* hotel. Well i have stayed in many hotels around the world, If this is a 4* hotel we are deluding ourselves in Ireland. I ordered a Steak of the Bar menu, the waitress asked how would i like it cooked i requested a Blue steak she returned to inform me we don't do Blue steaks here so i asked for it to rare it came out over cooked and dry, totally tasteless, the veg was cooked to within a inch of soft pulp, I won't meet my friends in The Talbot ever again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGCastlecomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience of dining in Corries Bar.

I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and I apologise if there was any upset or inconvenience caused. I was very surprised to read your remarks about the bar food as it is an area we receive a lot of positive feedback about. I will speak to both the Head Chef and the Bar Manager in order to determine what happened on this occasion and to take the necessary course of action to ensure that this is not repeated in the future.

I truly hope that you may re consider and give the Hotel a further opportunity to restore your faith in the quality of product and service we aim to provide. Thank you once more for your honest and constructive feedback and your time in writing.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    326
    149
    64
    52
See reviews for
501
333
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel in Carlow. Excellent sized room for a family (2+2) and the free wi-fi went down very well with the kids. Swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi plus a gymnasium were just what we needed for a relaxing two night stay. Food was very good in the restaurant and I felt it was good value overall. Just a short walk to the town and there is a bowling alley next door. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pommypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay here during the school holidays at Halloween.

I was delighted to read that you all had such a wonderful time and that the hotel was able to provide everything you needed for your short break. I was delighted to see that you had the chance to avail of the many facilities both here in the Hotel and close by.

I hope its not too long until we have the chance in looking after you all again and thank you once more for your time and your feedback.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is basic and I thought at 135euros was expensive for one night B/B I expected better food and room for this money. However, it was the only place that was available to us. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was also a childrens club from 7 till 9 which was wonderful.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not over the bar/area as the noise of the music stopped us sleeping. The staff wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Aine,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to your stay and I would like to apologise if you felt we did nit meet your expected standards. It was great to read that you had the opportunity to avail of the complimentary kids club and that you found all the staff in the hotel to be helpful and friendly.

I hope that we may have a future opportunity to look after you here at the Talbot and thank you again for your honest and constructive feedback.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stay just one night at the hotel while visiting the Santa train experience just over a week ago. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and very welcoming to children. The room we perfect in size for five of us. They we're very a accommodating to our needs. The only issue I had was that the room had a smell of smoke from it and the smoke alarm had been covered.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auds32d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your recent overnight stay with us here at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and that all of the staff made you feel welcome. Delighted that the whole family were comfortable in our large bedrooms and hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A brilliant stay was had by all the family. The staff working in all areas of the hotel were outstanding and made all of us feel welcome. The food was very tasty and there was a great variety of food. The swimming pool was lovely

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbrut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review on your recent short stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure looking after you and I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing time. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the very near future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night and we brought our daughter with us to go on the Santa Train the following day. The hotel was very welcoming and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Rooms were bright, comfortable and very spacious.
A great stay overall and would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Carlow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience here at the Talblt Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure looking after you and I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the experience in Rathwood at the Santa Train. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future when hopefully you will able to enjoy the rest of the amenities that the Hotel and surrounding area have on offer.

Thank you again and hope its not too long until you return.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just spent one night at the Talbot, two adults and two children and had a great time. The kids enjoyed the kids club that evening. The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially Lisa on reception. The swimming pool was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure looking after you and I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable time and great to see the kids could avail of the complimentary Tiger Kids Club. I know that Lisa will be delighted that you have singled her out for a mention and I am sure she would like to be associated with my thanks.

We are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Talbot Carlow in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
585 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
116 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Property: Talbot Hotel Carlow
Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing