We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hen party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hen party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just back from staying at this lovely hotel for my sisters hen party...The rooms were spotless clean spacious modern yet warm..The staff were diligent, efficiant, courteous and extermely friendly and helpful..Dinner in the restaurant was top class and breakfast buffet with all tastes catered for...Could'nt find fault even if I wanted to...Real value for money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neevyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear neevyg,

Thank you so much for taking the timeto write a review on your recent your stay with us at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read that yourself and the rest of your group had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you all back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    315
    137
    59
    51
See reviews for
479
320
18
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just back from spending 3 nights Bed & Breakfast and 3 Evening meals at the Talbot Hotel, Carlow with my daughter and grandson. We had a wonderful time. The breakfast was very good but the dinners on all three nights were to die for. The food was sumtuous and the waiting staff were excellent. My 4 year old grandson attended the childrens club every morning and had a great time, giving his mother a break. He loved the two girls Aoife and her colleague who entertained the children. The rooms were comfortable and very clean.

We had no complaints about the service or the staff. Three nights B&B and three evening meals sharing a room was Euro 150.00per person but because we had two rooms the cost was Euro 229.00 per room because of the single supplement. I felt this charge was a bit much. This was the only downside of our break. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairemarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear clairemarkey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and will certainly be passing them on to the rest of the team here at the Hotel. It is great to note that your children had such fun in our kids club and that you all had an enjoyable stay.

We hopr to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Talbot in the very near future and thank you once again for your time and kind words.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford, ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

stayed in july 2012. fine big size rooms. child friendly.. food was fantastic, could not fault it and staff were so polite and so helpful. fine sized swimming pool and paddling pool for babies the girl on the reception desk was quick to come assist me in our room when we had problems connecting to the internet, so a big thank you to her. so many amenties to visit nearby for children that they will never be bored.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear jacqui w,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review based on your recent short stay with us.

I was delighted to read your comments and I will be sure to pass them on to the team. It was great to read that you were able to avail of some of the facilities we have on offer and we hope that you are able to make it back to stay again soon.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just back from a 3 night break with 2 small kids and we were very impressed with the hotel. From the minute we went into reception the staff were extremely helpful, we arrived at 2pm and had booked 2 rooms, both were ready and we could check in immediately. We had dineer included in our price and the food was really nice in the restaurant as was the breakfast each morning, there was a fantastic choice on the breakfast buffet. The kids had a fantastic time at the kids club and again the staff could not have been nicer, they had great patience with all the little ones. We used the gym while there and thought it was very well equipped. Overall the staff were extremely helpful and the only negative we could possibly come up with was the bar staff serving Guinness in a Heineken glass which causes it to go flat :-( Overall I would definately recommend this hotel, its easy to get to, nicely decorated, fantastic kids club and very pleasant food & staff, well done Talbot!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear whacker77,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your recent visit to us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and I would like to extend my thanks on behalf of all of the team here at the Hotel. Its great to see that our younger guests had such a great time at the kids club and that you were all able to enjoy the facilities in our leisure centre. I will speak with my Bar Manager in relation to the incorrect glassware being used in Corries and introduce the necessary corrective training required.

Thank you again for your time and your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Cralow in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed in June 2012 with a group of friends. Room was clean and spacious, bathroom a little small but perfectly functional. Lunch and dinner in the bar were both excellent, staff very friendly and service was good. Journey to town centre was only about 5 mins by car. Breakfast buffet was a little disappointing, the food had been sitting out quite a while and it showed!
Overall though, had a good experience with this hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivers2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Shivers8585,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and in particular the kind words you had for the staff here at the Hotel. I am sure I can speak for them when I pass on my thanks. I will speak with the head chef in relation to the comments relating to breakfast and I would like to offer my apologies if you felt that it was not up to the high standards you experienced for your other meals.

Thank you again for your time and your honest feedback and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hotel is very good, nice spacious modern clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms are excellent, clean and modern, which is always a plus. Inside the foyer the hotel is well presented, bright and airy. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Only negative is the WiFi, it's that Bitbuzz crap and you need to get a code from the desk, after creating an account of course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear brimit,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent short stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I note your comments in relation to our WiFi service and we will certainly take this on board.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future and thank you once again for the time taken to write your review.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
18.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Property: Talbot Hotel Carlow
Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing