We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of The Clink

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clink
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights 1/3 January so just back .Got the grabone deal at 65euros for two including breakfast and 4 course dinner we booked 2nd nigth for 65 including breakie wow what a fab dea,l food was great hugh portions served by very plesent staff. Particulary the young barman from Dublin he could,nt have done more for us and always with a smile.It was very quiet but that was expected and why we went to Carlow so we could just relax.The location of hotel is great so near to the main street with many bars and restaurants so at a differant time of the year if you wanted to stay out and about late into the night i,m sure Carlow would deliver.Carlow was bigger than we expected and was a nice surprise and the locals were very friendly.

Room Tip: rooms at front a bit noisy due to traffic, so a room away from front of hotel would be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanfitz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at The Clink, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, our Dublin barman was very happy with your comments ;) its great to receive positive feedback and yes our Grab One deal is fantastic value.... we do aim to please.We look forward to welcoming you back to Carlow and maybe this time you can sample the night life it has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borris, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here on sat 9/11/2013 very easy and plesant check in staff all very nice.stayed in room 102 was a bit noisy because its facing the street but that didnt bother us at all. Missed out on our 4 course meal as my partner came down with the winter bug shortly after arriving at hotel so that was disappointing as I was looking forward to the meal after hearing how nice the food is in the hotel. I stupidly left my phone on windows ledge outside hotel (put it down to fix my shoe n never picked it back up) but a lovely member of staff found it and gave it to my partner for me. Breakfast lovely overall a nice hotel with lovely staff would go back again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiexoxoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at The Clink, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are happy you enjoyed your stay, how unfortunate for your partner to get the vomiting bug though, we hope you come back to visit us soon so you can sample the food, and enjoy our hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on the 8th of November with 5 ladies. We bought the deal on grab one for 65 euro base on 2 sharing b/b including 3 course meal. The girls thought it was to good to be true....but I must say they did not disappoint us.. Every one was lovely... from the gorgeous bar man who looks like Paul....my friend Monica's son....to the girls serving our breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious.. This is all you need for a break away from home and fantastic bars to visit in Carlow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

stayed here on 3/11/13 staff were excellent very friendly and helpful hotel while not a 4 or 5 star was very clean rooms were great had all you would need for a break away the food was brill and service very good carlow town has plenty going on very busy on a saturday night some fantastic bars to visit will be back for more soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaellynagh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the courthouse last weekend for my friends hens we had a great weekend!! The staff were all very helpful especially Caroline the manager she couldn't do enough for us! It's a perfect place to stay for a hens/stags weekend! We stayed in the pub all night on Saturday because there was karaoke & the place was really busy we had a brill night!! Very reasonably priced & a great location walking distance to everything:)
Thanks a million to all the great staff for looking after 25 crazy girls so much!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel on a deal, the staff were so friendly and helpful, so welcoming, the food was really nice, good portions and very tasty, fantastic value for money, great location. Will definitely be staying in the Courthouse again, thanks guys

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just spent two nights in The Courthouse. This hotel scores five stars for service, location and food. The hotel itself is basic but everything else makes up for this. In saying that the hotel is clean and tidy and very comfortable. We had a room away from the main street so noise definitely wasn't a problem. The staff are really top class and we found the food gorgeous! If you like Thai green curry this is the place to eat it. I would go back for that alone! If you want a stay in a centrally located place with great service and lovely food then this is the place for you. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main street if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 870marianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at The Clink, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, hopefully we will be seeing you again shortly,

Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
1.9 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
0.1 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
585 reviews
9.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
11.2 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clink

Property: The Clink
Address: 38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland (Formerly Courthouse Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing