We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Staff Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Staff Ever”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hi,
We are a group of bridge players, and a group of 19 of us recently travelled down to the Woodford Dolmen Hotel in Carlow. The hotel gave us a great deal for an overnight stay with Dinner, and we were delighted with the experience. The food was great, the bar prices reasonable, and the rooms were very comfortable and spacious. In particular though I have to mention the staff, who were absolutely fantastic, they were good humoured and extremely helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. We will definitely be heading back to Carlow.

Richard Kiernan
795 Sarto Park
Bayside
Dublin 13

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Richard K

Thanks a million for your review of our hotel. Customer feedback is a top priority for us here as it offer us the opportunity to improve on the areas that our customers see fit. It's great to read such nice compliments about the different departments and especially about our staff..... Mary, a member of our reservations, team told me about the sing-song in the lobby and mentioned that there were some fantastic signers aswell as bridge players in your group!!!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and maybe you'll bring some instruments the next time!

Thanks again Richard K,
Colin Duggan- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    140
    60
    19
    21
See reviews for
155
161
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had my sisters hen party last night Saturday night in Carlow and we staying in the woodford Dolmen hotel, the reservations staff at the hotel were excellent, they were always there to assist with any queries or advise that i needed the past few months, The Hotel was fabulous and the staff were so friendly and willing to assist in anyway they could. They made our stay so pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We had dinner at the hotel also and it was absolutely beautiful and the service was fantastic. Would Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazoct1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Mazoct1979

Thanks a million for your 5 star review... We appreciate our customers feedback here at the Woodford Dolmen as it offers the opportunity for improvement.
I was delighted to read that yourself, your sister and all the hens had a great time! I will pass on your compliment to the girls on our reservations team and to the staff working last weekend.

Thanks again Mazoct1979 and we would love to welcome you girls back again soon.... maybe for a 'hen party anniversary'!!!

Regards,
Colin Duggan- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel is located just off the main road in a quiet surroundings. We arrived in the afternoon with our 2 kids and the receptionist at check in was very nice,check in was fast. Our room was huge and clean.Double & 2 Single beds with lots of space for kids to run & play.
Bathroom was very big too.
We went to the restaurant for our meal. Service was amazing. I don't remember waiters name,but he was blond and worked 5/06 evening he was really really good. Food was delicious and very well presented on the plate.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Again waiter at breakfast was very good and real gentleman (I think he was Indian). Check out was quick too.
I saw they had some gardens around,but unfortunately we had no time to go for a walk.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anka323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Anka323

Many thanks for your 5 star review. Customer feedback is so important to us and it is rewarding to read a review as complimentary as your's. Our team work so hard to ensure that every customer experience is the best it can be and I was delighted to read that you were so pleased by it.

I will pass on your compliments to the staff members mentioned and may I suggest a returning visit later this year to experience our gardens in their variety of Autumn colours- a sight worth seeing!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Woodford Dolmen Hotel,

Colin Duggan- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Brought 27 Family members & Friends here for Dinner on the day of my Daughter's Confirmation.
From start to finish the Food that was served was superb & the staff all seemed to be well tutored as to how they could make it an enjoyable occasion for their Guests.
Anything that was requested was promptly provided with a smile.
There was "Free" entertainment provided later on that afternoon for the Kids in a large Ballroom adjoining the Lobby and this allowed the Adults to relax in the comfort of the Armchairs in the spacious Lobby while catching up on times past.
We had priced several Hotels in Carlow & Kilkenny prior to our Daughter's big day & i honestly don't see how any of them could better the package that was provided by The Dolmen Hotel.
In these troubled & difficult times when so many Hotels in this Country seem to have completely lost their sense of direction & are struggling as a result, it was a breath of fresh air to have a day out in an Irish Hotel where we were all made to feel special on my Daughter's big day.
Well done to the Management who are running the Hotel & to all their wonderful Staff (Except for the Muppet behind the Bar who used the "F" word in front of my Wife & Daughter). Congratulations & keep up the good work.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dabudgetmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi dabudgetmix,

Many thanks for your recent review and for choosing us to help celebrate your daughter's Confirmation day. I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of our food & service and will send compliments to the team who worked effortlessly in order to make your visit so special. Also, it was nice to see that the children enjoyed our Family Fun Day bouncy castle & face-painting and understand that it is the little things like this that make the day run smoother for all involved.
I am shocked to read the last comment about the staff member but I assure you that this is not the norm and the issue has been addressed with the relevant parties.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave the review and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Woodford Dolmen Hotel.

Regards,
Colin Duggan- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porcupine Plain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent our first night in Ireland here.....loved the welcome of candlelight and fresh flowers.....excellent meal and service in the restaurant......beautiful walk down to the river and thru the grounds.....room was dated but comfortable and very clean.....after a great night's sleep we again had a good breakfast with excellent service in the restaurant....then came the best of service....when we went to pay there was an unexpected issue with our credit card (not something you want first day of your holiday)....thank you to Jackie, Katrina and Clare who spent a good portion of their morning helping to clear things up with Visa.....it really was "grand"....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Dawn H,

It was lovely to read your 5 star review and see such nice thing said about our hotel. We take pride in our contemporary setting and 10 acres of land and therefore it was rewarding to read that you were so pleased by it. Our girls on reception are often so highly reviewed for their friendly personalities and helpful manner and I was delighted to hear that your issue had been sorted without any major delays to your holiday.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Woodford Dolmen Hotel,

Regards,
Colin Duggan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed here recently for a wedding function to which i was bridesmaid & what a fantastic service , the attention to detail was amazing and even do i booked the room a year ago any time i rang with a query the staff were so nice and willing to do anything to help. And on the day of the wedding reception staff were more than helpful & always smiling .
Rooms were spacious and no noise at all.
The food was fab and the service was so proffesional and freindly.
What a great athmosphere on the Sunday, lots going , would highly recommend .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi caz813,

Thanks a million for your 5 star review from your recent stay with us. Delighted to read your great comments about the wedding celebrations. The team always works very hard here in order to make every couples special day as perfect as it can be and it's always nice to see that our effort is notice in these reviews.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Woodford Dolmen Hotel,

Regards,
Colin Duggan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Dropped in as half way point on a recent trip. Hotel itself was busy, it was Sunday lunchtime. There was a good buzz with an Irish Dancing competition and a family funday (all free) which looked like a great idea. We stayed for lunch with was nice, very quick service. The hotel I found to be clean but overall looks like it needs a revamp. Staff stood out to me as very attentive and focused on offering a good customer experience. I understand a revamp is on the way so look forward to seeing that in due course.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi chiefernan
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on your lunch experience with us.
Our staff are well renowned & praised by our guests & visitors alike for their friendly efficient way & we are very aware of the great asset they are to us as a business but it is lovely for them to read your kind comments here about their customer service skills so thank you for posting this.
Every Sunday is Funday here at Woodford Dolmen Hotel so kids are entertained with an indoor bouncy castle & facepainting, while parents get to relax & enjoy their Sunday lunch so I hope your family availed of these fun free activities.
As you say we are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme & redecorating all area's of the hotel with our Wedding ballroom & a number of our bedrooms complete now but I welcome you & your family back again to see the full extent of the changes over the coming year.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Woodford Dolmen Hotel again soon
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Property: Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing