We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

15 women stayed here for a hen night a couple of weeks and ago and we all mostly had a nice stay. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave us all the info we needed. Some of us were more happy with the rooms than others, some rooms were quite small and extremely stuffy but the one I happened to be staying in was perfect.
We had dinner in the hotel and the food was great, as were our servers. Breakfast the following morning was fine too.
Hotel could do with a bit of a revamp, reception and rooms are a little dated. Other than that we didn't have any reason to complain!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roshbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi roshbud,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent hen party stay with us. Delighted to read that overall your group enjoyed your time with us & I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Woodford Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Woodford Dolmen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 557 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a family wedding, this place is horrendous for the money.
Carpets not tacked down properly, ripped wallpaper, springs digging into back in the double bed.
For the money it's a completely disgusting place to stay, while I understand their in the middle of a refurb the price we paid should have reflected that but it didn't, the 70's retro carpets and old fashioned furniture are just horrible. The hotel are more interested in making money from the wedding and the Irish dancing competition which were on,
The food however was lovely, actually can not fault it.
If we had known that there were other hotels close by we wouldn't have stayed here, avoid unless you want to gamble that you'll get a nice room.
Would not return for anything.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jmcwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi Jmcwitch
It means a lot to us when guests take the time to leave a review of their experience here as we value all feedback in helping us improve & maintain standards within the hotel. I'm happy to read your comment about our wedding food & am glad your enjoyed your family celebration with us.
I do feel you have been a little unfair to us in your description of our decor though, while I acknowledge & other reviews agree some area's are a bit dated but as you are aware we are currently undertaking a full refurbishment programme so the issues with "retro" carpets or furnishings is not something that will be experienced by future guests.
I hope if your back in Ireland again you will visit us to see our newly rebranded & decorated hotel.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Staff very friendly, hotel very comfortable, will definitely stay again, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and look forward to returning. This trip was business hopefully next time will be pleasure to explore the beautiful grounds and have more time to relax

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine531 s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi Christine531 s
Thank you for your 5 star rating & high recommendation to others based on your recent stay with us, we very much appreciate you leaving this here for others to see.
It's a pity you didn't the chance to enjoy a stroll through our gardens or get the chance to take in the scenic views along our riverwalk on this stay but we look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully you'll get more time to experience what Carlow & the Woodford Dolmen Hotel has to offer to visitors.
Thanks again for your lovely review,
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and had a fantastic time. The overall experience was wonderful. The ambience was lovely, with every effort made from the staff to ensure we had a brilliant day.
The friendly staff, the food and the professional manner in which every task was seen to made for a brillaint day.
We stayed in room 135, which had a lovely view and was nice and quiet. The rooms need updating but were very clean, warm and had excellent water pressure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Superson,
Just reading your lovely review here & want to say thank you for giving us another 5 star rating. I'm happy to read you had a great time at the wedding celebration with us & that you experienced our friendly staff & warm welcome we are renowned for. I hope you will come back to stay in one of our newly redecorated & refurbished bedrooms which will all be updated over the coming months as part of our rebrand & upgrade to the 4 star Woodford Dolmen Hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Was at a wedding here recently and had a very enjoyable day. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the room we stayed in was very nice, but the best part was the food it was really good and there was plenty of it and the serving staff came back to the table with more meat, more veg, more potatoes. All in all a great day. There is just one issue and it's a minor thing but it does let them down, at breakfast the following morning there were a number of dishes that needed to revisit the dishwasher, and having to pick through dishes before breakfast is off-putting. Other than that I couldn't fault the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezerbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi Jezerbel,
Thank you for your great 5 star rating of your recent wedding stay & celebration with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time here & especially the food & service you experienced. I'm sorry to read you comments about the breakfast dishes & I have passed this back to our Food & Beverage manager to look into it & see if there was a problem with the dishwasher or something as this would certainly not be up to our normal high standards...thank you for highlighting this with me.
I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent the night in the Dolmen after a friends wedding. The staff service was excellent from the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out but there are a couple of things that need to be addressed. We stayed in room 130. The bedrooms need to be soundproofed. At one stage it sounded like there were a herd of elephants in the room above ours. There was a lot of noise in the corridor too and could be clearly heard in the bedroom because of the sizable gap under the door to the bedroom.The carpets in the corridor outside the bedroom needs to be adjusted, it was lifting at the door and both myself and my partner tripped exiting the room. one more small item that irritated the pair of us was that after we had closed the curtains the room was still quite bright because of a light shining outside, perhaps new lining should be added to the curtains? The staff service has made me give this hotel an average rating rather than poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahH588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi SarahH588
Thank you for leaving a review here on your stay with us as a wedding guest & for your lovely kind comments about our wedding team & staff in general..we are very lucky to have such an excellent, friendly & efficient team working here & this is commented on time & time again in our reviews.
In regards to your comment about the bedroom & hallways as part of our new rebrand & upgrade programme underway since mid Jan this year we are currently working on all the bedroom & hallways redecorating & refurbishing these including new carpets & soft furnishings including the curtains so I hope these little things will not affect you staying with us again.
I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to our refurbished & redecorated Woodford Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Driving from Dublin was a breeze, easy access to motorway! Upon arrival into the car park, we were unsure of which door was the entrance to reception, we chose the wrong one! So maybe a little sign would of helped. We checked in with a warm welcoming and news that we were bumped up to a suite because it was my girlfriends birthday and they had the Blarney suite free. We got up there in less than a minute, well posted to see where we were going. The suite was amazing and a box of Butlers chocolates greeted us (the little things) Big Flat screen TV, very clean carpet (cream, which is a night mare to keep spotless) plenty of towels, beautiful bed. The décor was nice, very romantic! Then to top it off there was a Jacuzzi bathtub :) I have to say you guys ticked all the boxes and made it a roaring success. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and the evening meal was perfect, a steak!! Great service!

Room Tip: Ask if the suites are free that night you pick!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Shane C
Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5 star rating of your recent stay with us, delighted to read that both yourself & your girlfriend enjoyed your time with us & I'm glad the little touches we were able to offer in terms of your upgrade & chocs in the room helped to make the occasion special for you both.
Thanks again for your comments & we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us here again.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
589 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: $71 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing