We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated but a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Headford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A bit dated but a lovely place”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night. It was a room only gift from a friend for my birthday and we stayed on a Wednesday. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and there were plenty of parking spaces. The foyer is big and has an "olde worlde" feel. It has no lifts but appears to only have the one set of stairs. The staff in this hotel are lovely and friendly and very helpful. I rang down at 2.30am to see if it would be ok to go down and get some water and the night porter asked tap or bottle and brought it up. The bedroom was well worn. The carpet was stained and the curtains were thread bare BUT it was spotlessly clean and comfortable, had a TV, trouser press etc and free WiFi. The shower was fine and there was plenty of hot water for both of us. There was also little bottles of body and hair shampoo and plenty of towels. We had both dinner and breakfast here and I cannot speak highly enough about the food. It was absolutely gorgeous and good value. The dinner was huge and so tasty. The breakfast was the usual buffet but everything was fresh, tasty and there was good choice. All in all, I really liked this hotel, the staff and food is what made it for me and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi ncmono
Just read your lovely feedback on your stay with us last week, I'd glad you enjoyed your time with us & that you'd happily return as we love to see our guests become regulars with us. Clare our deputy GM looks after a lot of the interior design & decorating here so she will be very happy with your "olde worlde" comment as that's a phrase she using to describe here, although she would like me to point out we do have a lift beside reception but maybe you missed this.
Anyway thank you for your recommendation & we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    145
    64
    19
    22
See reviews for
158
166
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during the Springsteen concerts. Booked through Hotels.com which I will never, ever do again as they made a huge song and dance about cancelling the second night and the woman on the phone then told me the wrong price for the first night. Our bill checking out was €20 dearer than expected so was of course queried. The two young girls on the desk faffed around, whispering to each other before going rooting in some folders. I told them not to bother with it as we'd rather just pay and leave so we could go to the concert. They offered to print out the hotels.com confirmation which I told them wasn't necessary as the woman on the phone at hotels.com clearly gave me the wrong information.
I certainly didn't expect an email when I got home from a manager telling me to "please seen the hotels.com booking confirmation". You got your money and I told you I didn't want the confirmation as I knew what the issue was. There was no need to mail me.

Before leaving I told the girl on reception that there was no hot water in my room. I got told "yeah...it all works off the one tank so if people are using it at the same time it can be cold..." How this is deemed acceptable is beyond me.

Certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Peacheh
I'm disappointed to read your review here as it seems your main difficulty was with Hotels.com & their booking process moreso that anything to do with your stay with ourselves. As you booked your stay through a 3rd party website rather than directly on our website, when you queried your rate our experienced receptionists took the time to look into this to ensure you were being charged correctly, which it turned out you were.
With regard to the comment about the cold water - your right this is not acceptable & I will speak with our accommodation manager in relation to this.
I hope if you are attending other concerts in this area that you would consider booking directly with ourselves next time.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubliner
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed overnight while visiting people in the area. Pleasant and non-assuming. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were fine, albeit a little dated and the hotel could benefit from some investment. Carlow is making great attempts to reinvent itself as a tourist destination, and I was surprised that reception had little or no information on walks and activities in the area, which would have been nice. Both food and costs were reasonable if not earth-shattering. Good location on the river and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Martin1404,
Thanks for this review of your stay with us earlier this month & for your kind comments about our staff, food & value as these are all areas we have worked hard to build our reputation on. It's unusual to see a comment about no information on walks & tourist information as we have a stand in our lobby with lots of flyers & leaflets about things to do in & around Carlow & also our receptionists are very knowledgeable & happy to give advice on tourist attractions to any guests who ask about them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again next time you're in the area.
Regards
Colin Duggan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

OK maybe it was the weather, or just our indifferent mood or the fact that the car had broken down again, but we needed comfort, comforting and condolence. We got what we deserved on a cheap voucher!
We perused our 4 course dinner menu with anticipation whilst sipping our pre-dinner drinks, only to be handed a scaled down version as soon as we took our seats in the dining area. Scaled down to turkey and ham, in July? We opted to pay the supplement to upgrade to a deep fried prawn.
This is a wedding hotel and if there is no wedding there is no life. Bed early to watch 13 channels on TV that is in fact 4 channels cunningly repeated!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Roddy A
Thank you for taking the time the feedback on your recent overnight stay. Unfortunately with the Irish Summer weather & your car letting you down, I think this all impacted negatively on your stay with us. The deal on which you were staying did include a reduced menu but it was still a 4 course with starter, choice of mains & dessert along with Tea or coffee & as you say there was only a very small supplement to upgrade your menu & choose from our larger evening menu.
Our TV's currently work off Saorview which provides a minimun of 8 channels but we are looking at alternative options for TV channels.
I hope if you return to Carlow, you'll visit us again & give us the chance to extend the Warm Welcome which our guests normally experience.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Whilst its quiet ,as its a 10euro taxi fare outside Carlow town but then there is a main road adjacent to the hotel .no gym, pool or any recreation activities... Somewhat dated hotel .. Rooms were very basic but still had all necessities .
Our stay included an evening meal .. As we looked forward to our candle lit dinner .. As we thought .. This hotels restaurant was pretty much bar food , which was average and nothing special..and no frills ... Staff were friendly and helpful but for the over priced cost of this pretty much upgraded hostel there are far more nicer hotels to stay than here at the same money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Joe L
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us; we appreciate guests taking the time out to send us this. As you mention we don't have a gym or pool but at no time do we advertise that we have these facilities available as we are a 3 star hotel. We are however very lucky to have a scenic riverside setting with some lovely gardens through which many of our guests enjoy a recreational stroll.
Our evening meals are served in the Barrow Bistro which is normally well decorated with candles but given the great sunny weather we have had over the past month we have reduced the candles as we find the bright sun shining through eliminates the effect of the candle light.
I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Dolmen Hotel again the next time your staying in Carlow.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clonakilty
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for one night on Sunday 21st July 2013 and really enjoyed our stay.
Located on picturesque grounds beside the River Barrow, about 2 Km outside Carlow, it is a 3 star hotel but a very good one.
Ample free hotel car park, free Wifi and tea / coffee making facilities in bedroom.
We arrived early & we had 2 different carvery lunches, both of which were excellent and very good value.
Check in was friendly, helpfully and efficient.
Bedroom was large with a double and single bed. No air conditioning but large window could be opened to provide adequate ventillation. Good sized bathroom with bath / shower.
Bar was comfortable, beer was good and staff were nice.
We had 2 lovely starters followed by 2 excellent steaks for our evening meal. Good wine list and the Chilean Merlot we had was excellent. Staff were friendly and attentive without being obtrusive.
Breakfast menu consisted of a good selection of various fruit, juices, cereals which one helped themselves to followed by cooked breakfast which was ordered at your table and was freshly cooked using quality products. No indication where products were sourced from but we didn't care as the superb breakfast was a great finish to our trip.
We expect to be back for a 3 night stay in the near future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear mmk89
Just read this lovely review you gave us & wanted to say thank you for this lovely feedback on all areas of your stay with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed the warm welcome we are renowned for & thrilled to hear you are planning your next extended stay with is - keep an eye on our website for our special offers & getaway break packages.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding in the hotel. Very well organised. Easy to locate. Rooms clean and spacious. Nice hotel for a quick break. Several different functions on in hotel,however that didn't effect our wedding paper which went wonderfully.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingswoodtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Kingswoodtrekker
Thanks for this review after our stay with us in May, I'm happy to read your enjoyed your time with us & the wedding party you attended. All our guests & function bookings are equally important to us so the whole team work to ensure each function runs smoothly & that all guests enjoy themselves regardless of whether here for a short 1 night break or a longer celebration or holiday.
I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
572 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
113 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
15.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Property: Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing