We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently, to celebrate a wedding. The staff were welcoming and attentive, and the rooms were comfortable and clean.
The only downside was the sat nav couldn't pin point it. But it is visible from the road if you keep going!
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hpv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Hpv72
Thank you for your 5 star rating of your recent stay with ourselves. As one of the leading wedding venues in the South East, we pride ourselves on delivering a unique & memorable day for both the couple & thier guests so I'm delighted to read you enjoyed attending a recent wedding with us.

Not sure why your Sat Nav didn't pick up the hotel, it's not normally a problem. Here are our GPS coordinates so you can add to your Sat Nav for your next visit to us. Lat52.813761 Long -6.951320 or on Garmin Sat Nav the code is R6J-20-LQ8

Thanks again for your lovely recommendation & looking forward to welcoming back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    145
    64
    19
    22
See reviews for
158
166
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife has relations living in Carlow and Waterford. We often passed the Dolmen Hotel on our way to visit family so when we saw a very attractive voucher deal for two nights B&B + steak dinner (can substitute food of choice instead of steak, if desired), we decided to avail of it.
We visited family in Waterford then checked in to the Dolmen. We received a warm, friendly welcome and were pleasantly surprised when we saw our room. It was in a wing that apparently had been recently refurbished: the new carpet was still settling and there was a smell of fresh paint. The room was bright, overlooking the car park at the front of the hotel. There was a double and single bed in the room, which was spotless, as was the bathroom. Tea & coffee plus kettle were provided.
Breakfast was cooked to order and served by the very friendly and cheerful Nuala. We had our choice of three free newspapers. We spent the next day visiting relations in Carlow and that night we dined in the hotel. Service was friendly and efficient while the food was fresh and appealing.
There was no leisure suite/spa but, on this occasion, we were not looking for such facilities.
We enjoyed our visit to The Dolmen and would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorcaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Lorcaman
Thank you for taking the time to rate & review your recent stay with ourselves. I'm glad that you decided to stay with us on this occasion & our location just an hours drive from Waterford is ideal for when visiting family in both counties.

As you point out we are currently undergoing a bedroom improvement programme & I'm happy to read your kind comments about our bedrooms aswell as our friendly staff & good food as our motto is Warm Welcome Awaits so it's always lovely to hear back from our guests that this is what they expereinced.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again when your next visiting family.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We, a music group from Co Down, have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Dolmen Hotel and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms, Food and Staff were just absolutely fantastic. A special big thankyou to Brid and Mary on Reception for all the help and support they gave us. We really appreciated it and hope to see you all again sometime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownTravellerNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear DowntravellerNI,

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with ourselves, I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to Mary & Brid also.
We enjoyed having your group stay with us during the Pan Celtic Festival & I wish you well with it next here.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed just overnight here on a cycling trip, very good price for B&B + evening meal. Staff are super, reception cant do enough for you. Rooms are ideal for what we wanted and its only a 5 minute spin into city center all in all would recommend it no problem at all. ,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed for one night in the Dolmen in March 2013, its nicely located on the outskirts of town beside the river Barrow. First impressions of the interior were ok, grand staircase and small reception desk. Receptionist was friendly and efficient and we were checked in with no bother. Our room was 231 and it involved a five minute trek through a maze of corridors, crossing different extensions to the main building complete with their own 1980s decor and different temperatures. The corridors were shabby with carpet in reed of replacing. The room itself was roomy enough, stifling hot, nice bathroom, but again let down by the very dated colour scheme and fittings. Breakfast was not good, you have to make your own toast, cereals, fruit, yogurt all self service as was the "Hot" items, Bacon, Sausages, Pudding and Fried egg all left in large heated trays with lids. Boiled eggs left in the tray with the fried ones, must have been as hard as hell. This is a very average hotel, with a lot of TLC it could be a good one.

Room Tip: Close to the main staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with ourselves, we appreciate your comments as it helps us identify area's for improvement.

I'm sorry to read your comments about your bedroom & I hope this doesn't put you off staying with us again. We are currently undergoing a phased bedroom improvement progamme to refresh & update our bedrooms so hopefully next time you come to stay with us you'll find a difference in your room.

Breakfast is self service buffet style as we have found that this is the perferred option of the majority of our guests but I have noted your comments about the presentation & will be passing this back to the relevant team members.

Thank you again for your feedback & I hope we can welcome you back to Dolmen Hotel in the future.

Regards
Colin Duggan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the dolmen back in september for our anniversary for 2 nights and we had a lovely stay our room was nice and cozy and very clean it had a view out onto the courtyard which was nice hearing the fountain was relaxing. The first night we went down to the bar which was quiet enough but nothing wrong with that we had a couple of drinks and left. The check in and out was dealt very quickly and friendly. All the staff we came across were very friendly as were the cleaners.

Location wise it is located just outside carlow town it is around 5 minutes in a taxi not to bad i suppose. All in all i would recommend the dolmen to friends and family and anyone looking to stay in carlow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for valentines weekend .first thing I must mention I's the staff my god what a fantastic team this hotel has!i must mention Mary the receptionist this lady could not do enough for me one of the friendlinest receptionists ive met she is a total credit to her employer. All the staff from breckfast to dinner are fab and so good at their jobs.a beautifully kept hotel clenliness top notch loads of hot water and a lovely comfy bed .the food here is top notch I must also mention katleen at dinner who was also brilliant and so kind.thank you so much dolmen.my name is Roberta Dillon room 305

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghhjhgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Roberta,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us on this site. I'm delighted to hear your comments about our team as we believe our friendly staff & warm welcome are what make us different to other hotels so it's lovely to hear this back from our guests. I'll pass on your kind comments to both Mary & Kathleen.
Thank you & looking forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
572 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
113 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
15.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Property: Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing