We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife has relations living in Carlow and Waterford. We often passed the Dolmen Hotel on our way to visit family so when we saw a very attractive voucher deal for two nights B&B + steak dinner (can substitute food of choice instead of steak, if desired), we decided to avail of it.
We visited family in Waterford then checked in to the Dolmen. We received a warm, friendly welcome and were pleasantly surprised when we saw our room. It was in a wing that apparently had been recently refurbished: the new carpet was still settling and there was a smell of fresh paint. The room was bright, overlooking the car park at the front of the hotel. There was a double and single bed in the room, which was spotless, as was the bathroom. Tea & coffee plus kettle were provided.
Breakfast was cooked to order and served by the very friendly and cheerful Nuala. We had our choice of three free newspapers. We spent the next day visiting relations in Carlow and that night we dined in the hotel. Service was friendly and efficient while the food was fresh and appealing.
There was no leisure suite/spa but, on this occasion, we were not looking for such facilities.
We enjoyed our visit to The Dolmen and would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorcaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Lorcaman
Thank you for taking the time to rate & review your recent stay with ourselves. I'm glad that you decided to stay with us on this occasion & our location just an hours drive from Waterford is ideal for when visiting family in both counties.

As you point out we are currently undergoing a bedroom improvement programme & I'm happy to read your kind comments about our bedrooms aswell as our friendly staff & good food as our motto is Warm Welcome Awaits so it's always lovely to hear back from our guests that this is what they expereinced.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again when your next visiting family.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 585 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We, a music group from Co Down, have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Dolmen Hotel and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms, Food and Staff were just absolutely fantastic. A special big thankyou to Brid and Mary on Reception for all the help and support they gave us. We really appreciated it and hope to see you all again sometime!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownTravellerNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear DowntravellerNI,

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with ourselves, I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to Mary & Brid also.
We enjoyed having your group stay with us during the Pan Celtic Festival & I wish you well with it next here.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed just overnight here on a cycling trip, very good price for B&B + evening meal. Staff are super, reception cant do enough for you. Rooms are ideal for what we wanted and its only a 5 minute spin into city center all in all would recommend it no problem at all. ,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scuba922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed for one night in the Dolmen in March 2013, its nicely located on the outskirts of town beside the river Barrow. First impressions of the interior were ok, grand staircase and small reception desk. Receptionist was friendly and efficient and we were checked in with no bother. Our room was 231 and it involved a five minute trek through a maze of corridors, crossing different extensions to the main building complete with their own 1980s decor and different temperatures. The corridors were shabby with carpet in reed of replacing. The room itself was roomy enough, stifling hot, nice bathroom, but again let down by the very dated colour scheme and fittings. Breakfast was not good, you have to make your own toast, cereals, fruit, yogurt all self service as was the "Hot" items, Bacon, Sausages, Pudding and Fried egg all left in large heated trays with lids. Boiled eggs left in the tray with the fried ones, must have been as hard as hell. This is a very average hotel, with a lot of TLC it could be a good one.

Room Tip: Close to the main staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with ourselves, we appreciate your comments as it helps us identify area's for improvement.

I'm sorry to read your comments about your bedroom & I hope this doesn't put you off staying with us again. We are currently undergoing a phased bedroom improvement progamme to refresh & update our bedrooms so hopefully next time you come to stay with us you'll find a difference in your room.

Breakfast is self service buffet style as we have found that this is the perferred option of the majority of our guests but I have noted your comments about the presentation & will be passing this back to the relevant team members.

Thank you again for your feedback & I hope we can welcome you back to Dolmen Hotel in the future.

Regards
Colin Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the dolmen back in september for our anniversary for 2 nights and we had a lovely stay our room was nice and cozy and very clean it had a view out onto the courtyard which was nice hearing the fountain was relaxing. The first night we went down to the bar which was quiet enough but nothing wrong with that we had a couple of drinks and left. The check in and out was dealt very quickly and friendly. All the staff we came across were very friendly as were the cleaners.

Location wise it is located just outside carlow town it is around 5 minutes in a taxi not to bad i suppose. All in all i would recommend the dolmen to friends and family and anyone looking to stay in carlow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for valentines weekend .first thing I must mention I's the staff my god what a fantastic team this hotel has!i must mention Mary the receptionist this lady could not do enough for me one of the friendlinest receptionists ive met she is a total credit to her employer. All the staff from breckfast to dinner are fab and so good at their jobs.a beautifully kept hotel clenliness top notch loads of hot water and a lovely comfy bed .the food here is top notch I must also mention katleen at dinner who was also brilliant and so kind.thank you so much dolmen.my name is Roberta Dillon room 305

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghhjhgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Roberta,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us on this site. I'm delighted to hear your comments about our team as we believe our friendly staff & warm welcome are what make us different to other hotels so it's lovely to hear this back from our guests. I'll pass on your kind comments to both Mary & Kathleen.
Thank you & looking forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Colin Duggan - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We got married here in the Dolmen hotel on the 25.01.2013 and we really could not have have a more fitting or fantastic venue for it. From the day we booked our wedding and all throughout the process we have to say that all the members of staff we dealt with were an absolute pleasure. Whilst you can never say that planning a wedding is not stressful, all the staff and in particular the wedding co-ordinator ( Clare Kavanagh) did their utmost to help us and guide us to ensure that we got the most out of the day with what we believe to be the minimal amount of stress. Every request we made was catered for with the utmost professionalism. Top tip their Wedding Planning site Moposa is a fantastic tool to help keep you on track in preparation for your big day. We had people from abroad attend our wedding ( most of whom were staying for three nights and had children as well) and they were all extremely satisfied with the price, the quality and variety of the food, the appearance and decor of the hotel, the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff they dealt with throughout their stay. All of the quests that attended on the day of the wedding were singing the praises of all and every aspect of the wedding. As it was a civil ceremony, our wedding was also held in the hotel and the fluidity of the transition between the ceremony, the photographs, the meal and the disco was totally seamless.
We had awful weather on the day which meant that our original plans to get the Photos taken outside the hotel were dashed, again this wasn't seen by the staff as even a blip and they ensured that we were able to get every picture we wanted around the entrance and stairwell area.
We genuinely feel that we got every aspect of our day, exactly as we wanted and would find it hard to believe that we could have got any better anywhere else, and all this for a price that other couples we know, who have recently had, or are currently planning their own weddings could not believe.
Fantastic Quality, Standards, Service, Food and Value from a team that were totally beyond reproach in all that they did, we really were made to feel like the most important people in the world on our day.
We would thoroughly recommend anyone planning a wedding around the Carlow area to give this venue some very serious consideration and are sure you will be very impressed. Some reviews (largely from businessmen) state that the hotel is 'dated' and maybe it could be viewed that way, If you are looking for somewhere cold, clinical and ultra modern then this is not the place for you.... If however you want to be somewhere warm and welcoming, with traditional style and character, family friendly with a homely welcome then this will more than meet your expectations.
Be it a wedding, birthday, communion or any other event including a relaxing weekend away then the proximity to Carlow town (approx 1 mile) surely makes it an ideal location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi Louise K,

Thank you for this review & for your lovely comments around our staff & wedding service. Clare & our wedding team pride themselves on making every wedding day a very special & memorable day for the couple & their families so it's great to hear you say this is what you experienced. It's also good to hear you found our Moposa wedding planning tools helpful & that it helped relieve some of the wedding planning stress. Unfortunately there is that one element of every wedding day that we have no control over & that's the weather but as you say we have plenty of locations inside around the hotel for photo opportunities & based on the few you have attached it looks like you'll have a fabulous wedding album.

Thanks again for taking the time to write this review & for your recommendation of us to other couples looking for thier perfect wedding venue.
Wishing you a wonderful long & happy married life & looking forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.

Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
605 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
118 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
12.8 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: $66 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing