We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Talbot Hotel Carlow(Carlow)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lord Bagenal Inn(Leighlinbridge)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort(Tullow)(Great Value!)
$271
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
$258
$238
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
316
167
70
27
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
167
70
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy gardencarlow townmany occasionson arrivalfamily weddinghighly recommend this hotelsteakwedding receptionstaff were very friendlylovely hotelcouldn't faultfunction roomnext morningevery member of staffkeep up the good workwell worth a visitrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 603 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a few months back with my partner, around the time of the pan-celtic festival.

The Dolmen is a wonderful hotel and the surroundings are gorgeous. The staff and food were lovely.
We only had dinner in the restaurant the one night but it was really good food with great table service, we were slightly disappointed we hadn't taken further advantage of the facilities! The breakfast on offer had a wide spread and you had the options of hot food, which was great.

Rooms we're neat and clean. While not being lavishly furnished were quite nice and very comfortable.
Couple all that with the grounds, which were lovely. (It was just nice to be able to go for a bit of a ramble and admire the river with Swans!). It was just a really nice stay overall.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room near the back of the hotel with a view of the river and forest.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Attended a wedding here recently, the food really was not good at all in fact it was terrible. Due to it being a wedding we didn't like sending it back we just didn't eat it under any other circumstances we would have complained. Unfortunately we stayed over and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and the pillows were rock hard. Breakfast was average. Staff were friendly but would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A welcom find on the way south out of the Wicklow Mountains toward Kilkenny.

Welcoming staff, good food & service. 120V outlet in room nice for N. American travelers. Overall good with easy on & off R448 road.

But could be cleaner and tidier outside, with litter & trash in landscaping, cigarette ends outside window from prior guests. Walking path down slope to and along river "slippy" and overgrown, creepy not relaxing. Backside of hotel needs makeover.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Templeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

stayed here on saturday attending a wedding the wedding reception was nice but the rooms are terrible .if you like a nice bedroom to stay in this is not for you, i had a family room here it was shocking orange with bright orange walls the carpet was burned the wallpaper was torn to.also the smell of damp in the room and the hallways is not very pleasant to . its more like hostel rooms than hotel rooms. stay away so you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Dolmen Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding but was most disappointed to learn of the issues you encountered during your stay with us and would gladly welcome the opportunity to discuss these in more detail if you would like to give me a call on 059 91 42002

We are currently conducting a program of soft refurbishment in all of our bedroom facilities and to date we have almost two full floors completed. It is regretful that on this occasion you were not situated in one of these bedrooms, but we would hope to have these soft refurbishments completed over the coming months.

Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service. I look forward to hopefully being able to personally discuss your stay in more detail.

Warmest Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed midweek on a Wednesday night. We had booked two rooms as we were a family of five travelling together. We were using a groupon deal otherwise we would not have considered this hotel in Carlow. The staff at reception were very helpful and polite and made us feel very welcome. The bar area had a nice comfortable feel and again the staff were very polite. We had scones and coffee on arrival. We had a steak dinner included in the deal which was served up very well and cooked exactly how we ordered. The staff in the restaurant could not do enough for us and were very helpful offering cordial for the children and making sure we had everything we needed. Unfortunately the major let down to this hotel was the rooms. The bathroom in our room was terrible, the tiles in the shower were cracked all the way down, the grout was dirty, the toilet was coming away from the wall. The carpet on the floor was very worn and torn. Unfortunately we only realised how bad the bed was when we went to go to sleep and by then it was too late. Every spring in the mattress could be felt we had to put the duvet over the mattress to get some sort of sleep. If we had realised how bad it was we would have asked to be moved. Again I must remind you this was a Wednesday night and the hotel was very empty and the management could only offer us a room of a this poor standard. When we were leaving the room beside ours was open and we went in to find the mattress was far superior and the bathroom was much cleaner and the toilet was newer. When I pointed out how bad the beds were when we were leaving and that we may have been given it because we were on a voucher we were told this was not the case we were given what ever was available. I really dont think this was true. I am sure management are aware of the state of these rooms and the fact that they are allowing guests to stay in them is unacceptable in my opion. My advise to you if you have the deal check you room first before you settle down dont accept what we had. The rest of your stay will be very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublingal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time let us know how you got on with your recent stay at Dolmen Hotel. I am delighted to hear that overall your experience with us was enjoyable & that you received the warm & friendly welcome from our staff that we are renowned for.

However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room & would like to reiterate our receptionist response that your room allocation was in no way determined due to you availing of a Groupon deal. We are currently conducting a program of soft refurbishment in all of our bedroom facilities and to date we have almost two full floors completed. It is regretful that on this occasion you were not situated in one of these bedrooms, but we would hope to have these soft refurbishments completed over the coming months.

Again thank you for your feedback. Hearing what our guests have to say is very important in helping us review and improve the hotel’s facilities and service so we are always grateful to hear your comments.
Warmest Regards
Colin Duggan – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews