We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great prices, staff and athmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great prices, staff and athmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed for only one night for a trip to the teathre but sampled the excellent food and was vary relaxing to come back to for a few drinks afterwards. Rooms could do with being updated but all in all a very good experiance

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBurns1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    133
    59
    19
    21
See reviews for
147
155
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trim, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Friendly staff who remember you on subsequent visits. Rooms are clean and comfortable, though they don't have enough power sockets for todays traveller.
Food is great and the atmosphere in the bar is always good.

Room Tip: The cottages are lovely if you want quiet. The rooms in the hotel are great to be near everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We bought the Menupages voucher offer for this hotel last weekend. €89 for 2 steak dinners, plus B&B overnight. Superb value and so handy to get to, down the new M9 motorway. Its a popular hotel, and parking had extended across the grass lawns by late Saturday afternoon, as there was a Poker Classic on.
Anyway, down to the food menu. Part of the stay is complimentary tea & scones on arrival; ours were still steaming they were so fresh from the over, yummy. Later then, two grilled sirloin steaks, mushrooms, onions, bowl of chips, side-salad if you ask nicely, accompanied by their new house red, a False Bay Shiraz at just €18, which washed it all down just nicely. The steaks were succulent right through. We chose to share a dessert then, a big slice of chocolate cake with choc sauce drooling over it. The choc sauce is tasty as its made in-house, not so the cake part; bought in apparently, a bit shall we say, saw-dusty ! They do good coffee though, and the full Irish next morning was delivered promptly to our room (extra charge of course) which just filled us up the more.
This is a great voucher deal, watch out for it.

Room Tip: Need a taxi to get into Carlow town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

June 2nd 2012
Arrived early,10.45am even though check in was 12 noon,had rang the hotel the night before to ask if it was possible to get into our room a bit early as the wedding we were going to in castledermot was due to start at 1.30pm
I was told on the phone they would do their best but the hotel was fully booked the night before,but they would do their best
parked up the car in the ample car park spaces and entered the pleasant and comfortable looking surroundings of the hotel
very nice staff and the fasted check in I have ever encountered,we got our early check in an hour and a quarter sooner
I had requested a room on the ground floor (smoking room) and close to the bar...lol
The room was a fine size with a double and two single beds that we had no use for as we were there as a couple,tea and coffee making on the dresser and also a 16 inch flat screen,about three local stations...no fridge in the room by the way if you are wondering,all in all the room and including the bathroom was spotless
The wedding party went off without a flaw,the silver service team delivered our food with a team of waitresses in a military fashion and little or no waiting in between courses
I opted for the roast rid eye of Irish beef...Mmmm....anyway the food was purely delicious and they do a utterly fantastic baileys cheese cake that you would die for
A Great day and night and the band were great "uptown band" have to mention Brian behind the bar that looked after us and not forgetting John out in the lounge bar aseptically good bar tenders
All in all a lovely hotel to stay and what beautiful grounds bordering on the lovely Barrow river full marks and will be back...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LimerickMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is grand. Nice staff. Comfortable, clean rooms. The breakfast isnt the best. Hotel is a bit outside Carlow if you want to be central to restaurants and pubs. Over all it is fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We recently used our Groupon voucher to stay at the Dolmen Hotel in Carlow and found the visit very pleasant. The hotel is situated about a mile outside Carlow town on the Kilkenny road, its a big place and very easy to find.

We arrived at reception and were greeted warmly by staff, the reception area itself is very nice, it boasts an impressive staircase as soon as you enter the lobby. We were checked in immediately, given complimentary newspapers of the day, mealtimes were explained to us, etc

Our room was excellent, bright spacious and clean, our bed was very comfortable, and although we were at the front of the building, we werent disturbed by any sounds, traffic, other guests, etc

We ate in the Bistro, its fairly simple in decor, but as we were there for just the one meal, we didnt mind. The food itself was delicious, we both had steaks, one a medium and the other medium-well, both cooked to perfection. Starter and dessert were optional extras but for the price we'd paid, we werent about to complain.

It seems that most of the guests in the bar that evening were also 'Groupon' guests, certainly that was the case with the majority of people that we spoke to. In any event, there was a good buzz in the place. Entertainment came courtesy of a solo singer, complete with guitar and keyboards, and he did a pretty decent job as everyone joined in with the singing.

We ate breakfast in the dining room next morning, again a simple no frills dining room. The one big problem we had though was a severe shortage of staff, so much so that tables werent being cleaned and/or set as quickly as they should have been and this resulted in people having to queue outside the dining room. There was also a shortage of teapots, clean cups etc which was hugely annoying. That said, the staff that were there were working as hard as they could to make up the shortfall. I hope management have taken note of this breakdown as it showed the hotel in a very unprofessional light.

On the whole, we both enjoyed our stay at the Dolmen and would gladly go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanny_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Lost in time had to walk trough a smoking area to get to my room and had a view of a big water storage tank out my window rooms was grubby
Would recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay340819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Property: Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing