We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have enjoyed it more”
Review of Seven Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seven Oaks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights on a golf trip with friends.
We were made very welcome from the beginning of our stay.
The room was large with lots of room to move about with tea and coffie and biscuits renewed every day. The room was cleaned made up every day and was spic and span.
The food was everything you could ask for served with a smile and nothing was to much trouble the restraunt was full most nights with locals a very good sign of good value.
After our golf we were able to relax in the swimming pool, sauna or steam room, or the jacuzzi.
Five minutes walk to centre of town or €5 in taxi.
We have already decided to have another golf break in the Seven Oaks.
I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
Tony Molloy

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotoGolferinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Seven Oaks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 589 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

Fantastic service, staff were excellent managers were brilliant, any questions we had they were brilliant so accomodating and friendly and professional. its the reason we chose this hotel because they made us feel special, couldnt have asked for a better wedding day if i tryed. food and drink is excellent. excellent value. so welcoming. i couldnt recommend this hotel more highly its brilliant......................well done to all the staff at the seven oaks for making our day so special.......

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddenmotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

What a disappointment.
When I heard people had there Wedding reception in this hotel I thought oh wow, must be decent enough.
Well I cannot imagine having a reception here, no way would I allow family pay for a room here. I would be embarrassed to be honest.
I had second thoughts from the moment I hung up the phone from reservations. Rude staff, ( I put it down to a late night booking how wrong I was)
We arrived for a 4pm check in. 4pm ??? 3pm is late enough. 4pm ? How slow are the staff in this place?
This hotel is right along the main road to Athy. You can easily hear traffic from the rooms. Windows are single pain of glass.
Bedrooms are outdated with mahogony finnish throughout. Furniture in the room is old and worn.
The staff made us feel unwelcomed. We asked questions about where to go? What time breakfast was at and were just made feel like we were an annoyance.
We went to the resturant for dinner, resturant is like an old pub, with booths. Nothing formal about the place. The food was awful,we had one meal included, lucky it was only one meal.
Undercooked food, chips served to the kids you would get from the local chipper. One word - Greasy. Complaining about the food, we did. But were made feel like we were wrong for doing so. Staff became snotty almost immediately.
Even upon paying for our meal, two staff bi*ching about customers. Walking out there door, I was just waiting for them to start talking about us.
Unprofessional and childish behaviour from women in there 40's.
Needless to stay we wont be back ever.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had out wedding in the Seven Oaks Hotel, Carlow in July and we were blown away with the service we received. In the months coming up to the wedding we were treated like royalty. The management went out of their way to make sure our day was special to us. The food was fantastic. All the 200+ guests were served very quickly. The dinig room looked amazing with all of their new candlabras. We stayed in the hotel ourselves both the night of the wedding and the next night and the room was just exquisite. Both sets of parents stayed the night of the wedding complementary and all the other paying guests got a very good deal on their stay. The staff at the reception desk and also behind the bar are friendly and helpful. We had some friends staying there from Germany and they were delighted with it as they had 2 small kids and the hotel was close to everything (train station, town centre, The Dome Family Entertainment Centre, Shopping Centres, Cinemas etc) The Seven Oaks was excellent and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAgars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

hotel accessible and hassle free for disabled people. If you have special requirements speak to Mr Murphy or Mr O Leary as they are only to glad to accomidate people. swimming pool only part not accessible but otherwise fantantic place to stay, eat and party. ball room fab and staff so nice.food excellent and even accomidated late arrivals to breakfast. No one goes away hungry.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESSICAHYLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

hotel was lovely had stayed here before in 2006 for my graduation from college. we got a large double room with a single bed all our family were booked close together. a bit old fashioned but very clean. the bar was lovely the bar food was good. the wedding food itself on the wedding day was fantastic. reception room was beuatiful like a ballroom. swimming pool is excellent. breakfast in bed was yummy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irish_fairy_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

As soon as you walk into the hotel, you can feel the homely atmosphere. I went to my sister's wedding there and stayed a couple of days afterwards. The wedding itself was excellent, the staff was very attentive, the food was excellent and everyone was offered a second helping during the meal. The conference room was beautiful and everyone enjoyed the meal.
The room that I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. All the food that I had during my stay was excellent: the breakfast which had a large choice of hot food including hash browns, the carvery lunch and the night bites. Though some might think the night bites are expensive, the portion size is very generous.
All in all I was very impressed with the staff, the decor and the food as were the wedding guests who stayed there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of getting married or to anyone who wants a relaxing break. The facilities in the leisure centre are also excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
11.0 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oaks Hotel

Address: Seven Oaks Hotel Athy Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: $107 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Seven Oaks Hotel is one of the foremost hotels in Carlow and Leinster. From the moment you step into our magnificent reception area you will enjoy the warmest of Irish welcomes from our friendly staff, whose attention to your every need will ensure that you will want to return again and again. Carlow is now only 45 minutes from the M50 roundabout in Dublin. Conveniently located just 3 minutes walk from Carlow town centre, the Seven Oaks Hotel has long enjoyed an enviable reputation as one of the premier wedding and conferencing hotels in Carlow. A large private complimentary carpark, coupled with close proximity to the local bus/train station makes the the Seven Oaks Hotel an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seven Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing