We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel!”
Review of Seven Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seven Oaks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Super hotel!”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed four nights at the Seven Oaks recently as part of a Diamond Travel (South Wales) coach tour. The hotel was every bit as good as the glowing reviews previously given, large comfortable bedroom and high Quality meals, (portions were far too much and I'm a pig!). The staff were very friendly and helpful
As a keen railway enthusiast I was able to take advantage of the new Golden Tracker ticket which gives 4 days free travel throughout the Irish Railways system for over 66's, (not valid in Northern Ireland). It is available by contacting the Irish tourist authority giving passport details, (check the internet). I travelled to Waterford, Dublin, Bray and Howth
This was my first trip to Ireland and I certainly enjoyed my visit

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    145
    57
    23
    15
See reviews for
158
109
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The hotel is very homely and comfortable but its the staff that made my stay unforgettable! I returned to the hotel after celebrating the Connemara rugby win against Carlow and was sitting in the bar when i realised i had forgotten my bag in the taxi. I had all but accepted that i was never going to see that bag again when a member of staff called Matt came over and told me that he would recognise the taxi again so we hopped in his car and drove around until we found him and i got my bag back so Matt a big cheers to you!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGranville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We spent a two night break over easter with friends and had an excellent stay.The staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and warm. The meal in the restaurant was very good and the service was attentive, all in all an enjoyable experience and would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishdaveDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This is an old hotel but spotless and the food is wholesome and plentiful.Its a 2 min walk to the town which is great.The only gripe I would have is we went for an easter break and arrived on Good Friday to find the bar was closed!!As this is not law in Ireland I couldnt understand it.Apart from that great place

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank audskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel. We had a lovely 2 night weekend break from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. Bedroom was lovely bright & spacious with lovely ensuite. Bar & restuarant was fabulous & the swimming pool was top class. Will definately be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Excellent - I have stayed in this hotel for a 4 week period in Jan/Feb - working in Merck nearby. It is without doubt a fantastic hotel. The service/food/gym/pool are all fantastic. The rooms may be a bit dated but it adds to the ambiance. It cannot compare to a nearby 4 star hotel, where I stayed for the first two weeks of January. The interior design is full of dark wood, flamed fires, multiple comfy sofas and there's a fabulous use of colour in the reception, bar and dining area. My home is a total contrast but when away from home, this design feels cozy and comforting. It's the dark wood lockers in the swimming pool changing rooms that would entice you to strip down when it's minus zero outside!. The sauna and steam room are the hottest I've ever been in!. The fruit salad in the morning is delicious! I'm delighted these typical Irish type hotels still exist and tourists must just lap them up... I won't be wasting my money on 5* hotels anymore, I'm on a mission now to discover more of this type of hotel in the South, thanks to the staff of the Seven Oaks, Liz

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkLady007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Arrived for a 4 night stay on business and has to be one of the worst hotels I have had the misfortune of staying in for a long time. I can say this with some authority as I travel a fair amount.
The rooms are spacious but the decor is extremely tired. All your usual mahogany furniture and 80's wallpaper albeit dog eared. The walls and ceiling are paper thin (I thought premier lodges were bad!)so you can hear everything above and next door and believe me it's annoying when you are trying to rest but is nothing compared to traffic noise as the hotel is right on the main road ( lorries cause the room to vibrate).
No water in the sink in the bathroom (I had to brush my teeth using shower water)
There are a couple of positives though , the wifi is free and fast although you can't get it in the bar and the use of the spa is included in the reasonable room rate and maybe having suffered last night I think I might make use of it.
The food was nothing really special although we were served rapidly
It doesn’t happen very often but think that I will be looking for another hotel nearby for the rest of my stay in Carlow

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o0timbo0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
17.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oaks Hotel

Property: Seven Oaks Hotel
Address: Seven Oaks Hotel Athy Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Seven Oaks Hotel is one of the foremost hotels in Carlow and Leinster. From the moment you step into our magnificent reception area you will enjoy the warmest of Irish welcomes from our friendly staff, whose attention to your every need will ensure that you will want to return again and again. Carlow is now only 45 minutes from the M50 roundabout in Dublin. Conveniently located just 3 minutes walk from Carlow town centre, the Seven Oaks Hotel has long enjoyed an enviable reputation as one of the premier wedding and conferencing hotels in Carlow. A large private complimentary carpark, coupled with close proximity to the local bus/train station makes the the Seven Oaks Hotel an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Seven Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing