We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9 Euro for a medium pot of tea!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seven Oaks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“9 Euro for a medium pot of tea!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Visited here today for lunch. when I asked if there was any soup other than minestrone on the waitress reluctantly offered to check...Food was nice but after dinner we ordered tea. The lady returned with a medium sized pot of weak tea. There were four of us and there wasn't even enough to fill the four cups fully. when I went up to pay the pot was 9 euro. I questioned it and was told by two members of staff that it was charged per cup sent out and it was €2.25 per cup. When I said this was steep the receptionist shrugged.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reailtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    140
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
149
104
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went to the ploughing in Laois and stayed in Carlow.There was four of us.The hotel was lovely room clean and modern,but the bar staff and dining room were terrible.We might be what they think farmers going to de ploughing but not to be treated like dogs.I advise that Hotel need to send there staff on a hospitality course

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bgelectrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Twenty of us stayed here for my friends hens last Saturday it was 55 euro per person that included our breakfast and a cocktail in a bar in town . The hotel is really central only a ten minute walk into the town . The rooms were nice and big and looked like they have been recently refurbished . I think maybe the down stairs lobby could do with new wallpaper and carpet it looks a little bit old fashioned ( but maybe that's the look they are going for ). All the staff were really friendly and helpful especially the night porter who looked after us for a late drink and toasted sambos .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My Husband and I were on a three day break at the Seven Oaks Hotel, and had such a lovely time. On Arrival we were greeted in a very nice manor the reception Staff were very efficient.
the rooms were warm and clean, we requested a quiet room not near any hen parties etc the hotel reception were very accommodating with my request. everything was great staff very friendly, the food was amazing and great value the ambiance in the restaurant was just lovely and the staff again were very efficient I just loved the atmosphere of the hotel and the friendless of the staff I like to feel comfortable when i go to a hotel and I surely felt this here would most defiantly recommend this hotel to stay in. we didn't have time to use the leisure center but will do the next time, it is a very busy hotel but this did not hinder the service that we were given. we had stayed in two Hotels previous to arriving at the Seven Oaks, and just feel that this hotel was by far the best.

Room Tip: ring the hotel if you have any requests before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently went with the Drumreilly Active Age group on a trip to Carlow and the hotel accommodated all 43 of us to the highest standard. The food was lovely, rooms were kept immaculately and the standard of service was next to none, it was great value for money and I'd highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coops170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice hotel just situated 5 minute walk from town centre. The staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and warm. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection available including bacon,sausages,eggs etc,cereals,cheeses,yoghurts,breads,juices,tea & coffee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had our wedding reception this summer in the Seven Oaks they completely blew us away it was effortless dealing with them and they always go the extra mile! From the first day we walked through there doors the service we received was incredible we knew they would look after us! The food was amazing nearly all our wedding guests said it was the best dinner they ever had and the amount of food was super i think every bride and groom worry about there reception and will the guests like the meal will there be enough will anyone be hungry afterwards we still couldn't eat the next day we where all so full!! The hotel has a homely feel to it we loved it and cant wait to go back! I would def recommend them to anyone, without even having to think about it all the staff are so helpful and so friendly and nothing we asked was ever to much there one of the few hotels left in this country that's not took over by and chain and are very individual and old stock with a lot of there values in these times I think everyone is looking for Top Class experience and quality for there wedding and want there wedding to stand out among others Well Michael and his team wont disappoint you we are still on a high from our day. .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
1.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
17.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oaks Hotel

Property: Seven Oaks Hotel
Address: Seven Oaks Hotel Athy Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Seven Oaks Hotel is one of the foremost hotels in Carlow and Leinster. From the moment you step into our magnificent reception area you will enjoy the warmest of Irish welcomes from our friendly staff, whose attention to your every need will ensure that you will want to return again and again. Carlow is now only 45 minutes from the M50 roundabout in Dublin. Conveniently located just 3 minutes walk from Carlow town centre, the Seven Oaks Hotel has long enjoyed an enviable reputation as one of the premier wedding and conferencing hotels in Carlow. A large private complimentary carpark, coupled with close proximity to the local bus/train station makes the the Seven Oaks Hotel an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Seven Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing