We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and food was wonderful”
Review of Seven Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seven Oaks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Navan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff and food was wonderful”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel, we spent 3 nights there with 4 children and we had a great time.Kids loved the pool and it was spotless. Food amazing everytime, up there with the best. Will be back sometime I hope.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darinasherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    150
    62
    24
    16
See reviews for
166
116
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
navan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Three night stay with family, staff excellent and friendly.
Food superb.
Rooms a bit dated with some of the furniture and doors a little worn.
Nice pool and gym.
Entertainment at night poor, especially on New Years Eve, no singer and lacking bit off a buzz.
Apart from that had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 293theramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had a " nite bite" in the bar on a very busy saturday night during the Christmas period. The bar and hotel was very busy but we were served with great food at good prices and friendly staff. It is great to see that even when busy staff can still served good food in a pleasant friendly manner. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bawnogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just back from a 2 nite wonderful memorable stay in the seven oaks hotel with my parents and our 4 little ones. We were absolutely blown away and overwhelmed by the friendliness of all of the staff who made us feel so welcome. The restaurant food and the bar food was fabulous so we ate in the hotel both nights. The foyer in the hotel was great for the little ones to run about and the reception staff never blinked an eye. The bedroom decor is old fashioned but clean. When we do stay again I will request a room on the inside not facing the road as it was a little noisy with the kids. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends and this is as a result of the fantastic staff and excellent food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDurkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently booked a Motorsport group to stay at this hotel. The staff especially Aisling was so helpful with every detail to make our stay as comfortable as possible arranging dinner together etc. The steak went down well and all the food was yummy. We will be back again next year to sat if not before Sheila

Room Tip: Ring in advance they will be very helpful with any special needs for a group booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Food served in Bar area is not good ,Dinning area very dark ,Ordered Chips and they must be the worst chips in Ireland looked as they had been re-heated several times. ,
The food area is old fashioned ,food a very poor Quality also Beef was cut thin and was of a very poor Quality.

Room Tip: Room on top floor so you will not hear car Park noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

me and my boyfriend stopped into the bar here one evening last week. i wouldn't usually write a review about a hotel based on this alone but the service and food deserves it. when we arrived we were told that they couldn't take our order for roughly ten minutes as the kitchen was busy with a tour. completely understand this. most places would just leave you waiting with no explanation. since we were starving we asked if we could get bowl of soup while we waited. no problem and no charge! must say it was most definitely the best soup I've ever had! the mains were delicious. well done to staff here who really understand and value customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.1 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
116 reviews
11.0 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
17.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oaks Hotel

Property: Seven Oaks Hotel
Address: Seven Oaks Hotel Athy Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Seven Oaks Hotel is one of the foremost hotels in Carlow and Leinster. From the moment you step into our magnificent reception area you will enjoy the warmest of Irish welcomes from our friendly staff, whose attention to your every need will ensure that you will want to return again and again. Carlow is now only 45 minutes from the M50 roundabout in Dublin. Conveniently located just 3 minutes walk from Carlow town centre, the Seven Oaks Hotel has long enjoyed an enviable reputation as one of the premier wedding and conferencing hotels in Carlow. A large private complimentary carpark, coupled with close proximity to the local bus/train station makes the the Seven Oaks Hotel an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seven Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing