We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food”

Clashganny House Restaurant Borris Co Carlow
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My Good Friend And My Wife Visited Clashganny Restaurant Recently 19/09/2013 And Had A Superb Meal.
Excellent Food And Great Service. Really Top Class.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pattheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    25
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top Class Food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I dined here on Saturday with family & friends and I have to say it was an amazing meal from start to finish. My starter was fab and presented so well, the steak was cooked to perfection and the desert was mouth watering. €30 for 3 courses is just fantastic and it's BYOB for the moment which really helps with the cost. I can't wait to go back here again and again. The owners are extremely polite and helpful while the waiting staff can't do enough for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bababet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant in the heart of Co Carlow”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Set in a beautiful part of Co Carlow, just minutes from both Borris and Graiguenamanagh,. The restaurant offers great value with a €30 3 course option. We had the spring roll and gravalax to start, both of us had rib eye for main. I had the eton mess which was nice (however I always feel that this is a rather lazy desert option. My friend had the cheesecake which we enjoyed.

Overall a very enjoyable meal and a welcome addition to the Borris area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borris, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent value, well-thought out menu, good service. We had gravad lax (delicious, although the overcooked won-ton should not have left the kitchen) and very good duck spring roll to start, and lamb and rib-eye steak to follow – also very good. Vegetables a little disappointing, but no more so than other restaurants without their own kitchen garden.
My friend's crumble got the thumbs up, and the coffee was excellent. The only let down was the Eton mess, which had chewy strawberries, over-whipped cream and soggy meringue, as if it had stood around too long.
As the wine licence has not yet been granted we were invited to bring our own wine and were not charged corkage, which was appreciated.
The restaurant is in a lovely area near the river; the garden is a bit bleak, but could be charming if sensitively planted – no doubt the owners have this in mind.
The proprietors have made exactly the right pitch for this area – good food and service at a very competitive prix fixe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LDB1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a fantastic meal in Clashganny House Restaurant recently. Have to say the food, staff, surroundings and elegance of this experience was second to none. Its set in a beautiful area of Co Carlow with the river nearby. Everything was just beautiful from start to finish and bringing your own drink really is a great idea. Well done Clashganny House!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clashganny House Restaurant Borris Co Carlow also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
 
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Clashganny House Restaurant Borris Co Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing