We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all the way through”
Review of O'Gradys Gastro Bar and Grill - CLOSED

O'Gradys Gastro Bar and Grill
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The concept for Gastro is an affordable and professional dining experience using fresh ingredients delivered daily on all our menus while creating a relaxed atmosphere in which our customers can enjoy their meal whatever the occasion may be.The menu whether it’s our lunch or dinner menu, our wine menu or cocktail menu or it’s that special menu that you have chosen for your party or event, they will always be treated by the team here with the highest standards to ensure that our aim of quality, consistency and affordability are met.Gastro serves food from Monday to Sunday from 12 – 9pm and up to 10pm on Friday and Saturday. With its open plan design and location the restaurant can cater for any party or occasion whether its 2 people or 200 guests Gastro is a great restaurant or venue whatever needs you might require. Our dining experience boasts maximum taste with minimum fuss. Gluten Free Dining Options available.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the food, ambiance, friendliness of staff everything was just fantastic. Food was gorgeous with great selection, produced and sourced locally. It was very reasonably priced too. Totally worth a visit, I've already been back twice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loissuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurant98, Owner at O'Gradys Gastro Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi Loissuper
Thank you for your review of Gastro , its great to receive such positive feedback.
I will pass on your comments to The Team @ Gasto
Sincerely
John O'Grady / Barry Howard
Gastro Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

A friend of ours had been to the Gastro bar a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed the food so we decided to go and see what all the fuss was about. On arrival we were met by very friendly staff and the restaurant had a very warm atmosphere. The menu had good variety and and was very reasonably priced. The food was superb. I would definitely come back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rommelnoack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurant98, Owner at O'Gradys Gastro Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Rommelnoack
Thank you for your review of your visit to Gastro , we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Gastro and we will be passing on your review to the team .
Many Thanks
John O'Grady / Barry Howard
Gasro Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantabulous Sat night out of the town with my girlfriend was spent at this very stylish Gastro Pub. Not being a native of Carlow, we arrived at The Gastro with no preconceptions but really looking forward to a night of good food and tasty vino... we were not disappointed. When we arrived we asked whether we could partake in some "bubbles" before we ordered. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and showed us to our table, soon after arriving with a lively bottle of Prosecco. I had fish cakes for starter which were perfectly cooked...crispy on the outside and moist on the inside accompanied by a delicious chutney. We were hungry and so both ordered steak which was perfectly cooked to our request...medium rare for me and medium for my friend. Both steaks were cooked as requested. We weren't familar with the wine list and relied on a recommenation from our waitress, which resulted in us polishing off a lovely bottle of italian red. The staff were really friendly and helpul... nothing was too much trouble. I hope I will be back in Gastro sooner rather than later.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurant98, Owner at O'Gradys Gastro Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Sue676
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to Gastro.
We are delighted we ticked all your boxes and look forward to seeing you at Gastro in the near future
John O'Grady / Barry Howard
Gastro Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

very happy with this place all round.
Lamb shank to die for!
Kids delighted and the great flavour kept them quiet.
Lovely pint and my wife drove.
Will defo be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank briano199125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurant98, Owner at O'Gradys Gastro Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear briano199925
Thank you for your review , I am delighted you enjoyed our food and we look forward to welcoming you back
Best Regards
John & The Gastro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we had excellent meal today,and found that new chef was from avoca resterants. it had a lovely warm atmosphere . it was value for money and the service was excellent, It is a place you can have a coffee in comfort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Gradys Gastro Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing