We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm welcome, beautiful house, good location.”

Barrowville Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrowville Town House
Ranked #4 of 13 Carlow B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“warm welcome, beautiful house, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Anne and Dermot made us very welcome in their beautiful period home. Rooms were spotless and spacious, and beakfast was excellent. Good location, near to town, easy to find with good parking. We will definately go there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
27
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

A first class and charming service befits this lovely 18th century building, offering bed and breakfast with privacy and convenience just outside the town centre. Easy private parking is a bonus. Generous bedrooms and en suite facilities are spotless, traditionally and tastefully furnished in keeping with the surroundings. Breakfast is in the conservatory with views out over the extensive garden and a full range of breakfast options is on offer. The visitor can relax in a comfortable lounge. Anna and Dermot Smyth create a homely ambience with their friendly and welcoming approach and go beyond duty in their care of guests.
( Anna kindly posted on a jacket I left behind, procured signed copies of a book in which we were interested and organised 4 days of sunshine. )
Carlow County is characterised by delightful small towns and villages peppered amid the lush fertile countryside. The roads are first class and the signage excellent. A real treat for green- fingered visitor, there are excellent gardens to visit and a trail to follow, all within comfortable driving distance. Nearby Kilkenny is a must.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Just want to tell everybody that i loved staying in barrowville. Anna and Dermot are very kind and always there if you need anything. The rooms are very pleasent and the breakfast is amazing. I recomend without any doubt.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Travelled to Barrowville House, Carlow, last weekend. Made extremely welcome by Anna who gave us all the local information, maps etc and also recommended restaurant/pub grub for both nights. Beautiful Georgian house and gardens, bedroom very comfortable with lots of extras - clock/radio, clothes brush, fresh water.Both Anna and Dermot were perfect hosts and I would definitely recommend Barrowville House as THE place to stay in Carlow.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

My partner and I enjoyed a lovely time at Barrowville House last weekend. The house is beautifully decorated, very easy to find and the hosts, Anna and Declan were so welcoming and courteous. Our room was large, clean and furnished with lovely antique furniture. On arrival we were greeted by Anna who showed us to the room and gave us a map of the town; so helpful! Breakfast, served in the conservatory, was scrumptious and really set us up for the day. Anna and Dermot were so friendly but also tactful in that they were never overbearing. I would definitely recommend Barrowville to anyone looking for superior good value accommodation in Carlow. This is so much more than your standard B&B. A visit to Altamont Gardens is a must and also a drive out to see Ducketts Grove(a beautiful ruin) is worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcorkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

We really enjoyed the antiques and the atmosphere. Bedrooms were very comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty. We would recommend this B& B to anyone

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaJuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed in the lovely Barrowville B&B recently and it ticked all our boxes. The hosts Dermot and Anna made it all the more welcomming. They were very friendly but also knew when to leave you be. The house is so relaxing, rooms spotless clean and the location is perfect, at a 3/5 min walk into the main street. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Will certainly return on my next trip to Carlow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlow hotels
1.5 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowville Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowville Town House

Property: Barrowville Town House
Address: Barrowville Town House | Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrowville Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes walk from the town centre, Barrowville Town House occupies a lovely location in its own ground on the south side of Carlow Town on Kilkenny Road (N9). This Regency house (which enjoys listed status) has lots of antiques and was comprehensively renovated in the late 1980s. The 7 guest bedrooms are all en suite, (5 with bath and shower and 2 with shower only), and equipped with colour television, radio, phone and hairdryer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing