We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To stay!”

Barrowville Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrowville Town House
Ranked #3 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2011

It is within walking distance of the town center but is a very quiet place to stay with a beautiful garden area. The owners are very helpful and pointed out places of interest. I really enjoyed the choice of pancakes for breakfast as I was a bit tired of the full Irish. Good parking place available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Barrowville Town House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

We arrived too early for check in but that made no differece to our host, we were invited in for tea and biscuits and as our room was not occupied we were given the keys early and told to make ourselves at home,and it realy did feel like home,the house itself is stunning with all the original windows doors coving ect;and lovely gardens and furnishings, when we went out we were given a list of recomended resturants that were all good. We were in Carlow for a wedding and on arriving back in the early hours found a note on the bed saying we hope you had a good time and breakfast will be available till 10.30 what a nice thought !! the breakfasts were all properly cooked and well presented with plenty of tea/coffee and toast to give us a good start to the day, so thank you very much Anna & Dermot for making our stay in Ireland so memerable nothing was a bother to them.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellLiverpool5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at Barrowville for two nights attending a wedding near by. Anna and Dermot were brilliant hosts. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and a lovely house to spend time in. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Lovely 1790s house at the edge of Carlow Town on the Kilkenny road. Free on site parking. Rooms quite luxurious and in keeping with the style of the house. Bathroom tiles need a little attention. Rooms vary in size but are quite generous. There is a guest lounge downstairs which is nice to sit in for a drink and chat. Anna the hostess is very knowledgeable about the local area and places to eat. Very good breakfast served in the conservatory. Good value at €80 per head for two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fudge59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed for three nights during our holiday trip in Ireland. The B&B is owned by a very charming couple (Anna and Dermot) which made our stay really confortable. Our room was big, clean and nice, having nice views to a gourgeous garden which can be enjoyed by every guest. The breakfast was spectacular since the dining room is great (nicely decored with great views to the garden) and the food is really good. It is located very close to the city centre and to the IT (which also has a bus stop where it is possible to arrive directly from the airport). Very recommendable place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josep_viatjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Anne and Dermot made us very welcome in their beautiful period home. Rooms were spotless and spacious, and beakfast was excellent. Good location, near to town, easy to find with good parking. We will definately go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

A first class and charming service befits this lovely 18th century building, offering bed and breakfast with privacy and convenience just outside the town centre. Easy private parking is a bonus. Generous bedrooms and en suite facilities are spotless, traditionally and tastefully furnished in keeping with the surroundings. Breakfast is in the conservatory with views out over the extensive garden and a full range of breakfast options is on offer. The visitor can relax in a comfortable lounge. Anna and Dermot Smyth create a homely ambience with their friendly and welcoming approach and go beyond duty in their care of guests.
( Anna kindly posted on a jacket I left behind, procured signed copies of a book in which we were interested and organised 4 days of sunshine. )
Carlow County is characterised by delightful small towns and villages peppered amid the lush fertile countryside. The roads are first class and the signage excellent. A real treat for green- fingered visitor, there are excellent gardens to visit and a trail to follow, all within comfortable driving distance. Nearby Kilkenny is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlow hotels
1.5 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
1.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowville Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowville Town House

Address: Barrowville Town House | Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrowville Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes walk from the town centre, Barrowville Town House occupies a lovely location in its own ground on the south side of Carlow Town on Kilkenny Road (N9). This Regency house (which enjoys listed status) has lots of antiques and was comprehensively renovated in the late 1980s. The 7 guest bedrooms are all en suite, (5 with bath and shower and 2 with shower only), and equipped with colour television, radio, phone and hairdryer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing