We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrow Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrow Lodge B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Carlow B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I wish I could rate the Barrow Lodge Excelent +++ We arrived before check-in time and were still greeted warmly. The owners are delightful, sharing local information and answering any questions we had. The B&B is immaculate, the rooms are a nice size with all necessary ammenities. Our room even had a lovely view of the River Barrow. A made to order breakfast is served each morning which is delicious, with a large variety of items to select from. Carlow is a fun town, full of history, walking trails, shops, pubs etc and the Barrow Lodge is perfectly located in a quiet spot for a walk into town or a stroll along the river. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tai-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed two nights in Barrow Lodge, Carlow in April 2012. Lovely B&B. Very clean and the twin size room was a great size, with a flat screen tv. Loved all the art work in the dining area. Full Irish breakfast both mornings but they also offered a vegetarian breakfast and green tea for my sister. Mary is very knowledgeable of the area and is happy to share her knowledge. I have family in Carlow and would definitely stay there again. Was completely impressed with everything and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

great place, owner very friendly, steered us to a wonderful "session" of Irish music upstairs from a local bar (that also had wonderful steak/mushroom pie). Nice morning very fun walk along river through town. B&B very clean, comfortable with interesting orginal art in breakfast room.

Room Tip: don't know if they have rooms on the river side, but if so, would ask for one of them.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank opal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Based on TA reviews picked this nice B&B whilst on a racing weekend in Ireland. Room was pleasant and very clean - not too cluttered and the double bed was really comfortable. Ensuite bathroom was clean and well appointed small and being a big lad it was a tight fit in the shower, but likely OK for normal sized people.

Breakfast was excellent and the welcome and interaction with the lovely owners was just at the right level. Very willing to give candid advice on the local area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

I definitely recommend the Barrow Lodge B&B if you stay in Carlow.
The B&B is very well positioned, close to the bridge of Carlow and offers a wonderful view of the river Barrow.
The Barrow Lodge is a lovely, beautifully maintained home with so much character and class. The rooms are spacious and clean with lots of closet and cabinet space. The bathrooms are again very clean and well stocked with plenty of fresh towels.
Mary and George offered us warmth and hospitality and made everything to make our stay comfortable.
We had a great full Irish breakfast with excellent homemade jams.
Altogether I believe it would be difficult to find a better place to stay in Carlow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarziaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

We were only in Ireland for 3 nights and only had the first nights accommodation booked (via email with no deposit required) at Barrow Lodge as we didn’t have a full idea of where our travels would lead us. When we got to Barrow Lodge we were pleasantly surprised with the laid back but really helpful, nothing is too much trouble attitude of Mary & George! We wished we had booked here for the full 3 nights but as it was they were full on Saturday (as are many places locally) but we reserved the Sunday night with no obligation just in case we came back to the area, which we gladly did. We stayed in the Wexford area on Saturday and that particular hotel won’t be getting our review, well not a positive one!

Mum’s room overlooked the river Barrow and she really enjoyed watching the swans swimming up and down. My wife and I plus two young children were in a room just across the landing and our room was lovely and clean and the Cartoon Network kept the kids entertained! Breakfast was a real treat with cereals, more toast than you can handle (with the best blackcurrant jam we have ever tasted) and a full Irish Breakfast to follow which really set you up for the day (we didn’t need lunch after all that!). When the kids had finished their breakfast they would pop through into the Lounge and George would put cartoons on for them!

We set off for a walk just up the street to Carlow Town Park and on the way out of the hotel Mary gave us nearly a full loaf of bread (which wasn’t even stale) for the kids to feed the swans with. This was an example of the “nothing is too much trouble” attitude of Mary and George. They even offered us a lift into town and baby sitting duties!

Overall the experience was a lovely stress free stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed in Barrow Lodge Bed andBreakfast, Carlow on the 21st and 22nd of July 2009, the last of our 14 day holiday in Ireland. It was the best B & B we stayed in EVER! Beautiful rooms overlooking the river Barrow (we arrived earlier so we were given a choice) Great breakfast with loads of choices. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants nearby, so very central, and the owner Mary couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. It was an easy drive to the airport for our flight back to Edinburgh. I would definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna_S18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlow hotels
1.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.4 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrow Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrow Lodge B&B

Property: Barrow Lodge B&B
Address: Barrow Lodge The Quay, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrow Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing