We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2010

the worst nights sleep ever had. The snoring from other guests could be heard in my room.The noise from other guest using emersion kept me awake. The bathroom wall had mould on it.The breakfast was over cooked.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 65 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in Carlow guesthouse for two nights. Couldn't fault it! Everything was lovely and clean. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. The room was bright and airy, lovely ensuite etc. Breakfast was lovely and the breakfast room is very pleasant, with patio doors leading to a little outside patio area with outdoor table!
Location also was great as they are just off the road that goes round the town but also close to the town centre. I walked back to the B&B from the shopping centre even!
Another great bonus is off street parking.
A great stay, would definately recommend it and we'll definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionadotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Very nice accomodations. Centrally located near downtown Carlow. Hosts Willy and Lisa are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Myself and 13 friends stayed for my 40th birthday last night. We had double and triple rooms. Spotless spaceous rooms and breakfast facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definately return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Recently stayed here for a wknd away with the girls, on arrival we were greeted by as quoted "the all singin all dancing" Martina. From the second we walked in we knew it was going to be a great wknd. Martina looked after evrythin for us, taxis, where to go, where to avoid, and even ordered us in a curry for the xfactor on the saturday night! haha Sure what more cud ya want! The rooms were perfect n had everything we needed in them and more. The breakfast was amazing both mornings n it really felt as if you were at home n your mam was runnin around makin sure ya have everythin ya needed! Really felt at home in this place and would definitely be recommneding it to friends n family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinRnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Having read the reviews here I was expecting so much more for 80 euro. It was close enough to town. But it is more like a hostel than a B&B. The room was very small and had a suffocating feel to it. There was no heat. The bedspread was stained on both sides. Me and my partner were hoping that the breakfast would make up for its shortcomings. As vegetarians we usually are offered an alternative to a full Irish. Be it scones, pancakes, hash browns, fried mushrooms, tomatoes etc.. But here we got some toast and a yogurt. Basically the price is too high for the service offered.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisecafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Carlow is not a usual stop for most in Ireland but we were attending an Altan concert in their wonderful cathedral. After driving down from the North we were exhausted and worried that we could not find the concert. A wonderful young lady named Martina checked us in. She took charge and took care of everything. We had a fantastic evening in Carlow even though the streets kind of creeped my wife out and we have been in some of the rougher neighborhoods of Chicago. The best part of the Carlow Guesthouse is Martina. If she is still there the owners need to give her a raise for fantastic service. The room was average and was comfortable enough and not much to look at but who cares you are there to sleep with your eyes closed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlow hotels
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
1.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
0.6 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast

Address: Green Lane and Dublin Road, Carlow R93 HE27, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: $81 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run, 13 Bedroom Bord Failte Approved Guesthouse. All Rooms En-Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing