We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brutal - waste of hard earned money”
Review of Dinn Ri Bar

Dinn Ri Bar
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 23, 2013

terrible service, filthy environment. Needs to be cleaned and with all the unemployment in Ireland could they not get some experienced bar staff and wait staff and a good cleaner also. Rude staff, over-served customers. Doormen. I'm in shock really. I've spent years at management level in the hospitality industry overseas and this was a disgrace to people visiting the area. Embarrassment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank sandraorourkeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 196 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My self and my son had lunch this Wednesday. Two tomato soup and two spicy beef with rice. The total was 28 euro. The price is not bad for lunch but the food quality was terrible and test less. Even the staff behind the counter showed to be sad . Never again and I will never recommend to anyone to waste there money in this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Petre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Dinn Ri Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi Petre,
We take the quality of our food and good customer service very seriously and have won coveted awards in recognition of this. As such we are taken aback by your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you. To this end, we have private emailed you seeking your contact details and we do hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you are passing through and looking for some no hassle pub grub then the Dinn Ri is a good option for you. It's a carvery with fairly decent food, if you are looking for top quality food look elsewhere.

Thank Enda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Dinn Ri Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hi Enda,
Thank you for giving us a 4 out of 5 rating! Yes, at Dinn Rí Bar we offer top quality casual dining with a daily carvery (and table service is also available). For those seeking a more refined dining experience you'll find Brooks Café Bar next door offering breakfast, brunch, lunch specials, an early bird and evening brasserie menu with a variety of seafood, steak and other signature dishes.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review and please do drop by again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went here with a group of friends on Saturday night as had been told this is the spot in Carlow for great bands .. they must have been talking about somewhere else as this Saturday they had Elvis, not Elvis singing Elvis, no Elvis singing Dickie Rock & Joe Dolan!! it was painful to listen to and then he began to open his shirt to show off his big round belly(((EWWW))) it was not at all what we were told to expect of the Dinn Ri Bar, we will NOT be back! Also you may want to look at the service here, loads of staff but they were soo slow to serve and even when you gave your order we were left standing at the bar another ten minutes and it was not because we had ordered something odd or that, it was a bottle of wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Dinn Ri Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Little Miss Happy,
Thank you for all your feedback. We have investigated the matter with staff and they do recall your group. It’s such a shame that you did not enjoy the entertainment that night. We do endeavour to offer entertainment options to suit the tastes of as many people as we can. The act you mention is usually very popular with our clientele; in fact the entertainer has won ‘The Irish Entertainment Awards’ on three occasions. There was also a live rock/pop band upstairs that night too - you and the girls might have preferred it.
Dinn Rí Bar has won the coveted ‘Black & White Pub of the Year’ award on 3 occasions so we really do pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service and if you experienced anything less than that we do sincerely apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

well have to say the dinn ri will look after all ur needs.... matches food racing even a quite coffee.... was down there last sunday had lovely dinner it was nice n quite a good crowd in.. then a united game was on n the atmosphire was electric espically from the bar.... staff very friendly ... id go easily back..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank littlebilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Dinn Ri Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thanks for the great review! People often comment about how Dinn Rí Bar caters for a broad range of needs, from coffees and food, to live entertainment. And yes, the large screens tend to attract many sports enthusiasts, creating a fantastic atmosphere for televised sporting events. Will pass on your positive comments to our staff and we will look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinn Ri Bar also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Dinn Ri Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing