We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of Brooks Carlow

Brooks Carlow
Ranked #19 of 74 Restaurants in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The newly renovated Brooks is a much loved haunt for coffee lovers by day and a great spot for relaxing and unwinding in a warm, friendly atmosphere over breakfast, brunch, a delicious signature sandwich or a popular lunch special – all made to order with fresh, local ingredients. As the evening sets in, Brooks transforms into a casual dining restaurant offering an evening menu with fresh seafood, steak, burgers, pizza’s and a range of classic dishes as well as a selection of sharing platters and light bites. TripAdvisor have awarded a 2016 Certificate of Excellence to Brooks.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We eat here regularly & find the food & the staff great. The menu has a good choice and is reasonably priced.

Thank loughy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hi there, your regular custom at Brooks Café Bar is very much appreciated, as is your 5 star review! We are delighted that you feel our menu has ‘good choice and is reasonably priced'. It is great to hear from satisfied customers and we thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post your valued feedback on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

If your looking for a nice meal in comfortable and relaxed surroundings, look no further. We had a lovely evening. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough. The wine list has a nice selection and not over priced. The food is very well prepared, served and is packed full of flavour. The portions are generous so make sure you are hungry! The staff make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in until you leave. Will be returning again for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hi there,
It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit to Brooks Café Bar and that you will be back. Our chef and staff will be thrilled and very encouraged to hear that you found the food was ‘well prepared, served and packed full of flavour’! Delighted also to read that you found our staff welcoming from the moment you walked in and that you felt ‘comfortable and relaxed’. Reviews like yours bring a smile to our face and we thank you most sincerely for sharing your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Go there regularly with the girls for lunch. Sea food chowder is amazing. Not crazy about the sambos but all the soups Ive tried there are gorgeous.

Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Hi Tricia,
Thank you very much for your regular custom and for describing our 'seafood chowder' as amazing and the soups you've tried as 'gorgeous' ! ...and we would really love to hear any of your suggestions regarding the 'sambos'. I will email you privately so that you can respond and let us know what you think. We really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I regularly go here for coffee and a scone. I can honestly say that I have never had nicer scones anywhere in my life! The staff are very very helpful and friendly. It is also nice for casual dining in the evenings. No windows make it feel timeless when you are relaxing inside!

Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Hi Danny,
Thank you VERY MUCH for your five star rating! Your very positive comments will be passed on to our chef and our staff who will be very happy to hear that you appreciate their helpfulness and friendliness and that you also enjoy the relaxing ambiance at Brooks Café Bar on your regular visits. We look forward to seeing you soon and thank you very much once again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Delighted you love our coffee and scones too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food in this wonderful bar was brilliant. Wouldnt eat anywhere else in Carlow. Busy day and night. Obviously a popular place to meet friends and for families to enjoy a meal out together. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Thank Barrach79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Wow....we are very flattered by your wonderful review - food brilliant, wonderful bar, staff friendly and efficient, wouldn't eat anywhere else - what can we say...other than to extend a very warm and sincere 'thank you' from all of us at Brooks Café Bar Carlow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooks Carlow also viewed

 

Been to Brooks Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing