We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality and Very poor Value”
Review of Brooks Carlow

Brooks Carlow
Ranked #18 of 74 Restaurants in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The newly renovated Brooks is a much loved haunt for coffee lovers by day and a great spot for relaxing and unwinding in a warm, friendly atmosphere over breakfast, brunch, a delicious signature sandwich or a popular lunch special – all made to order with fresh, local ingredients. As the evening sets in, Brooks transforms into a casual dining restaurant offering an evening menu with fresh seafood, steak, burgers, pizza’s and a range of classic dishes as well as a selection of sharing platters and light bites. TripAdvisor have awarded a 2016 Certificate of Excellence to Brooks.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very unhappy with the service, quality of food and cost here.
One of us ordered a main size warm chicken salad, this arrived and apart from a very small amount of chicken and a few lettus leaves (dressing on side) there was nothing else in this, no breads , no nuts, no other salad items and then the bill arrived for this salad E16.95!! How in the name of god they felt this was ok is beyond me, the days of ripping people off in this way are long gone, would never eat here again, would not recommend and in fact i would encourage people to avoid here at all costs, Far nicer, better value for money places to eat in carlow

Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi there, we were shocked to read your review. I have private emailed you for more details as it seems that a side order was included in your bill. Please contact me so that we can rectify any error on our part and investigate regarding the service, portion size and accompaniments. We sincerely regret that your visit was not reflective of the high standard we always aspire to and we do hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 147 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast recently in brooks cafe and I have to say it was of the five star hotel standard. Breakfast was cooked to order and the staff are very efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roryrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

What can we say! Thank you for your 5 star review - our chef and our staff will be thrilled. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The atmosphere of Brooks is what makes it such a nice place to visit. The staff are always friendly and chatty. Food is good but a little overpriced

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aoife H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hi Aoife,
Thank you for visiting and also for taking the time to write a review. It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoy the atmosphere at Brooks and that you find it 'such a nice place to visit'. I will also pass on your positive comments to our friendly staff ! We consider carefully all the feedback we receive, positive or otherwise, so thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have eaten here a few times and I have never had a problem at any stage.
The food is lovely and the pricing is reasonable. Have found at times that the staff can be hard to get when it can be busy but that is a good sign for a restaurant in these times.

Thank Val-BAYR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for the 4 out of 5 ranking and for mentioning that 'the food is lovely and the pricing is reasonable'. We will ask staff to keep a special look out for customers seeking their attention during busy times in the hope that it will be a straight 5 out of 5 experience for you next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

have been to Brooks a few times lately for breakfast, Best breakfast in Carlow. will go back again and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Helen,
It is a pleasure to receive your positive feedback and I will definitely share your comments with our chef who will be delighted to hear that you rate our breakfast as the 'best breakfast in Carlow'. We look forward to seeing you again in Brooks Café Bar for many more enjoyable breakfasts throughout 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooks Carlow also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Brooks Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing