We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem right in the heart of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the Red Setter at the start of a 2 week driving tour of Ireland. It was a real find and a great start to our trip. Gavin was extremely helpful with advice of where to go next and was a charming host. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and breakfast fantastic. Secure on site parking and good wifi were added bonuses. The location right in the Main Street made for easy access to whatever we wanted to do in the town. Many thanks Gavin for a lovely stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as our family were in Carlow for a reunion. My mum has stayed here several times, she is originally from Carlow, we had 4 rooms this time. All the rooms are very clean and comfortable, all have a kettle with tea & coffee & chocolate biscuits. There was soap & shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom. There is free wifi in the hotel.
Breakfast is delicious & plentiful, the hosts always asking if you would like any more.
There is a large car park at the guesthouse, which we didnt make use of as we had arrived into Carlow by train from Dublin.
The location is very good for the town, plenty of shops, bars & restaurants all within walking distance.
Thank you Gavin & Triona for a lovely stay at Red Setter
Val

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Red Setter Guest House for two nights and I was highly pleased with this place it's hard to find any faults. Room was immaculate spotlessly clean and the bathroom also. Toiletries provided. Tea and coffee making facilities and a chocolate bar - lovely gesture. Breakfast is too class, choice of cereals , fresh fruit juices ,yoghurt and fresh fruit lovely brown bread and then the full irish breakfast made to your liking friendly atmosphere great service lovely breakfast room plenty of everything. Secure parking at back of guest house up side street code on gates for entry. Gavin and triona make contact with you before hand about estimated time of arrival and provide you with gate code for access for parking. I will be sure to stay in this fantastic guest house if I am ever in Carlow again and I will also mention it to people looking for somewhere to stay. Gavin and Triona you both have a fantastic set up here I highly compliment ye on such a great place to stay when in Carlow. Thank you again for making my two nights at Red Setter Guest House such a pleasant and enjoyable stay. I hope to see ye again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costelr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to stay - room was comfortable, they offer free secure private parking right outside the back door with proper gates and all. Owner is a very friendly and extremely helpful lady - we were able to check in & leave our luggage at 9 in the morning and she sent one of her staff to get an extra key made for us so we could come in late at night. When we had a little trouble with our onward journey, she lent us her personal iPad so we could get information and make bookings. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Red Setter Guest House was very comfortable, clean and had a great location. I was really impressed with the more than ample parking available in the guest house's own private car park right outside the back door.
Right from our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly owner, who showed us to our extremely clean rooms. The rooms were well decorated and furnishings were very comfortable.
Breakfast was self service cereals, juices, yogurts, bread, fruit along with a very nice full-Irish breakfast.
Top marks to the owners of the Red Setter Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victorious_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Five us booked and stayed here last Saturday night, with the cost of hotels coming down in recent years it has been a while since we booked a guest house and to be honest when we booked we didn't expect much from here as it was very affordable, had plenty of secure parking and is in a fantastic location so we thought look its got all this going for it so the rooms, service or breakfast can't be great also but we were wrong, Service here is top notch, nothing is too much trouble, lots of help and advise about the town, where to eat, where to have a drink etc, bed's were cosy, room's very clean, breakfast was yum yum yummy, was offered more of everything , everyone left after a great sleep, a full belly and all saying any time we head to carlow again we will look for rooms here first. It is a real find this place and we will be back again .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are having a great time in Carlow, Ireland with the main reason being the Red Setter Guesthouse B&B. The location of the Red Setter can not be beat as it is literally 100 steps from bars, food and shopping. The owner, Gavin, is very welcoming and the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdwguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlow hotels
0.1 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
603 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
0.1 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Setter Townhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Setter Townhouse B&B

Address: Red Setter House 14 Dublin Street | Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: $80 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Setter Townhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Setter Town House B&B offers town centre affordable accommodation in Carlow. Based in an unrivalled central position we provide FREE lock-up car parking to all guests.We are next to a large selection of services: shops, restaurants, pubs, attractions. We cater for all types of guests: business, weddings, birthdays, families etc. A warm friendly welcome and a memorable stay await you. We invite guests to enjoy absolute comfort and privacy with immediate access to the heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Setter Townhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing