We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good B/B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We wanted to visit Carlow when the festival was on and feared that with the town being so busy that we would not have found a nice place to stay. We were agreeably surprised that this busy B/B in the middle of the town was of such a high standard. The rooms are lovely, ours was in the back so it was very quiet. Good bed, good sleep, good breakfast on both mornings.
The owner was very helpful and informative. There is a great carpark which is quite useful as Carlow is a small enough town and one can reach most places on foot. There are plenty of restaurants nearby so all in all, it is a place to recommend for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayfarer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Were over in Carlow from Western Australia to visit family on our trip all around Europe!
The Red Setter was the best accomodation we had on the whole trip, it was warm and cosy, the beds were comfy and the breakfast was amazing... the best breakfast i have ever had!
And don't even get me started on the service, Gavin was GREAT, he was very helpful with everything and even looked after one of my friends while she was sick and gave her his DVS's.
I would reccomend this Bed and Breakfast to everyone and will certainly be back when next in carlow, it was great value!
Thanks again from Australia Gavin! :D

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were greeted by a very pleasant gentleman who could not have been more helpful, nothing was any trouble.I'm originally from the town I had left in 1971 and was back for a family do.We have a fine breakfast in the morning the property has ample parking and is in the center of town

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16,207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for just one night and wish we coulda stayed longer.We arrived in the evening and met the owner he was extremely friendly,our room was lovely it had two beds,lovely tea/coffee/biscuits facilities providedI work in a 4 star hotel and the standard of the guesthouse was excellant,everything was spotless.My partner was heading of early and the owner lady prepared him with fruit for the mrnin till he got back for breakfast which was a lovely touch!Breakfast was lovely,loads of choice..will def pay a visit if in the area again and have already recommeneded to friends..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A00171892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

There is such a warmth at this guest house! The charm flows from the host and his wife, they are beyond helpful! I was visiting the area for a weekend break with a friend. We have high standards and I can reassure anyone that this b+b is top choice (over hotels) for staying in Carlow. The homely feeling comes from the variety of stunning and well selected pieces of antique furniture & artwork. The room (no.15) was top class, it was extremely quiet and comfortable with two double beds and ensuite. t+c facilities and items, towels & toiletries are provided. there is free wifi. The dining room is very pleasant with daily newspapers provided. We were feeling so relaxed and delighted with The Red Setter that we stayed a second night!!!! The sitting room is authentically irish/classic antique. The car park at the rear is ultra secure - two huge code activated gates. And the owners have even made every effort to make it asthetically welcoming. The owner helped us with route planning, local sites and areas of interest to visit. We just loved staying at The Red Setter and would gladly stay again!

Room Tip: at the back is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a great place to stay and great value. Owner is very friendly and helpful about local knowledge. Location is also great. Bed was terrific and I slept like a log. Tea and coffee and nice biscuits in the room. I definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Take what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Red Setter is located in the centre of town and was ideal for our two night stay. There is a large secure car park at the rear with access from a small side street alongside. The Red Setter advised the pin number before we arrived. If not, 'phone and ask.The bedroom was very warm and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent with freshly baked bread on both mornings. The proprietor and his family are welcoming, friendly and helpful. An ideal place to stay in Carlow and district.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlow hotels
0.7 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
1.8 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Racey Byrnes B&B
Racey Byrnes B&B
#1 of 4 in Carlow
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Setter Townhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Setter Townhouse B&B

Address: Red Setter House 14 Dublin Street | Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: $91 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Setter Townhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Setter Town House B&B offers town centre affordable accommodation in Carlow. Based in an unrivalled central position we provide FREE lock-up car parking to all guests.We are next to a large selection of services: shops, restaurants, pubs, attractions. We cater for all types of guests: business, weddings, birthdays, families etc. A warm friendly welcome and a memorable stay await you. We invite guests to enjoy absolute comfort and privacy with immediate access to the heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Setter Townhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing