We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Forge

The Forge
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant is a casual place in which to get honest food in a warm and welcoming setting. Lunch is served from 12:30 every day Tuesday - Sunday. From 10:30am onwards our traditional Irish scones are fresh out of the oven - along with our fresh tarts and other diet crushing desserts. We have a strong association with the local farming community and are committed to local suppliers for meat, dairy, fruit, vegetable and other produce. All are welcome & we are wheelchair accessible. Looking forward to welcoming you and yours to The Forge.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was fortunate to visit The Forge for a family gathering Oct. 12th and they did not disappoint. I was visiting family and am from the states and I had last visited in 2003 for the same type of function. I have to say that in the 10 years since my last visit Mary Jordan and her team have not lost a step. The building is a lovely stone structure that sits at the intersection of two roads and has a very inviting exterior. The area surrounding it is clean and tidy, encouraging you to enter and check it out. A lot of the food is locally sourced and all of it is fresh, including the homemade desserts. Lovely art adorns the walls and the staff is very attentive and courteous. I spoke with a few of the locals and was not surprised when they told me they stop there every day - I would as well if I lived in the area. If you find yourself anywhere near Ballon make it a point to visit The Forge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank culinary58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for the review its such an uplift to get genuine positive feedback. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“tasty,fresh&worth a visit”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

serving lovely tadty,fresh,homecooked food.i have been a few times and really enjoy it as thw foid is all fresh & everything is home baked.its also got lots of free parking.good stop if travelling from wexford to carlow or if you are visiting the nearby altamount gardens

Helpful?
Thank Curious Person
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for posting this nice review. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Forge is a small restaurant outside Ballon, Co. Carlow. There is ample parking and tables inside and out. The inside is nicely laid out with an exposed granite wall and lots of local art on the walls. It's a good place to stop in you come off the motorway and re heading towards Bunclody.

The food is fresh ,not fancy but good and lots of it. Their homemade brownbread and home cooked ham both deserve special mention. Staff are helpful and prompt but not intrusive.

Desserts are home made and like most of the menu the ingredients are sourced locally where possible. The strawberries come from a fruit farm about 2 miles up the road, for example.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for the review and apologies for my delayed reply! We are fortunate to be located in such a great producers region and as you well observed we are able to source fresh soft fruit from our neighbours at Malones Fruit Farm who incidently have just opened a great new farm shop. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A relaxed, informal and enjoyable lunch.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited the Forge for lunch recently and had a relaxed, informal and enjoyable experience. We arrived late but the staff were very friendly and accommodating and looked after us immediately. It was a very hot day and we had a selection of salads which were freshly prepared and very appetising. Freshly baked brown bread and jugs of cool water were the perfect accompaniment to our salads. The staff recommended a Sauvignon Blanc wine with our salads which was lovely. I had a cafe latte which was very enjoyable, as milky and creamy as they come.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3838329Leachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello and thank you for your thoughful review. Those super hot days of summer 2013 seem like such a long time ago but your comments on fresh salads and cool wine bring it all back clearly:-) lets hope there is more sunshine sometime this year! Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food with friendly service”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Dined in this very dainty establishment with large group including 2 kids. Have to say food was really honest hearty cooking and if you are hungry you won't leave here hungry . The service was top notch and very friendly staff . Ps the deserts are to die for

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakerbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Bakerbyrne,

Thank you for calling in to us with the kids and for the nice review -

All the best,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forge also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing