We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so special !”
Review of The Forge

The Forge
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is a casual place in which to get honest food in a warm and welcoming setting. Lunch is served from 12:30 every day Tuesday - Sunday. From 10:30am onwards our traditional Irish scones are fresh out of the oven - along with our fresh tarts and other diet crushing desserts. We have a strong association with the local farming community and are committed to local suppliers for meat, dairy, fruit, vegetable and other produce. All are welcome & we are wheelchair accessible. Looking forward to welcoming you and yours to The Forge.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were a group of 3 on our way to Altamont Gardens. We decided to have lunch in The Forge which is quite near the gardens. The place was fairly busy. As we all had eaten here before ,we expected decent fare. It was after 2pm and perhaps that was the problem. Lunch was still being served so 2 of us ordered the special of the day which was hake , while the other member of the group opted for ham. None of us was pleased with our food which had obviously been cooked long before we arrived. Totally dried -up fish or ham don't make for tasty food. Desserts of ice-cream & berry crumble did give us something to praise though. My advice is have the soup & dessert!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JKGawbata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear JKGawbata,

Thank you for visiting us with your friends. Obviously we were disappointed to learn that you were not fully happy with your meal, our food is prepared fresh and certainly there is no obvious excuse for dry portions being served. Perhaps if you had raised your concerns with a member of staff at the time of service we could have corrected the problem and you might have been able to leave with a better impression.

All the best,

The Forge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Forge actually was originally a forge and it has been converted in to a quaint little restaurant. We had an afternoon snack after visiting the nearby superb Altamont Gardens.
I had the soup and brown bread and herself had a sandwich and tea and scone. Everything was home made and gorgeous. The place itself is spotlessly clean and the staff efficient and friendly. You couldn't ask for better. If you are in the area you should call in for a snack or a meal. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Great - Thank you for visiting us and delighted to see your review. Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely cafe and restaurant not far from the Altamont Gardens, just off one of the main roads, so hard to miss. Charming traditional decor both inside and out (situated in a cottage), there’s patio outside as well for warmer days. We only had desserts and coffee which were all really nice and tasty, good value too. The menu looked interesting with lunch and dinner options available. Good choice when in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theforgekilbride, Owner at The Forge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hi Justine, apologies for the delayed response to your review but thank you for calling in to have tea with us. The review is much appreciated, Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The atmosphere is very cosy and relaxed. It is rather like visiting a friend's home. The food is good and homely also.

Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A great place for a huge breakfast. Sit amongst the flowers outside but watch the crows don't pinch bits of your meal, it's too good to give away.
Good service from friendly staff. Reasonably priced with plenty of room.

Thank GillyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forge also viewed

 
County Carlow, Province of Leinster
 

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing