We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t be fooled by the decor!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carpenter's Bar and Lounge
Ranked #28 of 79 Restaurants in Carlow
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

The food in this place is AMAZING! If you want to get a beautiful home-cooked roast dinner, this is the place to go. No designer interior but who cares?! The food is gorgeous and the staff make you feel so welcome. I visited with my friend and her daughter who are Carlow locals. Unless you haven’t eaten for a week go for the “half dinner”. That was huge so goodness knows what you would get with a full portion. The gravy.... oh the gravy is so good you want to get a straw and drink it. It’s so tasty. Can’t recommend it more highly!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank XSJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

After returning to Ireland in we decided to take the time to visit Carpenter bar/lounge for family lunch. We were 2 adults with 2 children and we had a very happy visit. Plenty of food at a very reasonable price. Well worth a visit if your hungry and enjoy good food. Family run establishment with great natural Irish service.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a proper feed, head to Carpenters, huge portions and very cheap to boot. Staff are always helpful and plenty of them. It is my number 1 choice for Sunday lunch, they even do takeaway.
Oh and pints are pretty good too
SUPERB!!!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank Iain E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Great wholesome food and big portions too! A fantastic place for Lunch in Carlow. People come in their droves to Carpenters and no wonder why, a tasty wholesome meal with really generous portions. Great, friendly staff and great service.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank joanneo1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

Lovely staff, went there Easter Sunday 2017, open late til 6 PM which was brill as we had travelled up from Claremorris on the day and were wolfing.

We go here every time we are in Carlow. Never got round to doing a review until now. BIG PORTIONS which we love, please do not change this. Really lovely food and one of us is a veggie and had lovely soup, then mash, cabbage and carrot's, a lovely full plate with soup on top. FAB the meat eater's loved their bacon and beef. Well done keep up the good work. The blonde lady was really nice behind the serving counter. LOVE IT.

Dalton Inn in Claremorris has brill food too, but their portions are not big. Same with Ellie Mcguires Ballindine, her portions are tiny!!

Review by the Comerford's

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpenter's Bar and Lounge also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Carpenter's Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing