We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Winscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

we had originally booked a table for 10 but amended it to 5 at the last minute. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Two of our party had the carvery which was plentiful with a good selection of veg. Two had the childrens meals which were more than enough and very well presented and I had the rump steak which was possibly the best steak I have ever tasted.
Overall excellent food, friendly staff and a good price. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Thanks for taking the time to share your visit with Trip Advisor readers, I hope you'll come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    51
    13
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Another Groupon offer! I didn't expect much with a cheap Groupon offer but four of us booked a table and all were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and we were served immediately. There was a choice of fairly rare beef, which suits me, Turkey and gammon. I had the beef and was surprised when three thick slices were carved and put on my plate along with Yorkshire pud. There was a good selection of veg, plus sauces and gravy.

The meat was very tender, cooked to perfection and fell apart. Lovely fresh veg and. Crispy roast potatoes. Our plates were cleared although one of our party took a little too much veg and had to leave some. Unfortunately no room for puds.

Overall a very pleasant experience for a help yourself carvery and better than our local Toby carvery. Will definitely go back. Another offer please Groupon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tembofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope now that you've tried us once you'll come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice carvery we'll worth a visit , really surprised how big this pub actually is.
Choice of three meats turkey beef and gammon, only criticism was there could of been more of a choice of veg,,,

Deb eat to many roasters ..lol

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Q4054FArichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I bought a Groupon voucher as we live nearby and I hadn't been here for years. At £11 for 4 carvery meals I thought it worth a try.

I booked a table for last Saturday night at 730. When we arrived we were slightly surprised to find that it was rather quiet with just a few people finishing their meals. The carvery looked rather tired but when the lady appeared at the bar she said that they were about to refresh it.

There is now a large newish dining area which I have to say I found rather soulless. The lighting is too bright, the furniture reminiscent of a 3* hotel and nothing of interest on the walls.

We opted to sit in the older bar area as it felt a little more atmospheric as there were two other occupied tables in there. Unfortunately there were some oddly placed sofas, one blocking a lovely old inglenook fireplace and one in front of the bar (why??) and again, nothing attractive or interesting to look at.

The lady from behind the bar came and told us that they were ready for us to go and collect our food. There was a very pleasant lady serving it who gave us information about the meat. There was a choice of beef, gammon or turkey (or all three) and they were FANTASTIC. Beautifully cooked, tender and tasty. Also the Yorkshire puds and stuffing balls were excellent. But what let the side down badly was the vegetables. Horribly overlooked peas (some were yellow) carrots and diced swede. If you're going to offer swede you need to be a bit more imaginative (add cream/butter/pepper and mash it for example) Absolutely nothing green on offer and the mashed potato was lumpy and tasteless. Roasties were edible but had been hanging around a while. The gravy was excellent which was just as well as this masked the tastelessness of the veggies. Such a shame as the meat really was great.

Presumably the management have gone to the trouble of setting up the Groupon offer to try and pull in a few more customers. Unfortunately this I believe will backfire as folk such as us will come, try, not complain as only paying £2.75 per head but not bother to return.

In fairness, I discovered that they offer the carvery every day from midday til 8pm so obviously we came in at the very end of service and therefore got the worst of it and I expect if you go there for early lunch it's probably great.

Please please stand back and take an objective view of the decor. With just a few tweaks here and there this could be a very pleasant pub.

Helpful?
Thank Trottytotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm very disappointed to see your review, after your visit to my pub. I do wish you had asked to speak a member of management at the time, as I'm sure I would have been able to rectify any of your issues.
I know the decor isn't to everyone's taste, but only 18 months ago there was a £150,000 refurbishment made to the exterior as well as interior of the building.
Please feel free to give me a call to discuss this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a great carvery this evening ( 4 adults and 1 child) The meat was excellent ( ESP the very tender and perfectly cooked beef) a lovely range of perfectly cooked vegetables including cauliflower and broccoli cheese bake, carrots, swede, peas, cabbage and mashed potatoes and lovely tasty gravy !!! The service was excellent and the pub was well decorated and clean. I know that other reviews have compared this place detrimentally to a local 7 day carvery, but having visited the latter on numerous occasions there is little difference except the star is cheaper and the service far superior. Highly recommended !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks very much for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

 
Churchill, Somerset
 
Churchill, Somerset
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing