We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveler rating
864
210
24
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
210
24
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong flightone nightlast nightsri lankaclose to the airportboutique hotelon arrivalcolombo airportgarden suiteafternoon teatwo nightshuge bathroomminutes from the airportstayed longermountbatten suitebeautiful hotelswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2010

It was a wonderful experience to be able to rest in a natural and rich surroundings before my long flight to Toronto. The Garden suite and the bathrooms were huge and I couldn’t have asked for more. I enjoyed the gentle winds and the breathtaking spectacular view of the natural beauty of the place along with the mature trees and birds. Amenities, cleanliness and impeccable service of the helpful and friendly staff made my stay pleasurable. Close to the Katunayake International airport, they have made sure that this place is always immaculate and pure for a comfortable sleep. Soft beddings with high quality linen were extras added to this relaxed atmosphere. An Escape from the ordinary, there was breathtaking landscapes and the delightful cuisine was lovely. The spa was another extra facility for tranquility. You will truly enjoy yourself if you want to get away from all the hassle before your Journey. “Sanctuary in the middle of nature”

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfodesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

arrived after mid night so the short drive to the hotel was fantastic (vs. the much longer drive into Colombo) check in was super painless, ie we were just led straight to our rooms and crashed right away. we woke up in the morning to a symphony of birds and enjoyed strolling around the gardens and napping around the various rest spots before another driver picked us up for our long drive to Sigiriya where we stayed at Vil Uyana for the next 3 nights. Our room had a huge bathroom with a skylight and also a nook area to kick back and read with some cushions. The outdoor garden area had these beautiful majestic trees/ plants, we had both our breakfast and lunch in the garden area and really enjoyed the peace and quiet at this place. Food was also of a high quality. Internet access was available either through paid wifi or one computer near the dining area. While I stayed at Tintagel our last night in Colombo, Wallawwa was the perfect beginning, esp given its proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This is a boutique hotel with 14 rooms about 20 mins from the airport. A little dirt track brings you to the main building - the old wallawa, beautifully renovated to contain a library, internet room, and dining area, surrounded by a lush garden. The rooms are built around a courtyard behind the old building. We stayed in a garden suite using their 3 nights for the price of two package. The room itself was rather small for a ‘suite’ but was beautifully decorated, with an LCD TV, a window seat, and a courtyard. The bathroom was big and stunning. The room had tea and coffee making facilities (rather important when you wake jet-lagged and ready to start the day at 5am!), but no fridge/mini bar.

There is a lovely pool shaded by big trees, providing a glimpse of some of the bird life for which Sri Lanka is famous. Plently of sun lounges are available.

There is nothing of note to see in the surrounding area - the hotel can arrange transport to see nearby areas like Negombo, but most guests use it, as we did as a first stop to recover from our flight and a last night before leaving.

The restaurant has a range of wines at reasonable prices (starting at around 3000 RP a bottle, around 900 per glass) as well as beer and cocktails. The food is good and main meals are reasonably priced.

Helpful and attentive staff topped of a great experience - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloudycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We recently stayed at the Wallawwa. It's a smart and peaceful hideaway from the noisy chaos of Colombo. It's a top drawer, relaxed boutique hotel that oozes style and comfort in an understated European way.

The Wallawwa is perfect if you’ve just arrived on (or are leaving on) a long haul flight and need to recover. It’s only 20 minutes from the airport, but its quiet oasis-like grounds make it a world away from its surroundings. The chic rooms are comfortable and contemporary. The large bathrooms tempt you to shower for hours. Food is served on the veranda, and is an excellent intro to Sri Lankan cuisine.

The management were very helpful in booking our airport transfers both ways and in finding us our driver for our tour around Sri Lanka (via Reddot). But they went way beyond the call of duty after we left some precious possessions in our room: the manager moved heaven and earth to ship them back to us in the UK.

An all round thumbs up and big thank you to everyone at the Wallawwa - stay there, you'll love it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacktheMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We wanted a hotel that was close to the airport since we had an early morning flight to catch. We opted for the Wallawwa based on the reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. It's a gem of a hotel surrounded by lots and lots of greenery. The design of the hotel is simplistic yet smart and chic. The food was good (mahi mahi fish is a must!) and the staff very welcoming and helpful. They also had a cute little boutique we bought souvenirs from.

Only awkward thing is the open bathroom...no privacy when on a romantic break :)

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joellehaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews